Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Galactic Pest Control

by HeyChinaski - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Huge spiders are ensnaring all the planets in the galaxy! Only you can stop them. They are invulnerable though, aim for their webs. Good Luck!

WSAD to move, space to shoot.

Requires a keyboard only. For best performance download the native versions or use Chrome.

Leave your best score in the comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#122Fun3.66
#141Innovation3.79
#165Theme3.78
#175Humor3.09
#350Mood3.24
#352Overall3.41
#674Graphics2.93
#806Audio2.20

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47am

Oh my gosh this game is so glitchy and insane and FUN. I really like how when you get ensnared in a web the spiders immediately bear down on you. I also like the messages when the planets get saved :P

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49am

Pretty neat idea!

arttut02 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:39pm

I liked it. Fun and fast.

Harsay says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:53pm

"Connected worlds" literally :D

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:47am

This game is so much fun. Me playing this game: "Yeah I got this, I have faster bullets now so I can OMG RUN AWAY FORM THE GIANT SPIDERS RUN AWAY RUN... Yeah no problem I got this. Shootin' webs... OMG RUN AWAY!"

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Awesome take on the theme. Could use some music though. I like that the planets become obstacles later in the game. Nicely done!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Innovative idea. Really enjoyed getting stuck in the spider webs :P Nice entry. :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:11am

Hi there. Found the spider attack far too quick. Really like the way the spider stitches planets together. Needs a bit more sound. Good job!

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Best use of the theme I've seen so far! Great concept.

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Love how you can get tangled up in the web. Good fun. Some creepy music when they chase you would the icing on the cake.

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Haha "connected worlds" I get it! :P Great fun. Only critique I have is did you try doing aiming with the mouse instead of WASD? Might be less frustrating!

whalebot says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Man this is intense! Nice work!

ra4king says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Really unique idea, good job on the execution!

ShadowStryker says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I really like the spider AI. Especially how they only occasionally run straight at you and follow you for a short while, and then go back to ensnaring all of the planets. I really liked this entry, great work man.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Really fun! Didn't do so well, however. I think my highest was 130ish

Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Nice game! I like how the spiders move around. It is quite addicting once you get the hang of it. I got to 1485 so far. :)

Artamus says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Nice game, congrats!

sephyka says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:04pm

It's difficult to play with my French keyboard. It might be great with arrows control too! Interesting playability of the ship.

Xanjos says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:02am

Pretty cool gameplay concept and a really great take on the theme. Ended up getting 1683 as my highest score.

Rage Paint says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Score: 619 lol

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]