Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gatekeeper

by MidgeS - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Gatekeeper
----------

Buy Gates and make profit.
Got the basics for an Idle-Game done. Sadly had no time left for upgrades and balancing.

Developted with Unity3d 4.5.
Linux and OS/X versions not tested.

The theme made me headaches at first, but i like the concept i came up with.
Will definitely continue this project and add features i intended to add
but got scrapped because i wasted too much time on bughunting. :/

---------------

How to Play:
Buy Gates to make money from travelers.
The higher the population the more travelers will spawn on this World.
Gates have an upkeep cost so choose wisely
Note: The first travelers may need some time to spawn
Tip: Before buying observe the System for lucrative Gates.

Controls:
Select Worlds and Gates with left mouse.
Hold right mouse to rotate view.
Hold middle mouse or left ctrl to move System.
Use mousewheel to zoom in and out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#158Theme3.79
#422Innovation3.33
#468Graphics3.21
#897Overall2.85
#1116Fun2.17
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Downloading it seems really cool!

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Having to right click for rotating the view is slightly annoying, as that brings up the menu for the webplayer.

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Its intresting, i like RTS anyway but this is awesome. Im terrible at it but whatever

mutuware says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23pm

I did not spend my money wisely.

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Its intresting, i like RTS anyway but this is awesome. Im terrible at it but whatever

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Really cool idea. I liked trying to scope out what gates would make me the most money.

blurryroots says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

Very cool concept. I think it would have been useful to have a sell feature, to get rid of routes which are not as profitable.

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:57am

Interesting concept, but i loose wery fast and didn't realise how to win %)
3d is nice, btw.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:17am

Hi there. Like the ambition. Good job putting SHIFT as alternative for right-mouse click (web player version). Found economic aspects of it difficult to understand - so game itself eluded me. Perhaps a simple tutorial level. Shame no sound.

dusho says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:39am

the graphics looks really nice
even after reading 'How to play' it took me some time to get what is going on

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]