Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Derrick McSlick

by xgeovanni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as the father of the renowned Rick McSlick, Derrick, as he takes on an adventure to rival that of his son.

Controls:

AS : Move left/right.
W : Jump.
Click : Shoot.

Edit: I have launched a hotfix for the bug with images not loading. Look at the github page to see the changes, they're very minor.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#145Humor3.19
#527Theme3.30
#745Mood2.77
#1008Fun2.48
#1049Innovation2.39
#1059Graphics2.23
#1131Overall2.45
#1265Coolness48%

Comments

thiaguera says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33am

The web version isnt running correctly.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57am

That's sure one trunk armed high heels wearing dude!

Didn't load properly the first time (everything invisible), a quick refresh fixed it.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01am

Not a bad little game :) I like how all the baddies are on one world and then the other has bunnys :P

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:46am

I can stand on a bat while shooting at zombies 10/10 Would play again.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Very clever, fun, nice work!

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Great take on the theme! Well implemented

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:47pm

I thought a player dies when she falls to a hole. So I was surprised! I want some targets or a goal. Nice game :)

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:12am

Took me a while to realize there was another world. Nice take on the theme.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25am

Hi there... Really fun... ! I like that death isn't death... shame no sound (Chrome/W8) Good job!

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:54pm

This wasn't at all what I was expecting - in a good way :)

I love "innocence" of the initial world, with the stark contrast to the other one. The other one being the one I accidentally discovered when I couldn't make a jump across a wide gap, thinking I'd die.

And then I jumped on top of a bat. That seemed to happily carry me around, so I thought they were friendly. Until another bat tried to kill me.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:53pm

At first I wasn't expecting much, but the game is really fun in a way many prettier games aren't!

What a pro tip you've taught me: rollerskates are a really great way to avoid drawing leg animations :)

EpiphanyG says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I enjoyed this. There was a lot more variety in the enemies than I have come to expect in a compo entry. Great work. :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Pretty fun game, I think that the game art could have been more coherent, it felt very mixed. Otherwise it nice. The jumping was very floaty though.

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:05am

Nice work. Simple but cool.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:21pm

If you jump into a hole that exists on both worlds, after fallinf for a while, the character breaks light speed and it goes through plattforms XD Also cool that when you shoot vertically the bullets can fall on your face XDD

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Pretty decent. Good to see someone else from Ireland. I found the gravity on bullets just slightly annoying. I enjoyed your take on the theme however. Well done I hope you continue to enter ludum dare.

danbo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:45am

I like that the bullets have some drop, changes the dynamics of the shooting...

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Ads on your web version? Not cool :(

Controls were a bit unresponsive and the game a bit buggy. Quite a confusing experience. Keep improving!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]