Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shit Ahead

by kristof - Jam Entry

UPDATE: We now have a Windows version of our game. Sadly it seems to be a bit shaky on some computers. Let us know of any problems you might run into! (28.08.2014)

It's a game about spreading culture as a world-connecting motive.

Tools:
C++, SDL2, OpenGL

A game by:
Philip Lammert (Illustration)
Nicolas Neteler (Sound)
Kristof Niederholtmeyer (Code)
Special Thanks to Anna-Maria Daschner!

Thanks for Playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#30Humor(Jam)3.90
#69Audio(Jam)3.83
#157Fun(Jam)3.45
#183Graphics(Jam)3.88
#327Overall(Jam)3.30
#445Mood(Jam)2.97
#578Theme(Jam)2.63
#673Innovation(Jam)2.36

Comments

ponywolf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Loved the graphics (the icon most of all) and the play was responsive and straight forward. Nice jam entry....

katanagari7c1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Love the plot of the game. Shit overhead FTW :D

Spang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Great game, nice graphics and very fun. :D

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:51pm

One of the most interesting storylines I've seen this LD!!! XD
I thought this game was fun and challenging! GJ

Perjoka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:01pm

great, i like it :)

hogtrick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Your game is awesome. Loved the art style. Is the best one I've seen so far =]

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:12pm

yay, another game about poo lol

Majko says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Awesome music and sound! Great art. Overall, very nice job :)

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Simply amazing.

Naytron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Great presentation, a really nice and fun little game! Really solid artwork and vibe to the whole thing. Awesome stuff!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Simply amazing.

DalsGames says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Really nice gfx! And the sound was nice as well. I liked the story.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:59pm

When I start the game I see the story and once it gets to the action there is just a black screen with the controls on screen.
I'm running Windows 7 64-Bit. If I can help with testing the windows version poke me on twitter. I would love to be able to play the game.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:31am

Have the same issue as Kayelgee. Windows 7 64-Bit.

Meta-link says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:44pm

A funny game with funnay grahics
Great job !

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:46pm

I like the music.
The gameplay isn't original but fun...

Yoni says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Very nice!
Stage 3 is hard :(
It is hard to run away from bullets, as the camera moves pretty violently if you go backwards.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Awesome game! Good balanced. Nice graphics. More levels would have been nice ;)

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Can't get out of controls screen. When I press the arrow or any of the keys nothing happens except for explosion sounds. Win 8.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Runs fine on my Windows 7 64-bit computer. The art style is very good and the music and sounds are well done. Nice and challenging. I don't know if my grenades were useful, but I eventually got good at bullet dodging.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Very humorous game! Nice controls.

Chaoseiro says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:09am

Why wouldn't these aliens so kindly wear shit on the head? :/
Nice game overall :D
The music and sfx were well done, the art is really nice, the only thing I didn't like was not being able to shoot and walk backwards, but that wasn't a big problem.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:49pm

The graphics were really charming, the music was good and action-y, and the gameplay was fast-paced so it didn't matter much that it was hard to stay alive through the whole thing. Great job! : )

dook says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Ha, this is awesome. Fun little story and solid, simple gameplay :) Graphics, music and sound was all great.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:23pm

I think the story would have been great if you were completely went in it (Anime/manga style). Sadly here i'm not in this kind of humor. But i like the idea of planets who wants to connect themselves but have different cultures.
The gameplay is cool, but frustrating.
Love the music !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]