Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mammoth Monkey Mole

by ehtd - Jam Entry

A puzzle game by @ehtd and @nigonzalezm made for Ludum Dare #LD30

Three animals from three different worlds lived peacefully, until the eclipse connected their worlds. As a mighty being, Guide them to the exit. They trust you.

Solve the 13 puzzles!!! (20 in post-compo version)

EDIT-

Thank you all for playing, we really appreciate your comments!
We are working into expanding the game and improve all the issues mentioned.

EDIT 2-
Added post mortem link

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#99Fun(Jam)3.59
#151Overall(Jam)3.57
#157Audio(Jam)3.54
#157Humor(Jam)3.08
#228Mood(Jam)3.37
#240Innovation(Jam)3.29
#299Theme(Jam)3.35
#458Graphics(Jam)3.19

Comments

Animan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Fun little game! My only complaint is the control scheme; buttons are spread out in a way that I often reset the game or switch between the animals on accident. Could just be me though. Audio/Graphics are fine enough (I like how each animal has a different walking sound). Very clever use of the theme. Great work!

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Epic style, favorited.

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:39pm

A powerful simple game, my only critic is that the fact that all animals could be on the screen at the same time, because it's an unintersting difficulty (even if you keep the color switch to indicate the animals)
The puzzle design is impressive, and progressive i stop at level 8 but only because i have feeled that this game could bring me far away from the others game. A real time killer! ;)
The idea of color, and sound is brillant because it create a dynamic at each switch, helped by the track.
Real great puzzle game.
And i love the font!

tbamberg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Awesome idea, executed really well.
I would agree that the control scheme needs some rethinking, but otherwise this is great!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:34pm

I liked this game a lot. Was simple enough to quickly learn, but has a lot of depth and interesting puzzles in the later levels.

Dasginger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:40pm

I enjoyed playing this entry so much! The graphics and colors are great, really relaxing. Seconding what Animan said, the different walk sound effects was a nice touch.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Great art and music. Great level design and game mechanic. A+

skullum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Solid game, some of the puzzels have shortcuts and it's nice to find them

hirsch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:29pm

I accidently killed the mole twice, he trusted me :(

I like the puzzles that sometimes have multiple solutions and are a bit tricky.
Nice game :)

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Nice game! The difficulty curve was actually a bit shallow for me, but it definitely picked up later on! The abilities were pretty well thought out, and there were some good puzzles in there. Nice job!

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16am

Wish I could see where the animals were. Early on I was told "You killed monkey!" before I even knew I could manually switch characters.

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

Nice level design!

Ryusui says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

You had me at the Doctor Who reference. XD

Really enjoyed it. Only two gripes: the control scheme (I don't know why I kept hitting R by accident instead of V) and the fact that there's no indication where the other two animals are without switching to them.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:12am

Cool that you have a lot of interesting puzzles. This would make a nice ride the bus mobile app.

Also I'm sorry that I killed the mole.

mcapraro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:42am

interesting concept, well done!

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17am

A fun puzzle, kids enjoyed it.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Nice clever game, puzzles arent my kind of game but is pretty well made!

jayhof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Cool game with same hard puzzles, good job!

liqwidice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Really great!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Very addicted game! Genuine and pretty style of graphics. And also powerful gameplay :) You nailed this one!

Aumni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Fun puzzles. I enjoyed it. Good work!! :]

riv_roy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Ran into a invisble wall bug on the "Are you ready for a Challenge" level but the game is fun and a good theme, difficulty was really low tho

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Really fun, and challenging! I really like the concept of controlling several characters who all do different things. I also like that it's tile-based, this is so far the only tile based game I think I've played so far during ludum dare 30. Overall, this is a very well designed game.

zatyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:45pm

That was great. I liked figuring out what part each of the animals played. Nice implementation of the them, and perfect music choice.

Was there any particular reason you used the V button. I didn't count it against you; I'm just wondering since it felt awkward to use V and the space bar together.

Level design was nice, but I think I found a solution to a couple levels than you intended... either that, or you put in some red herrings.

On level 11 (I think... the one with 7 switches), my game kind of got stuck. My active character was no longer visible. Space bar and the R button didn't do anything even after I focused on the canvas. It wasn't frozen because I continued to hear music, and sound when I click the arrow keys.

I'll probably try again later because I was enjoying the game quite a bit.

kostka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Great job! Nice music.

foolmoron says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Very cool puzzle design. I like how the whole look changes when you switch animals.

kaa says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Great idea for puzzle! I like this music

Rocketship says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:54pm

A good example of a simple mechanic done well. No fancy super powers on the characters but still very well done puzzle game.

vinull says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:35am

Nice simple puzzle game - well done.

CeriseGhost says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:49am

Really enjoyed this game. I think I gave this game the highest score I've ever given :D Well Done

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:41am

Hi there. Love the atmosphere, brilliant sound design, graphics, level design. Humour, "you squashed monkey..." Very cool game. Bookmarked for a relook later, got to lv10 BTF1. Good job!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Very nice puzzles, cute graphics and good music. I like this game a lot. My wife, whose initial reaction was, "oh, not another of these..." grabbed the keyboard from me and played through several levels.

The sounds are good too - I particularly like the way that the mammoth stomps around.

Excellent job.

TautNerve says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Cool puzzle design and use of the different characters.
Some of the layouts feel a little too open while the puzzle
itself is in an area of only a few squares, but that's just
a really minor gripe. Well done~

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Absolutely completely stunningly excellent!

I had great difficultly understanding the keys; prominent on-screen help would have been really appreciated.

Absolutely completely brilliant! Have all my stars!!!

sephyka says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Very cool puzzle game. I like the gameplay idea which use three different characters with different skills.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Great puzzle game, played it to the end. Most levels have many possible solutions, that's good, but on the other hand it sometimes makes it too easy.

There is no reason for not showing all the characters at the same time. That was kinda annoying.
Also as many others already said, the control scheme was really weird and uncomfortable.

And why would that stup.... semi-intelligent monkey try to jump over the water when the other side is clearly blocked.... He only got to blame himself! :)

Tosic says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Wow, not bad at all, cool puzzle!

Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Wow, you made a genuinely good puzzle game. I am super impressed by this!

panurge says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:10pm

That was a lot of fun! I did feel a little guilty for killing them so often though, especially when they trusted me! :)

Great audio and very satisfying puzzle mechanics. A little visual polish would have gone a long way but I do understand how hard that is within the time limit. There is more than enough fun here to make up for it, anyway. Great work!

Artamus says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Nice game, congrats!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Fun game, nice concept! I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/Hmt93jxkWGQ

Rustam says ...
May 17, 2017 @ 4:50am

Thankyou for this wondrous post, I am glad I observed this website on yahoo.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]