Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Ship Two Ship Redshift Blueshift

by 01010111 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

TWO SHIPS BATTLE AN ENDLESS WAR IN SPACE AND TIME

OSTSRB is a vicious hyper-violent tournament-style pong-like

Play with two players, single players, keyboard, or 360 Controllers!

RECOMMENDED - TWO PLAYER VS MODE WITH TWO 360 CONTROLLERS

Tools used - HaxeFlixel, FlashDevelop, Photoshop, FL Studio, Chipsounds, Genny by superjoebob

Thx to David, Andrew, Momin and others who helped me tune this up, LaughingLeader and the HaxeFlixel community who pulled through at the last minute for some troubleshooting help :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Audio4.30
#6Overall4.26
#7Fun4.16
#16Graphics4.43
#29Innovation4.18
#42Mood3.93
#300Humor2.79
#681Theme3.08

Comments

7Soul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:51am

Wow, very interesting concept. Kinda confusing, but cool
(is it just me or does the computer cheat?)

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

Absurdly good game for 48 hours. Visuals are super juicy and clean, gameplay is unique and addictive. Even the audio and music is awesome. Surprisingly intelligent AI as well.

Fletcher says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08am

This is really good

ruthiepee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25am

SO CRAZY GOOD. I love the trails on the space ships and all of the particles So much detail. It's a well-rounded game from start to finish. The music is so catchy and the sound effects are just perfect! Love love love the start screen. It's beautiful and modern.

uvwar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52am

Needs more dramatic-pause/squishball, Will.

Otherwise good!

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:54am

VERRY well done! I love the take on pong, far more interesting. Very polished, juiced, and well executed! well done.

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:39am

Oh the quality of this game, it oozes from every pore. Bravo!

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:49am

Such an awesome concept! And aesthetics gave me strong Luftrausers vibe! Great job!

bladderbloat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48am

Very well made and polished and has a true retro feeling! AND I SAW A CAT!

EMAK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24pm

wooooow Damn, I like the design of the ship...pleeease make a console version!! 5 stars game!

tchem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Awesome aesthetic and immersion possibility. Very fun,, excellent work

renatopp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Ultra confusing at first, but super fun when you realize what is happening. Great great game. Good job!

It seem to have a little problem with the movements, sometimes it just don't move or move to a corner by itself.

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Hey, this is really good. The movement, the music, the mechanics, the artwork, the bounce of the animation, all fantastic. Nice aesthetic with the colour palette too.

As others have said, very impressive for the 48 hours and great work altogether!

nicso says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:12pm

really nice game, and a really good palette sir ;)
I'll definitly try it with friends

Decept404 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Super cool game, and gorgeous. A little too easy to lose track of who's turn it is though ;(

grillaface says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Will someone please port this to arcade? So rad I could play this all night.

GFM says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Woooow! This game is too awesome!
I really need to get together with some friends to play this in multiplayer.
It's great that you did an AI! It's probably way funnier with friends... but it was nice being able to play right alway. Also, the AI is challenging and fun!

Congrats! =D

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:07am

Very nice! Love the art style, and the animations are great. Actually, pretty much everything about is game is awesome. Nice work.

Once I figured out I was competing AGAINST the AI, then everything made a lot more sense.

Canyon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:37am

It's great, one request. Auto fire.

iSamurai says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:23am

Classic art style! Creative gameplay! Love it!

concalf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:40am

Took me some time to understand what is going on but it is really really good!

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:23am

Well done! It's a simple and fun pong-like shooter. The pixel arts are really nice, esp. the special effects. I also like the title design.

The game mechanics works good and fits to the theme. At first I suppose those "missile spwaner" are power-ups and I try to eat them but failed. Maybe you could add more kinds of power-up items that make this game more intense. Overall I really enjoyed this. Thank you for making a good game!

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:40am

The gameplay was a bit confusing at first, but turned quite fun when I got it! Awesome graphics too, the game felt really dyncamic! :D

suppi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50pm

superb game! really fun :)

lekochen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Brilliant idea! Simply awesome!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Awesome!! When I first looked at the pics I wasnt expecting it at all. Very innovative

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Excellent game for 48 hours! Is "redshift" and "blueshift" an oblique reference to the doppler effect on light? 'Cause I love me some oblique references.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Now this is my kind of Pong! Superb graphics, gameplay and great audio. Very nice work!

NicePenguins says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Awesome idea ! Very well made for 48h, good job :)

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:28am

Thank you for that great game. It is really fun to play, fun to look and fun to hear. Great job. Thank you.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:06am

Took a little while to figure out what was going on but once it clicked I had a lot of fun. The colors and graphics are just plain cool and the music is good too.

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:17am

Very polished! Took a while to get but was pretty fun once I got going. Effects and the pixel art are very nice.

mklee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:20am

It takes a second to get the idea of multiplayer shmup Breakout, but this game really sells it. Super-crunchy feel, good graphics and audio, and overall a high high level of polish.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:21am

A very very solid entry. I like what you did here and enjoyed playing it.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:31am

Holy jeez was that good. Really polished and pretty and even had awesome music. Really good work! Just needs to convey what the objective is upfront and it is good to go.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Really nice game, a mix of breakout, pong and spaceship games, very nice.

stvr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Lots of fun! Love the art and the palette.

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:12pm

bookmarked so I can pull that one when I have a friend at home.

It could use a tuto or instruction screen though

Rocketship says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Very very nice retro shooter. The visuals are unbelievable and the gameplay is super slick and polished.

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Overall Excellent entry! Really enjoyed this! I have bookmarked the page for inspiration :D

jimmypaulin says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Excellent work I really enjoyed this! Love the music and sfx, really juicy gameplay and I can imagine how playing against another person would be hilarious with the rocket spam haha :D Wasn't completely clear how far ahead the goal was or who was winning, but I really enjoyed the way the gameplay switched between the two hitherto unrelated styles

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Really great acrady game! Great visuals and audio. Pretty difficult gameplay, especially with the rockets, but still fun!

juakob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Wow, grate effects, super professional!. This could be an excellent Ouya game. Congratulations!

Zabuza says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:29am

Amazing, love the graphics, 2 player is awesome, great job altogeth, this is my favorite entry so far.

Lokiman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:32am

Great graphics, great music and great game overall! :D

To bad that controls seem a little bit tricky (key input is somehow lagging ) :(

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:17am

Nice blend of two different genres. It can be a bit difficult to catch up to the ball sometimes.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:43am

Really beautiful game. Loved all the graphics. So clean and nice design. Love the name too

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:43am

Other than a kind of weak use of the theme, this is quite literally the best thing ever. One of the most innovative ideas I've seen in a LD in a while.

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:50am

Crazy. Loved it!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:14am

Holy flying f@ck, this was awesome. Graphics are brilliant, sound is crisp and nice, it's super fun once you get some friends to play, then it get crazy and competitive, Awesome Job! :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:30am

Amazing original concept and brilliant execution.

leafo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

awesome game, great graphics and I love the music. Great job all around!

guimonpa says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:38am

Love the graphics, animations and music! Feels really good to play, can't wait to try this with a friend!

ATTA Games says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:52am

Amazing stuff! Great music and addictive gameplay!

dylanigan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:03pm

A little confusing at some points but once you get the hang of it it's a great game!

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Awesome aesthetics and highly innovative gameplay. I liked it a lot! Theme could have featured more prominently I think, but great great great :)

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:23am

Totally amazing. Love the intro credit screens, love the game machanic, love the graphics. Seriously, keep polishing this and SELL IT.

pansapiens says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:31am

I found this pretty tough in one player mode, but it feels like it would be a blast with two players. Great clean pixel art, good visual feedback and awesome chiptunage. Great job !

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Very fun. Nice combo on pong/shmup games.

varun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Really polished, with awesome controls! One of the funnest I've played so far!

local minimum says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Great idea for cross-over between to classic games. I had very little chance against the computer AI but that's really more cred to you for programming a good one. It feels like a great foundation to build a full game on.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:51am

Great idea To connect 2 types of games! Please evolve it to something big.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:54am

Btw. Make it also coop :-)

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:41am

Suuper styley :D Will have to recruit one of my work buddies to try out 2-player mode!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Wow - there's still room for new ideas in Pong, apparently ;) Amazing entry - super juicy, polish is crazy. Nice job!

Retl says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I've never really seen a variation on the breakout/pong style game like this before. Pretty cool stuff. Played to Red Victory on single player on a Windows 7 Machine in Google Chrome. Worked great. Loved the soundtrack, too. Catchy tune!

damrem says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Simple, therefore excellent multiplayer concept! A lot of potential, keep on the good work!

_Rilem says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Cool art style and lovely idea for this theme :D
I'm impressed that you managed to deliver on all aspects of the game in just 48 hours. Great music, art and gameplay!

runvs says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:40am

Wow, Awesome graphics! This really rocks! The combination of Pong and an arcade shooter works very well.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:13am

Hi there. Love the graphics and sound, explosions particularly. Found it a bit confusing in single-player. Good job!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:10am

Amazing, I love this game, wish I could download a Windows executable to play offline with my friends ^^

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:10pm

I was confused at first, but I finally got the game mechanics. Interesting concept, really smooth and well executed. Thanks!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Awesome execution, cool fx and animation.

Artamus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Nice game, congrats!

alpha_rat says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Grat idea! The graphics and audio are awesome

Dohan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Great mix of shmup and pong! Also, I realy like how fast-paced it is, but the AI is merciless!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Very solid entry, and somewhat entertaining once I got the hang of it. Bonus points for audio - if I say it reminds me of (early) Touhou, you're doing that right. ;)

Didn't have an opportunity to play it with two players... although I'm not quite feeling like doing that, anyway. ^^"

Pierrec says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:18pm

This is really impressive. I'm really frustrated though because I only have ONE Xbox controller, and didn't manage to play 2 players with keyboard+controller...and the one player mode is really hard. Congrats!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:34am

Very polished game, stunning work for 48 hours! A nice revisit to the pong type of games. Well done!

radmars says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:49am

Holy crap this is absolutely amazing. It took me a bit to get the hang of the gameplay but once I was into it it was so much fun. I kinda wish there was some way to steal powerups from the other player but I have no idea if that could possibly be balanced, haha :P Amazing job on the graphics & music too, I love the 16-bit style & FM sound. One of the best LD entries I've ever seen - excellent work.

BeardaNeerz says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:51am

One the best game of this LD

dickpoelen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:40pm

That was awesome!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I felt this is one of the best games. It has everything. Well done.

RevoluGame says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I love the gameplay !! great job !

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Really great breakout/shmup combination, had a good "gamefeel" with all the screenshake/freeze frame etc.
Could have used more mechanics that directly impacted the enemy player.

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Wow this is quite impressive. Single player option is awesome to have. Everything looks and functions properly. I think there was a little bit of lag on my browser though.

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:38am

Really good game design. Great music and visuals. Love it :)

Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:05pm

You are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RhipFfkMzPI

malf says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:04am

Very good game , I got a bit confussed and dizzy , but it was fun nonetheless

Patacorow says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:35am

Very confusing to grasp, and the blue AI is a bit too difficult - but overall a very enjoyable entry once you get the idea.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Really nice version of pong! I included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/bMx3RCVCht0

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Even though I had no one to play with, the AI proved to be quite capable. Really nice game, it pushes all the right buttons. That juicyness makes the gameplay feel sooooo good.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

martim00 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Great game! I really liked the retro art and music. Also used haxe flixel!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Very cool game. I'll have to play this with a friend

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]