Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shattered Horizon

by 64Mega - 48 Hour Compo Entry

SHATTERED HORIZON
Ludum Dare 30 Entry by 64Mega

BACKSTORY:
A marine is tasked with the exploration of a strange planet.
This planet's star is giving off an unusual energy called "Dark Energy"
that tears rifts in the planet's surface where a whole mirror world exists,
inhabited by strange creatures.

GAMEPLAY:
The game is a top-down shooter. Use the arrow keys to move,
Z/Control to run and X/Shift to fire your weapon.
F4 will put the game into fullscreen mode.

Over time, your "FOOD" bar runs down. If you run out of food, you start to die.

Likewise, your "DARK" bar builds up. When it fills, you get transported to the
mirror world.
To get out of the mirror world, find a source of light energy (A campfire at the moment)
and wait for your bar to deplete.

Food and medicine can be found at certain spots in the map. Both respawn, so check
back if necessary.

There is no win condition. The goal here is to survive as long as possible and achieve a
good score.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1985Coolness20%

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55am

The pixel art looks kind of cool ;)

pirate-rob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Safe-House Best Tactic 2014

64Mega says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:20pm

@ViliX: Thanks :)

@pirate-rob: How safe are we talking about? Was there a food supply nearby? :P

burgerdare says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23pm

extremely polished for a 48-hour game. Music was nice, gunplay felt satisfying, movement felt smooth, and everything fit together nicely. My only complaint is that some sort of map would have been nice, as it's easy to backtrack accidentally if you're trying to explore the world a bit.

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Nice old school game ;) Enjoyed it ! But was starving a lot :D

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:01pm

I like what you have done here. Enemy pathfinding seemed a bit wonky, but it generally has a great style to it.

64Mega says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:42pm

@burgerdare:
Thank you! I've got a lot I want to do to with this game, and a map is one of them!

@Lvyn:
Yeah, there's a bug with the food where it runs negative if you're starving and makes it really hard to get back to a decent level of food again. Thanks for playing!

@rustybroomhandle:
Haha, you caught me out.
I didn't quite have the time to implement A* pathfinding (Though it doesn't take long to do); decided to spend the time making some music instead, and reserve that for a "1.1" release. :P

SpectreNectar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:44am

Score(s)
10150
14653
51577
Seems they are added together when you start over :p
Much like how you start in the dark world on second run.

I really liked this. And I hope to see a sequel sometime. It just needs a little more. The map repeats itself, right?

64Mega says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:52am

Yeah, that looks like another bug to squash :P

And yes, the map does repeat itself. It's a fixed size, and hand-designed. I want to add larger maps that will be procedurally generated with a later release.
Thanks for playing!

Hempuli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Really neat! I love the art and the music, and the gameplay is very slick. I was a bit saddened to find that the area loops and there's no goal to speak of, especially considering that it's pretty easy to never die just by running away. Still, a very very solid entry! I wish the enemies were a bit weaker, because I seldom felt attacking them was a better option than just running.

A couple bugs:
- The enemies in the dark world tend to get stuck inside walls
- I can hear enemies out of the screen shooting; this got pretty distracting in the dark world
- Google Chrome marked the game as malware; however, virustotal.com gave me 0/55 warnings.

64Mega says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:18pm

@Hempuli:
Thanks for playing!
Something I forgot was to disable enemies that were off-screen in the Dark World, so they continue to attempt to fire at the player.
Thanks for the suggestions, I'll take them into account!

Chrome depends on your AV to scan downloaded files, and some AVs are more notorious than others for picking up false positives in Game Maker games.
Thanks for mentioning it, though! (And double checking)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:15am

I really like the concept of this, and it's pretty fun to play for a while! Very easy, though. Is the starvation mechanic working as intended? I didn't notice my health ticking down.

64Mega says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:24am

@veryfinestlions:
There is a bug that triggers when you have certain values of food and run down to zero that prevents the starvation mechanic from working.
Normally, it'll drain a bar of health per hunger tick.
Thanks for playing!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]