Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Doki Doki Planet

by Moonkis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a little random-encounter inspired tamagochi-hybrid. The goal is to stay alive for as long as possible.

There are some small easter-eggs hidden in the game, maybe you can find them!

The entire game is mouse-driven. Enjoy, and sorry no sound :'(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2124Coolness10%

Comments

PERECil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Hello,

I try to play your game, but I could barely understand what to do. Feeded my people, had joy to them, explored things... and suddenly, a crash at "friendship.lua" line 20, rando field was null.

eott says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:48pm

A really nice little game, I was looking forward to play it when you showed your progress in the chat. The visuals are very clean, I like that. Unfortunately there seems to be something wrong with the randomizer when go exploring as the game sometimes throws an error when going on an adventure (see PERECil's comment)

Moonkis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:14am

Oh! I will fix it ASAP, thanks for the feedback. This was my fist completed game for LD (second try).

PERECil eott Thanks a bunch for even playing it, makes me happy!

Hempuli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Really cute and interesting :) Unfortunatelt after exploring a bit, the game gave me this error: http://i.imgur.com/35wMhLQ.png

Moonkis says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:39pm

@Hempuli
@PERECil
@eott

I replace the original link with the new one that fixed the crashes, please let me know if there are any more.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:39am

The square in the corner of the dialog seems like a close button but it's not. I like the tutorial at the start, maybe you could also teach about selecting options because the dialog with options looks like normal display text. It took me a second before I tried to interact.

I really like this take on the theme.

The gameplay seemed a little too random or I'm missing something. I would have liked to be able to recover from losing joy but often the round after I would lose the game. Being able to respond appropriately to each even would help a lot.

Excellent art.

Kojan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Your dialogues were really funny ! The graphics are great too !

Moosefly says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Like Crefossus already mentioned, the gameplay felt somewhat random. I think the stats should also be readily visible, instead of being hidden behind a menu :(. Definitely got a tamagotchi vibe from this one!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]