Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Ghosts You Left Me

by CptDustmite - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-----

ABOUT:

This is my first Ludum Dare entry. As expected I didn't make a full game but rather more like an intro to a longer game. The gameplay is quite limited, but I thought the idea of collecting memories was one that complemented the general storyline nicely whilst still providing a simple gameplay mechanic.

My goals were to achieve good mood, visuals and immersion, and I'm fairly happy with how it turned out. I would definitely be keen on continuing the game.

-----

CONTROLS:

- WASD/arrow keys to move

- Hold right mouse button to look around

-----

HINTS:

- In hindsight one of the bits of audio is a little hard to understand, I went overboard distorting it... if you get stuck it says your stuff is in Locker 3 lol :P

- The last memory is not in the first room

-----

THANKS TO:

- My amazing fiancé Daniel for providing voice acting (the [real] coughing and breathing, the message voice)

- My boss Doug for letting me bring my work computer home which was a lot more convenient than using my laptop

-----

TOOLS USED:

- Engine: Unity

- 3D: 3ds Max

- Graphics: Photoshop

- Audio editing: Audacity

- Audio sources: voice acting, text-to-speech, and recording various noises around my house (very funny!! - the noise of the cryo pod is mostly my kettle starting up, and the cryo pod opening is my mum's car boot opening)

-----

THINGS REMOVED FROM SOURCE:

- The main font used (it's a commercial one I purchased)

- All the old versioned 3D/audio files/etc.

- Anything not used in the final build

-----

TIME SPENT (ROUGHLY):

- 3D modelling: 4 hours

- Unity (lighting, particles, materials, putting scripts/models in), QA: 5 hours

- Animations: 1 hour

- Programming & QA: 2 hours

- Graphics: 1.5 hours

- Audio recording and editing: 3.5 hours

TOTAL: 17 hours

-----

I'll try to put up a postmortem in the next few days.

TIMELAPSE: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/25/timelapse-the-ghosts-you-left-me/

Hope you enjoy the experience :)

- Camille

-----

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#35Graphics4.29
#38Mood3.96
#54Audio3.76
#486Overall3.28
#866Humor1.82
#914Innovation2.67
#942Theme2.61
#1003Fun2.49

Comments

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:18pm

In hindsight one of the bits of audio is a little hard to understand, I went overboard distorting it... if you get stuck it says your stuff is in Locker 3 lol :P

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Strange oppresive atmosphere and pure design. Well done ++

Krimble says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32am

Awesome Graphics, Nice audio, short as of time constraints. Nice work :)

IgIzzy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:41am

This looks great! I see what you mean by it being an intro for a much larger game, but who knows perhaps its something you finish up one day...Great Job!

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:18am

Well very good work , nice voice acting and art :D

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28am

Great atmosphere in the intro.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28am

Great begining, Amazing sounds and graphics. Why do you have to press RMB to look around? this is quite frustrating. But all in all I'm really impressed. Great job!

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Thanks everyone! @nonetheless, I too hate holding the right mouse button however in the web player it's a bit more complex to have the looking as a toggled feature because of various issues (losing focus of window, etc.). I unfortunately I didn't have time to make it work so I just stuck with a quicker solution. I'd definitely avoid the RMB holding if I had more time :)

chriskdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Really loved the intro and the overall atmosphere, voice acting and sounds! Isadly didn't manage to collect all 4 memories :/

nosfer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29pm

nice atmoshpere and great graphics (especially filters at the beginning). I hope to see full version ;)

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29pm

You reached your goals ! 5/5 gfx & audio & mood

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Yeah, keep going with this! It certainly seems like you know where you want to point it given more time.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:30pm

The time-lapse is so cool!

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Graphics, Audio and Mood were pretty damn nice :P

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51pm

wow looks really good

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Excellent mood. The beginning was really awesome.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Best intro so far

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Really enjoyed it. Very short, but very polished. I was enticed by the story and very disappointed when it said "To be continued". Click on the "to be continued" forces the transition to start, tiny bug and probably a super easy fix. I'd like to see more. Wasn't sure how it related to the theme.

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:34am

The intro was really cool. :)

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:04am

Thanks all for your positive feedback, as well as your constructive feedback! Definitely would like to continue it.

With regards to the theme, the idea was worlds connected through time - i.e. the past and current, through the cryonic sleep.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Yay for particle effects! Really loved the design of your 3D models. Very classy! Sneaky way of avoiding opening a door, but I can dig it. =) Would love to see more of it (although with slightly clearer voice samples...!).

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:15am

very interesting intro of sorts! professional and polished! alas, not much of a game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Wow! That intro! Best mood so far.

sekaru says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Great attention to detail, art design and atmosphere. However it's severely lacking in terms of gameplay.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Really nice game. Impressive as fuck. I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/KmqpyEAAVGM

Slikker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Hey man. awesome game. :) well done. I also went for a game with a good graphic style much like this.. well done.

reheated says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:20pm

The sound, the graphics and the newspaper writing do a great job of setting a dark mood. I wish it was longer - such a good start to a game. (Also: you did an especially good job of the cryo pod sounds.)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:59am

Wow, really cool game. The looking around mechanic felt weird at first but works really well once you get used to it. 5 points for mood :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:02am

Neat idea, and really liked the cinematic starting. Well done. :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:04am

Hi there. Love the wakeup sequence. The movement around is nice and smooth. Really good audio. Good job, great mood!

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:37am

There's a lot of potential here. Art looks great, the little introduction at the beginning is very well done and the sound is also top notch. The fact that the whole thing is basically a very short intro for something bigger is what drags the score down quite a bit for me. I wouldn't feel comfortable giving this a full score when there's next to nothing to do here.

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:18am

I wanted to see what was outside the door! :) As others have said, the intro was very cool. I would personally ditch the 'RMB to look around' thing in favour of mouselook being on by default, which is more common. You could still interact with objects by looking directly at them. Also, some mechanical hum or rumble in the background would have added a lot to the already impressive mood. Really great work for the 48 hours! Well done.

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:06am

Impressive graphics for a solo entry, was there a 4th memory to collect?

Bognet Team says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:54pm

For a first Ludum Dare this game looks really good, I wish to see it on Steam sometime in the future. The only thing I can complain about are the recordings as I cannot really understand them, maybe some subtitles in the future may help. Good job with this anyway!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Very atmospheric

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]