Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Temple Of Two Worlds

by Volute - Jam Entry

Pauline is a promising archeologist. But her strange obsession for a mysterious temple puts her career in jeopardy.

After the intro, you'll be able to discover various documents that will help you find the truth.

There are 2 endings.

[SPACE] to advance dialog.
[WASD] or [ZQSD] or arrow keys to move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#37Theme(Jam)4.00
#64Mood(Jam)3.86
#70Overall(Jam)3.81
#119Humor(Jam)3.26
#134Innovation(Jam)3.55
#165Audio(Jam)3.52
#168Fun(Jam)3.43
#204Graphics(Jam)3.83

Comments

fizzd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:09pm

This is the first one I've given 5 stars all across. Such a pleasant surprise! I didn't get very far though: I got the report, and logged in using the ID, but i couldn't figure out where to put the password that was in the chat log - I tried logging in with the same ID but that didn't work. I'm really intrigued with the story, and the writing is quite good, and the graphics and the sounds are perfect. Well done!

OathAlliance says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:49pm

An well thought out and interesting game.

The graphics really reminded me of Pokemon.

Good job.

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:43pm

cool, a story! very nice dialog and puzzles here.

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Nice story, great pixel art. Well done.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:08pm

It's all about storytelling! Great job!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Cool "S--r ----k" Reference ;) Funny story, played for longer than normal (for LD game that is). Thank you for good game

Mase says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:15pm

I got through it without using the walkthrough... mostly. I kept trying to access a nonexistent "firefight" program instead of the diary, at that part in the story.

I think the music was computer generated... It's effective but a little bit impersonal.

The completeness of the story and execution is really nice. The "sidekick" cliche is used to great effect as well. Good stuff.

Njord says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Excellent game. Interesting story, nice dialogs, nice graphics, audio ... The game feels finished ! Really, congrats !

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:34pm

I really liked it. A bit lengthy in text but I love escape games so it was super fun. I did get stuck on Mobert's computer though because I entered "Mobert" and "lovebartha" but it didn't work :(

RaysAndLazors says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:36pm

I'm amazed how much story you managed to fit in such a small timeframe. Amazing job there, wish you a high place in the final classification!

Volute says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Thanks for the nice comments :)

@Seraphic Media: it's "Morbert" with an r between the o and the b.

Eomir says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Wow ! All of that in only 48h ! I'm impressed (special thx for the ZQSD controls).

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:16pm

We have been playing a bunch of games and this the first one we have come across that has a gripping story line along with a nice Pokemon like pixel art style and fitting music as well.

insane66 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:49pm

RPG

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Awesome game, good story! Too bad somewhere in the game I got into HazelPixel menu, and the game froze on me or something. :(

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Really nice dialogues! And the pixerart is sooooo sweet!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:57pm

very nice, reminds me of the Pokemon games

Sanguine says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Wow, amazing amount of content for a Ludum Dare. I got stuck at one point though and even with the walkthrough I wasn't able to get unstuck, so might have been an unfortunate bug :(

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:21am

Really amazing game, got me engaged from beginning to end, the story was very compelling and the execution was also great and very polished. I only don't understand in the end how did that character knew Pauline's name and acts so unsurprised when he saw her.

Oli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Wow! Very nice story, I was totaly captivated! Graphics and music are good too. Great work, one of my favorite game of this ludum dare.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Well, following the walkthrough, I came up to where I had to enter E3 as camera, and 95Y, but that did not work, and this game does not seem to have save so I'd come back another time, so I'm done there, but it did have me playing for a while.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:27am

Hi there. Like the interactive story mode. Clever drawing in of player using the mobile phone/friend conceit. Liked the graphics and sound, the detail. However couldn't find enough to solve myself. Bookmarked for a relook later. Good job!

lakael says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:33am

Nice game - reminds me of Pokemon. I got hooked once I started exploring. Jumping between keyboard and mouse was a bit annoying though.

skiddings says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:26pm

An interesting idea for a story but I wasn't able to get very far without a guide!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]