Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Heart Star

by AdventureIslands - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Two friends want to reach the same place together but they have a little problem: They live in completely different worlds! Help the friends reach the common goal while swapping between the red and blue world. While the friends might not be able to see each others worlds, they can still interact by serving as a platform or carrying each other.

Press Enter in the menus to just jump straight to 1st level
Use Arrow Keys or WASD to move and jump
Press Spacebar to swap worlds
Press Esc to return to stage select
Press R to restart current room
Press M to mute and unmute the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Overall4.23
#22Fun4.04
#22Graphics4.39
#23Theme4.18
#73Mood3.76
#81Audio3.68
#157Humor3.14
#266Innovation3.54

Comments

anssipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:47am

Yay! .. Awesome graphics, Nice puzzles. And the whole game seems really polished. Only music becomes annoying after a while.
Nice work!

dinos says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57am

Cool game! The levels are really nice. I think that the red (Ruby's ?) world is slightly more friendly/relaxed than the blue (Sapphire's ?) world :P

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:07am

Good game! Really polished and nice level design. Only the controls feel a little squishy sometimes (because of the low air friction).

ClownAround says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:26am

Excellent. I really like the graphics. The idea was well executed.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39am

Great job! I love the sprites, very expressive and well animated! Level design was well done as well, it felt like a complete game.

chongdashu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06am

Great work! Very well done, especially given it took 48 hours!

MJamesShort says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07am

Great mechanic and execution!

bobrocks says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14am

Wow, this is super polished! The reaction when one falls is very cute. This is just a great little game! Very well done! I'd love to see controller support in the future!

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38am

Really well done as always! It wasn't a mechanic I haven't seen but it was well polished and executed. Great work.

Ryan Melmoth says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:56am

Feels very polished as I'd expect from you. I would have enjoyed more difficult levels.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:02am

Another very polished entry from you! That's a given as always. ;) Just the right amount of levels and the graphics were really cute. Can't say anything bad about it really. Why you so good!?

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:24am

awesome graphics and very nice puzzles. Super polished!

From Smiling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:59am

Whoa!! This is super pretty and super complete, it feels really good and sounds really good. Love the colours and the feelings it gives off!

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:07am

Really nice polished game! Great graphics and fun to play c:

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:09am

This game is truly a gem. So polished, perfect. Congratulations!

Tovip says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29am

Holy cow this is solid for a game jam game!
Maybe it was just the darker colors or maybe I saw an unbalance of spikes but I felt like blue's world was a bit harsher than red's which kinda (at least in my own head) gives it an even more interesting narrative.

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:55am

Fun game with amazing graphics and design.

Furyhunter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:56am

oh my god this game is amazing

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:27am

Adorable little puzzle game. Neat spin on the mechanic too!

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:49am

Very, very polished, probably the best game I've played so far. :D I can never get enough of your graphics.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:23am

Gorgeous game, cute visuals, cool level design, great difficulty level (I managed to get to the end). My favorite so far :)

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:30am

Great work! The art is great and the puzzles are very enjoyable.

EMAK says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:54am

So perfect!! you're my hero! pleaaase learn to me!!

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02am

Fun!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:38am

Great and highly polished idea :) One of my favourite.

fcpfoof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:46am

Awesome game! The graphics, the audio... It reminds me of a Fireboy and Watergirl ;o.

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53am

By far the best game I played so far. You've done it again, Jussi. :D

DhantonGames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Really cool game. The puzzles were very well design and the graphic style is awesome:D

pythong says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:10pm

now this is a reeeaaally cute game. love the win animation and the face the other makes when you die

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:19pm

I love all your games and this one is no exception :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Great job, as always :)

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Super polished, really cute graphics, well designed puzzles. Great job!

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Lovely art :3

rex64 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:02pm

aww man, those awesome graphics make me feel so nostalgic <3

Aaants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Brilliant work again!

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Indeed, the idea is similar to my game, but your game is clearly better than mine ! Probably the best game I found so far. Graphics are cute, music is good and the levels are fun ! Great job !

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Nice art style. But the game crashed on the 1st arena.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45pm

If the game gets stuck in after completing the first level, you need to let your browser use memory to save your progress. Try restarting the game, the level should be cleared.

youngmadeof says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Really enjoyable puzzle platform romp. A quality entrant.

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Cute! And the puzzles arn't as frustratingly hard as most LD games. One point of critique is that the worlds don't really feel like 'worlds.' It's more abstract than I'm used to from you. It would be cool if the worlds had completely different feels to them. This entry is awesome as always, but that would have made it even MORE awesome. :)

ssheep says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30pm

awesome work here the game looks amazing the audio is fun to listen to and the mood was really good also it connected really well with the theme

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Very nice. I love the Game Boy Color feel. I want the controls to be a bit snappier, but minor note there. The mechanic is definitely not that new, but it is implemented very well. I love the simple animations, especially the hair. I would definitely play more of this if it were updated post LD weekend.

Glint Games says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Wow awesome pixel art, animation and genius level design 5/5

Lokiman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Yes, this is what I call a good "multidimensional" pixelart platformer for the theme! :D Perfect... but I somehow knew it even before I started the game :P

tulevik.EU says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Very well executed. Controls feel intuitive and responsive and puzzles are interesting. I like the look of it too. Good stuff!

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Very nice! Great, simple art and sounds. My only complaint would be the "floaty" controls make precision jumps difficult. Luckily, I only had trouble with that on the last level. Enjoyed it!

Bubblman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Very good job! Loved it!

0x0961h says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Graphics, music, gameplay... everything is flawless! :)

arttut02 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Nice graphics and puzzles gives you something to think about. Fun game!

maad9 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Awesome game! Really nice graphics, audio. Well done :)

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Great game! The pixel art is awesome and I love the character animations. Puzzles are interesting and sometimes challenging. I like the idea of using the other character as a stepping stone or carrying them. Creates some clever gameplay ideas.

(And yes, you're right, our games are quite similar!)

GFM says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Cute graphics. It's really well done, congrats. :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Perfect level design, art,music etc 5/5 best entry I've seen so far. You've done it again!

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09pm

This game is very similar to mine in mechanic. I love the art style, and the gender-ized worlds and backgrounds. The music did get a bit loopy, but overall great game.

Sheepolution says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10pm

This is so freaking cute! I love it! I love their faces, I love the look of the levels, the look of the background. The graphics in general are really good, along with the audio. It really gives me this SNES game feeling. And the game feels complete. It feels like a finished game, except short. The only thing I was missing was more and better levels.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Awesome graphics and music, really enjoyed it!

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Really great game! Best I've played so far :)
A good design, nicely balanced difficulty curve, good use of theme, great graphics and audio.

Vennril says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:30am

It's so cute, and so pretty *_* And the difficulty-curve is spot-on. I really fell in love with this. Well done! :)

SnapDragon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:35am

I use Stencyl too! My Ludum Dare game was made by stencyl too!

juakob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:01am

Really nice game! Congratulation

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22am

wow! I was blown away. loved the art style!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:29am

Very good job loved this game

Frump says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:06am

Second game I played an already full marks. Well done. I had fun with the clever puzzle mechanics.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:22am

Nice pixels, especially the animation.

Colorvade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:35am

happy Valentine's day Jussi xoxo

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:22am

This is so adorable it hurts! I had one stumbling point around the time I needed to know that the characters can carry each other. I had the impression that they were completely immovable when I wasn't in their world. I figured it out eventually but you may want a level that more directly forces it to happen. Just a thought. Fantastic work, as usual!

ThatSamu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:05am

Such a lovely game. Good innovation around the theme, polished graphics, audio and gameplay. Can't really come up with criticism on this one.

waynaul says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:39am

Excellent game in every category. I love the pixel art.

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:06am

Great puzzles! You did it once again, great job!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:06am

Once again you proved that you master puzzle platformer.
I really like how all of your games have this AdventureIslands taste.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:48am

Your games are always great. Loved the art and style and the puzzles are great. Solid effort. One of the best I've seen.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04am

Great puzzle platformer with refreshing mechanics, the art is awesome as always, and the level design is cool! Good job! :)

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53am

This game is so cute and amazingly well made. I love it :D

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Really well done. Graphics are outstanding and I love the level design. Good job!

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Wow, such a great game. Perfect style, so cute characters, nice "story". It was a bit easy for my taste, but that way at least I had a chance to complete it :D

_Rilem says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Looks amazing, fun and clever mechanic.
Also super polished! :)

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:17pm

How cute!!

Lars-Kristian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Awesome game and I would love to play more levels. Only complaint I have is the movement of the background it almost made me sick. xD

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Lovely pixel art and really nice mechanics! Love it!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Absolutely fantastic! Nice polish, and really nice level design and balance. Very pro.

Altourus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Wow that was great, really loved the art Aestetic

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Great Game. I really enjoyed the puzzles.

Yword says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43pm

It is very fun and I just completed it! The graphics are very polished and the mechanics are very cool! The music is not so good, but I think it is acceptable for auto generated music.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Amazing! I always love playing your games. The difficulty curve was spot on, though I thought maybe the later levels would have a higher difficulty ceiling. The music and art work together really well, and I especially loved the surprised face each character made when the other died. Great job!

Halfbus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Cute and interesting puzzles!

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:07pm

very cute

PixelArtM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Great! good work!

Raphy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Amazing game as always. Not much more to say!

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Really outstanding! lived everything in there!

Josh H says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Very impressive! I really have no criticisms. The controls were spot on, the levels were extremely well designed, the graphics and sounds were great. Surprisingly polished for a 48 hour game! Well done.

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Pretty cool puzzles!
Also I liked this minimalistic pixel art with limited palette. Feels kinda lovely =)

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Wow, holy crap! This is super-well done, and the mechanics, art, sound, everything come off as really polished. It's pretty inhuman you did this in 48 hours. Great game, one of my favorite submissions. :) And I love them pixel people ^^

Satyre says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55pm

I like the color choice and the gameboy color style. I love the piggyback mechanics. Clever usage of the theme.

chriskdev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:05pm

This was fun!

Charlie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Good graphics and music. Awesome game! is like playing the Gameboy!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21pm

nice game I wish if there is more level

Malapropos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Fun puzzle mechanics and really nice graphics! This was a fun one :D!

Kyoutashan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Your game is so cute... and it feels so polished. Congratulations :)

Zathalos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20pm

This game is too cute for me. XD. Really great concept. It was fun to play and the graphics were amazing. Awesome job.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:36pm

SO.... CUTE! What a great aesthetic, and spot-on controls too. I'm amazed that so many puzzles could be so tightly made in such a short time. Great work!

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Loooove it! Adorable animation, GREAT puzzle design - great work!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:22pm

That was realy cool

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Super adorable game! I loved all their little expressions/animations.

markusfisch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:20pm

What a sweet little puzzler! Graphics and music totally nail it! And the gameplay is just fun. Couldn't stop until I beat it :)

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Goooooood stuf!! :D

owyoow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Very good game. I really enjoyed it and nice puzzles

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Very well developed game with fun puzzles and cute characters!

Dans17 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:53am

Good game, nicely done

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:26am

This is adorable. Great game mechanics, solid animations. Good job all round.
~funkeh

jshaffer94247 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:06am

I got stuck on level 5 or so but had a great time. Loved the graphic when your buddy falls! Nicely polished and I had not seen this mechanic. Nice job. Can I get it on my phone soon? :)

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:07am

So good.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:14am

very polished! great graphics and gameplay. short and simple! nice job

buckslice says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:23am

Wonderful graphics, general platforming control, and level design. Bravo!

Namide says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:41am

Very impressive and clean work!

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:20am

Jump sound gets very repetitive and controls aren't fluent.

Navarckyx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:16am

Out of all the "two people helping each other" games I've played, I have only played a few I must admit, but I think this is the best so far. The level design is very good, ramping up in complexity but never becoming too hard as to be frustrating. Colours are nice, graphics are nice, they're as cute together as it was ever possible to make them (and are happy when they meet up!)

Heart Star has more polish than you expect from most games. I'd love to be able to make a game this good in 48 hours.

There was one bug I found where I could, from underneath, push the partner I was not currently using and cause them to fall through solid matter and into the abyss. It's a minor complaint though and once again well done!

dustyroom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:34am

Great level design, very pleasant puzzle.

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:35am

Nice little game, enjoyed it and cute artwork.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Such a well done game, so polished and fun to play. The character movement feels great and the puzzles are cleverly done with nice progression in difficulty.

DDFranky says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Greate game! awesome graphics, very well design levels and really fun mechanics!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Gorgeous! I liked the music and SFX. I did keep having issues because I swapped worlds when I meant to jump, but that is probably just too much training from other platformers ._. Really polished and complete! I'd like to see some more difficult levels... maybe some with more moving parts and whatnot :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:46pm

a realy simple but perfect game.

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Very well polished game for the time limit. I love the pixel artwork, the sound, everything. The way the little characters act when their counterpart dies is great too. Well done!

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I enjoyed this game a lot and thought you did a good job ramping up the difficulty. The music was also very enjoyable! Great job!

bg1987 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Amazing, that's all I have to say.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Great game! Loved the graphic style and the music, it all fit very well together - very good experience.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Amazingly polished. Gameplay and controls are great, sounds awesome, looks good.

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Well designed and executed. Excellent difficulty progression, and adorable art style. Definitely one of my favorites.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:19pm

The degree of polish on this thing is incredible. Gameplay is great, length is long enough to explore all concepts but not wear them out, graphics are awesome... Amazing work! :)

lowcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Congratulations! A very cool and fun game. I love the art style!

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Oh maaan, this was so good. This feels like playing Fire 'N Ice.
I actually cleared it, good job!

Clodial says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Lol, I love the simple message, and love how this wasn't about space. Very cute and enjoyable :D

malf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Great game , i liked a lot the pixel art :D

dtruby says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Very nicely polished. Fairly solid mechanics, but spikes seemed equivalent to non-existent blocks, so kind of pointless. I think the level design could have done with more work. Some obstacles were resolved on the necessary route to the platform, so weren't really obstacles at all.
- Qualia

TeamEagle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Nicely done :)

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Lovely as always. The mechanic is well executed, especially the piggybacking, will look forward to playing more levels :)

c4chaos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:38pm

That was fun

ruerob says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:56pm

What a great game. Everything about it is so cute and great. Thank you very very much for your game. I love it.

banana4life says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Very cool game.

Joseph Roque says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:23pm

A very fun and cute game :)

mrjohnson22 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Great use of the theme on this one! Having both characters exist on the same plane while each is in a parallel stage layout is a really clever idea, and this concept was explored pretty in-depth despite there being only ten levels. And I loved the visuals! The adorable idle animations really added a lot to the experience. I'm excited to see what's in store for the post-compo version!

skiddings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Very nice level design :)

yodamaster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:05am

Good game! Nicely polished and building up the difficulty level.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:11am

Gotta love those cute animations :D
the levels are nice, not too challenging but they fit well with the calming mood of the game. I really feel bad for them when I fall of the platforms

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:49am

Art, music, mood, et cetera are all beautiful! However, the game was a bit slow and the physics/controls were a bit slippery. The combination of those two made the game very difficult at certain points.

kewry says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

Loved the game and the game boy feel

paps says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:17am

Amazing! Your game is amazing. nothing more to say except well done 5 stars

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:08am

Very cool & clever little game. I cannot understand how you could do this from start to finish in just 48 hours. That's amazing feat.

I might have preferred some other color instead of purple... maybe like a blog that has both blue+red on them. (While I do get that "blue+red=purple", logically good). Just a tiny notion when I cannot come up with anything really useful :)

Another thing: I would perhaps considered showing those other dude's blocks transparently. Perhaps. I don't know if that would hurt the experience, but just something to think about.

I didnt like the audio that much... but that's probably me :D -- I do think it fits the rest of the game well though.

Very well done, a polished 48 hour entry. Congratulations!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:22am

Very well made small puzzle game.
Mechanic isn't providing something new. But looking too polished.
Level design is pretty good =)
Visuals and music are nice.

spotco says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:23am

Very well polished, cute, and fun to play! Great way to work with the theme, I can see this being produced into a full length game.
My favorite aspect was the ability to carry the other character.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:47am

That's super cute on so many levels. Great work!

Spang says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:50am

Really nice game, loved the music and the pixel art. 5 stars IMO. :)

TautNerve says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:43am

Amazingly well done and polished!
Great graphics and sound, perfect use of the theme and
great puzzle design around the main mechanic.
The pacing of the puzzles was perfect, I would have loved
to play more. You should make a bigger game out of this,
one of the best Ludum Dare 30 games I've played.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:48am

What a great idea for a game! Really well done.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

Best "twins" platformer in this compo!

Vandash says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:38am

smart and lovely :)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

Great entry, I would have preferred to have tab switch between the two worlds and use space for jumping...

Tifu says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:25pm

This is the cutest thing =D
Fun game, levels are nice, but it only gets a little challenging at the end, would have liked to have seen what the next few more difficult levels might have been like :)

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

One of the best crafted platformers this LD. Works well because of the tight controls, good visuals, and fair jumps.

Good job.

sephyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Adorable and highly polished game!
Classic but good gameplay! :)

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Wow, those animations sure are cute! The game is fun to play too, and perfectly polished

Artamus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Nice game, congrats!

Tommislav says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Awesome work for 48 hours. Very high polish and cute graphics!

nilstastic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Pros: Beautiful graphics, and excellent gameplay
Cons: None!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:40pm

very nice game, loved the graphics and audio and overall feel. I just wish that the controls were a little tighter, but other than that great job :)

nonetheless says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:00am

Brilliant idea and awesome presentation :) That is an amazing entry!

runvs says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:37am

Really Nice!

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:53am

Really interesting and satisfying puzzles. Nicely done!

Simon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Pretty neat concept! Great level design, you hit all the right spots. Good job!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:52pm

That was a great experience: cool graphics, catchy music, clever gameplay, ... Nicely executed and with a correct learning curve. Spot on! Amazing work!!

local minimum says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Great style and mood for and smart puzzle-platformer. The one thing that pulled down the experience was the lack of control when jumping. It was too easy to miss the intended landing spot and it didn't feel like that complexity was really suitable. So I would suggest giving the player better control while in the air as the main point to improve.

Other than that is a really promising game.

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Brilliant! Amazing idea, awesome execution.

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:02am

So beautiful game. Addictive.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:53am

So cute :3
Nice mechanics, style and mood.

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:44am

Nothing too outrageous, but really really solid, polished and balanced. I do miss that exceptional thing that some of your other games had, like duke dashington!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:54am

This would be a classic if it was released in 80s. Right now I don't know how it would do in today's market but the idea and realization is so good. I imagined a multiplayer mode where players act in real time, not by turn :)

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Perfect !!

Retl says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Looks great, sounds good too. The surprised expression when the partner fails is amusing. Completed the game in Google Chrome on Windows 7. Worked great.

YukonW says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Awesome game dude! The graphics are pretty nice and the gameplay feels pretty well polished, well done!

igoramendola says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Wow! An awesome entry!
The art is adorable and the gameplay is pretty cool (and fits very well with the theme). Also, has nice sounds.
Congrats for the excellent work ^_^

howkj1 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Great game! Complete from start to finish. Decent 8-bit audio and 8-bit general feel. Dual worlds are laid out well. Characters are lovable. Mild humor by stepping on each other's heads to get to the next platform. This would make a good 2-player side by side or arcade with 2 screens.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:28am

Really nice entry, great job. :)

Natrium729 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:37am

Really nice game. I would have preferred a less abstract world, and I don't think the idea of two platformer levels at the same time is new, but the game is still very pleasant to play.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:38am

Neat entry, nice take on the theme. I like it.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:00am

Hi there. Delightful and charming platformer. The physics was very good, nice collisions and things just-in-reach. Red/Blue/Purple walls mechanic very nice. Appropriate sounds and nice pixel art. Good job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Another awesome entry. You really have the LD thing figured out. The graphics were great. The puzzles were fantastic. This would have been great on a Gameboy. Awesome Job.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:13pm

This was a near perfect game. My only criticism is that you could fall off the levels to the left and right, which I only found by ...

There have been other games with a similar theme, but this ticked all of the boxes in all of the ways. It has great looks, fantastic chip tunes, and plays really, really well.

This belongs on the Wii-U store, or similar. It really is that good.

thiaguera says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Loved it!

JNyknn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Controls are a bit laggy, but otherwise very good game.

Fernando says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Very well polished and fun to play! Loved the art! Congratulations!

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:25pm

It's so cute my teeth are hurting.
Really clever little game, I would've wanted to see this on the GameBoy. That'd been cool!
The controls are a little floaty, and there's the occasional Flash framerate hiccup. Other than that, perfect! :)

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Love the art style! Great innovation and music, and awesome game! Great job!

Sascha says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:12am

Great entry, as always!
Gret idea, perfect execution, a good difficulty curve, and great polish! Loved it.

ambi says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Excellent game. Only minor quibble I had was the framerate which was not completely smooth.

andrewkennedy says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:53pm

I loved the art! The animations, environment, and music were all very charming.

GrooveMan says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:55pm

I really like how syrupy cute this is, and the really clean pixel art. I'm reminded of Kirby in many ways, or at least Lololo and Lalala.

saguaro says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:38am

The cuteness is tremendous. This is very polished all-around, but my favorite part is the "cooperative" aspect of the gameplay. Great game.

ehtd says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:47am

Great game

Katamori says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:32am

Needless to say anything. Masterpiece!

Sunflower says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:57am

Very good and solid entry, with adorable audiovisuals. The levels aren't particularly puzzling, but I'll forgive that given the timespan. The main reason why it's not one of my absolute top entries (instead making it only to the regular top, how terrible) is because I've played nearly 150 games at that point and found games that are somehow more innovative or have more advanced narration. ^^"

Sogomn says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Woha!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:22pm

The production value on this one is really high. Great music and graphics. Just the gameplay is nothing really new, and the levels themselves seemed to repeat themselves, not introducing any new concepts or challenges.

YopSolo says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:51pm

perfect :)

alhvi says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:43am

Great game! I love it. Definitely one of my favorites. Great level design. The progression between the levels is perfect. :D. Amazing job! Congratulations

jahmaican says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:14am

Brilliant, the puzzles are clever and often not very obvoius. Very playable, challenging stuff!

Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Psssst.... You are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XshA79i3By8

Erkberg says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Great entry! It has a simple, yet satisfying mechanic and I really like the cute graphics style. It's a bit on the easy side, but that's totally fine.

foolmoron says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Literally the cutest game ever

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:48am

So good.

JetL33t says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:04am

Just saw it on Ludum Dare to Believe and it is really, really good :P

barryrowe says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:47am

I can't say enough good things about this entry. It's just really solid all the way through. Graphics are perfect for the feel. The puzzles are fun to play through instead of frustrating. The theme is definitely there. Everything is good. Very solid entry.

Literal Games says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Very nice graphically. Great work overall!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Cute AND fun!

The only thing I'd polish is the audio: it should be as two-sided as the visuals. Start with a midi file, change one set of instruments to slow warm heartbeats and the other to high glassy watery sparkles. Pan the heartbeats to the left and the sparkles to the right. Make two music files, one for each world: one with the left side loud and the right side quiet, and one with the reverse. Maybe make a third version with no panning and even volume, and play it when both friends are on the platform.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]