Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Phantom Hunter

by Zathalos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

As a Phantom Hunter you must devour all the souls.

Left Click - Attack
WSAD - Move
1 - Shoot
2 - Lure
3 - Transform
4 - PhaseShift
Space - Consume souls (Monster Form Only)
Enter - Confirm
P - Restart Level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#250Innovation3.56
#323Theme3.56
#751Overall3.00
#791Fun2.78
#827Graphics2.67
#875Mood2.61
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:46am

nice one, thought it would be a fun top down fighting game, but then I changed worlds and my mind was blown

ATesh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:02am

I feel like there were too many controls and I didn't fully understand what each did.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I agree, the controls should be easier. More is not always better.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:48pm

I agree on the too many controls comment by Atesh but it was good fun :) the 1 2 3 4 assignment was a bit tricky as I am on a laptop with no numpad but I do like the idea.

cstudios says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:54am

I seen screens of this game on twitter while the LD30 event. I was looking forward to play it, and I am not disappointed. The mechanic is very sophisticated, the two world well connected. Its awesome how the ghost can get back to the body. Well made, i gave it high rating. Its unbelievable that the whole game was made by one person under 48-hours.

egos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:26am

really good but too many control..... so too many control

H1S2 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Good job! It took a while for me to get used to the controls but after that it was a really fun game.

lkr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:17pm

It was confusing at first, but once I understood the mechanics it was very fun. The fact that shooting drained life didn't dawn on me for quite a while, and it was frustrating to die so fast :)

I liked how the two worlds were connected, and both had to be utilized. The effect when switching from the dark to the light one was also neat.

Fun game!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:48am

Hi there. Liked the world switching and fighting. Showing the attention cone also good I thought. Shame no sound.

whalebot says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Pretty neat. I ended up spamming the 1,2,3,4 buttons to try and get what I wanted :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]