Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WHAT'S NEXT?

by jsspiegel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*DISCLAIMER: This game is inherently political. It takes sides. This game is representative of my opinions, but everyone is entitled to their own opinion. I am not a member of any of the races, religions, or nationalities depicted, and cannot claim to fully understand what they're going through. I respect all races, religions, nationalities, and cultures. This game is not intended to offend anyone.*

WHAT'S NEXT? is a short non-game about current worldwide political oppression and suffering.

Controls: Left and Right Arrow Keys/A and D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#105Theme3.88
#170Mood3.49
#289Graphics3.53
#575Innovation3.13
#647Audio2.55
#781Overall2.98
#884Humor1.77
#1194Fun1.76

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57am

Really great! Very innovative.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35am

Really meaningful. Well done. I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/aac43JwG3FQ

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36am

I found it very affecting. Great work!

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:40am

it's not a game. just movie

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:54am

@Samuel Arminana, Jupiter_Hadley, OnlySlightly: Thanks so much!

@BloodJohn: I feared someone would say that. I definitely see where you're coming from, and it's definitely not a traditional "game"

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17am

Cool message, hope everyone take it so seriously as you do.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:22am

Even if I don't agree with the sides chosen 100% I really like your application of the theme.
The world is more connected now than ever, and I think you represent this political fact very powerfully.
Great art, tense music, very meaningful, well done! =)

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:19pm

@Juptiron Thanks! Glad to see the message is coming through :)

@McFood Thanks a ton! Great to know that people are really understanding the deeper meaning. Also one of my first games where I'm really happy with the art, and the music too! The music was actually super simple (you didn't ask the process but I wanted to share it :P ), I just generated a three second audio clip here (http://www.earslap.com/page/otomata.html), cleaned it up in Audactiy so it looped properly, set it to loop, and added a slight random pitch shift every six seconds!

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Hey... I belong to one of the ethnic groups/peoples depicted, so I naturally liked this.

It is of course not much of a game, but I loved the graphics. And obviously, the message :)

Appocket says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Great work! I wonder what the symbolic meaning of the ghost like figure is :)

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57pm

@Appocket Thanks! I chose to not make the main character white, as that would be a statement in and of itself, so my first thought was an alien ("The Abyss" Special Edition, anyone?). However, I settled on the ghost because it fulfilled the non-human requirement and was easy to animate. Symbolically, however, the meaning is up to the player to decide :)

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Good message. Nice pixel art as well.

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:28am

True that!

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:05pm

@TrickFishPie @alvivar Thanks guys!

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:40pm

That was an affective experience. Obviously not a real game (nor meant to be one), but unique and interesting. My favorite interpretation of the theme thus far.

I kept asking myself what my character represents... victim... martyr...bystander. I guess it's open to interpretation, which was a good choice.

Also, nice sprites. They reminded me of early adventure games

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:49pm

@zatyka Thanks so much! Means a lot to me :)

jordanbloemen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:06am

A worthwhile insight communicated in a fun, gently interactive way

ponywolf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:48am

I would love to see this idea fully explored. Great potential.

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

When I first saw this I was thinking that using the ludum dare to push personal opinions was wrong. But after "playing" it I fell it actually manages to convey your opinions in a non aggressive and more relatable way. Doesn't feel like it's trying to push any opinions or views and actually seems like a fairly noble use of the compo.

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:33am

@jordanbloemen @ponywolf Thanks!

@Lord bobyness Aww, thank you so much!

creative630 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Great message. Nice to see someone making use of this game jam as an opportunity to express themselves and reflect on what's happening around us.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Game vs non-game debate aside, you made something with a message, and I commend you for that. Great job!

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:07am

A nice message - got me thinking. Simple but cool. Keep up the great work.

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:32am

@creative360 @LaFleur Thanks so much guys!

@McFunkypants Thanks Christer :D

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:38pm

I think this is as much a game as any other entry, there is not much interaction but the little there is plays a major role in the message of the game and I like that. Nice piece of video game art.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Good production values and nice art. :)

igoramendola says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:59am

Interesting idea and good way to express your feelings/opinions. The concept fits well with the theme. I know that the massage is more important than the gameplay, but maybe it would have been nice if it had a little more interaction, without losing the essencial point. Like ponywolf said, the idea has potencial to be explored. Nice art and animations! ;)

Moosefly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:44pm

It's different. That's not not necessarily a bad thing nor a good thing, just a thing. I guess that's pretty much all I can say.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:03am

Hi there. Very impressive art and sound, great method to get your message across.

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:38pm

@Lokarunith @DustyStylus @igoramendola @Moosefly @mrexcessive Thanks!

MintArcade says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Impressive. Wow... powerful...

jsspiegel says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:04pm

@MintArcade Thanks!

davisan says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Great message! The sprites are cool. And if it was last year, you could add the brazilian protests.

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Interesting entry, not what I expected but original nonetheless!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]