Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Story of a Broken World

by manabreak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a wizard, torn apart by memories that haunt him. He's done awful things and now the world around him is crumbling.

"Story of a Broken World" is my LD30 compo entry. I spent about 10 hours total making it. It lacks many things I had in mind, mostly because I had some motivation issues. Anyhoo, got something done, that's the point!

The game is written using LibGDX. Graphics are drawn in GIMP. Levels are created in Tiled. Music is composed using Psycle.

Hope you enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#81Audio3.68
#112Mood3.63
#175Graphics3.79
#504Overall3.26
#585Fun3.00
#632Theme3.16
#1029Innovation2.42
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

martindilling says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:20am

Nice for a 10 hour game ;) I've also used LibGdx for my game (first time in java and libGdx), much less done, and worked on it for ~40 hours xD

Sogomn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04am

Unfortunately it closes right after opening. May be caused by my system.

manabreak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05am

Sogomn: if you're using Windows, try running it from command prompt by java -jar <name>.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07am

Nice music, and cool tiles! Great job for 10 hours!

Healthire says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:25am

I liked the lighting, art, and the music. For a 10 hour game I'm impressed. Good job, solid game!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

the music fits really well. and I got really into it when I went through the blue portal thing. and the maze. fun game

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I liked it. The music goes well with the game. The end maze was fun

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

The art and the music are amazing. But, there wasn't much to do, which is understandable for a 10h game.

Riocide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Nice little game. Liked the music and the art. My only real complaint was on the invisible maze at the end. Unless I missed something there was no information on how to get through, it pretty much cam down to luck, which really takes power away from me as the player.

Other than that though, cool game!

anserran says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Nice graphics and music for 10 hours. Are you using libgdx box2d-lights? I intended to, didn't have time.

manabreak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39pm

@anserran: Thanks! And nope, it's not box2d-lights. Check the "Lighting.java" file in the source; it's just 16x16 sprites with alpha adjusted. :)

anserran says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:59pm

@manabreak Nice trick. Much more simple than box2d-lights.

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:08pm

I love the RPG style theme, great game!

Kojan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:28am

The graphics and the music are really good ! So is the little story which is really mysterious.
However it isn't really innovative, apart from the thing that turns the light off and on. And after a few minutes it becomes a bit repetitive
Overall it is a great work!

jonask says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Quite nice, real impressive for 10 hours too.

aucguy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:14am

This game was well polished. I really liked the music

brogrammers says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:29pm

As others said, great little thing you got there. Amazing music.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]