Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Feedular

by rebecca - Jam Entry

A gamified social experiment where users are organized into worlds based on other users voting for or against them.


How to play:
----------

- You advance by getting the inhabitants of each world to vote for you to ascend to the next world

- You can vote to move another player on to the next world or send them back where they came from

- The inhabitant who has spent the longest time on a world is crowned the world's Ruler, has 3 votes, and can rename the world

Technologies used:
----------------

HTML5 canvas
node.js
socket.io
Photoshop
Illustrator

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Innovation(Jam)4.20
#56Graphics(Jam)4.33
#487Overall(Jam)3.06
#1948Coolness22%

Comments

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:46am

Very cool game. I like the idea a lot.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08am

Cool concept!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49am

cool concept, but people didn't really play with me :/

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:00pm

I liked the caracthers, but for me the game has a little lag, don't know if it's only for me.

gnerkus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:45am

I don't understand the game. =(

Could it be because of the lag?

snooze82 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:28pm

now: forever alone on my planet :D liked it

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:09am

Hi there. Interesting idea. One (bot?) playing but nothing happened after they left... multiplayer probably needs a lot more NPCs playing to give solo player an interesting experience. Good comment on the vapidness of Big Brother and the like - the way there's nothing to do except "exhibit your personality"... sad ;( Good job - would like to see a more NPCs tho'!

swich says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Interesting concept, but it definitely needs more players.

DrCicero says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:07pm

graphics are cool, but nobody is there and the twitter bots are annoying.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]