Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Light and Dark

by cobrajs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Control the light and dark sides and reach the exit at the same time on either side to proceed to the next level.

Controls:
Arrow keys or WASD: Move currently active avatar(s)
K or X: Jump with currently active avatar(s)
L or C: Switch active avatar (if possible)
P or space: Pause (useful for screenshots or debugging)

There's only five levels, so it's pretty short, and I never got around to sound or music (seems to be the norm for me now).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#301Theme3.59
#340Mood3.25
#352Overall3.41
#445Graphics3.24
#464Fun3.14
#468Innovation3.27
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

martindilling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02am

Nice and simple idea, can imagine some really cool levels :P
Love the design, even though it could use a brushup ;)

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42am

Good job! It's simple but nicely done.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:49am

I have seen a few variations of this idea, but this is the most cohesive that I've seen so far. Nice.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

good game , like the idea and the design .
Think the controls is kinda hard have x or k to jump and space pause the reverse will be better :D

Laralyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Interesting idea! I'd love to see what you could come up with for puzzles.

leafarz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:13am

simple but cool game! a bit weird on the bindings but still a good game.
would love to see more puzzles for this game. good job!

EnigmAraigne says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:17am

Really enjoyable. Great idea!

lorniebear says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:59pm

I like the idea, and it's fairly fun. If you add a bunch of new levels, and sold it on the app store, you could make some money from it

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:08am

Hi there. Like the graphics and mechanics. I thought the move sideways after jump was a bit tight, maybe make the jumps 10-20% higher (but I realise that might mean changing target heights). Shame no sound. Good job!

puppymythril says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Like the concept, nice execution too. Last level was a bit of an issue because I felt I was exploiting the game to reach both exits, especially after I accidentally moved the dark cube inside an immovable box and couldn't get it out.

Piscythe says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:25am

This is one of the more polished incarnations of this idea I've seen, but it doesn't look as if you had time to make puzzles that really took advantage of the mechanic. Last level I accidentally moved one of the blocks inside a box and thus couldn't solve it.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:40am

Nice little game. We need more levels!!!
Maybe also the jump could be a bit higher cause I was sometimes moving crates by not jumping high enough of them (or make that pushing crates is only available if your character is on ground).

cobrajs says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:14am

It is slightly better than it would have been... down to the last two hours, I only had two levels built, and I had planned on just leaving it at that. Then I got that magic productivity boost that coding at the zero hour brings, and I added a few extra levels to it.

I'll have to look at the collisions between movable cubes and immovable... I built the puzzle in a certain way and had my own solution to it, so I didn't play test it happening any other way :P

Thanks for all the comments everyone!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]