Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

GalactiTrader

by recursor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You were born to be a planetary resources trader. At least that's what your mom says. In any case, you have been given the chance of a lifetime. Planetary governments trade because they need to but also because it gets them the one thing all leaders want - influence. You have been granted 1 trade lane per planet so use it wisely and increase you influence. Obtain the most influence in a system and your planet wins. Yay planet!

Instructions:

Each planet you trade with can either grant you influence (which is good) or an influence multiplier (which is also good). Your planet is easily identifiable as it is the one with a light halo around it. All planets initially show 2 colors. Those two colors represent what that planet's needs are. Satisfying YOUR planet's needs will grant you trade multipliers. Satisfying other planet's needs will grant you influence. Each resource has its own influence score that can be achieved when you have it and supply it to another planet. Your influence multiplier is either 1x, 2x (if you have only 1 need), or 3x (if you have no needs).

There are 5 resources:

Energy = yellow (1 pt)
Minerals = Gray (1 pt)
Water = Blue (2 pts)
Food = Green (2 pts)
Technology = orange (1 pt)

Hints:
- Rival planets will try to supply their needs first.
- Rival planets will not initiate a trade with you.
- Rival planets have a limited trading radius. Use X or mousewheel to see their allowed trade routes.
- If you have an outgoing trade route to another planet and that planet has one or more outgoing trade routes to other planets, you will get half of the influence points for those trade routes. Think of it as secondary influence points.


Controls:
WASD - Move Camera
Q/E - Camera Up/Down
X or mousewheel - show possible trade routes for a highlighted planet or your planet.
Left mouse - Select planet to trade with
Right mouse - Zoom camera to the selected planet
Right mouse + drag - Move camera
ScrollWheel - Zoom in/out
M - Mute music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#329Graphics3.47
#360Innovation3.42
#403Theme3.44
#416Audio2.93
#429Mood3.14
#471Overall3.29
#699Fun2.88
#886Humor1.76

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:54am

A bit hard to understand it all, but more points for not using the default Unity page :)

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Nice concept and interesting game play! I'm real bad at it though xD I keep losing all the time :c

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Nice puzzle elements.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:38pm

this game is realy hard to understand, so the tutorial is neded

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Oh man, before watching your youtube video explaining things I was completely lost. I've got it now, but I still struggle to predict how much influence I will gain from a trade. Still a nice concept.

mihaivdev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Very original entry. Great mood and take on the theme. Too bad I'm fairly impatient (and not very good) with puzzle games, especially when numbers are involved :P. Anyway, great entry overalll, good luck!

vinull says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Very nice - had to watch the tutorial to figure out what was going on but after that I was taking fool's resources in no time :) I got up to around 120 influence. Also, this is probably the most literal use of the theme I've seen so far!

Hempuli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:04am

Very beautiful. The concept is cool, but it's a bit awkward that the game needs a separate tutorial video to be played. After I beat the first few levels by trial and error, I understood the logic, and I think that it's easier to understand how the game works in systems with more planets, because in smaller systems you have very few choices and the other planets are more passive. A really interesting take on the theme and I like your implementation of a trading system - maybe couple it with space exploration?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Ohh, this is lovely! The entire things "feels" good, from the interface to the clunky sounds :)

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Nice concept but the systems are pretty opaque. Had to read the instructions a couple times to get it. Would be good to have an estimated influence for each trade option (with the current trade routes) to inform you of your choices better. Maybe a break down of the points system when you mouse over a planet.

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:05pm

@mechabit: I like that Idea thanks.

Josh H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:24pm

I enjoyed the aesthetics of this game. It was a nice, calm relaxing experience. Well done!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Cool concepts, glad that there's a how to play video otherwise I would have been completely lost. Solid feel when making connections. Great work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:25am

Cool game, nice use of the theme. Controls were a bit tricky to understand at first, but once got the hang of it was ok. Hard game tho. Nice job.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:45am

Hi there. Like the ambition and your user interface. Seems that the game runs a bit quickly on each level after you make your first decision to trade - this seems to mean outcome is all on the first or perhaps first two decisions. At least on the early levels. Shame no sound. Good job!2

recursor says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:00pm

@mrexcessive: That i odd that you didn't hear any sound since there is doing in the game. Which browser did you use?

arhpositive says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Solid entry. It took a while to figure things out but the gameplay was fun afterwards.

However, after some point in my game, it felt like I was winning all the time and the AI was not keeping up, although this can be based on the fact that this is a game developed in two days.

Anyway, the game is fun and gets you in the mood. Keep working on it as I believe you have some potential on this one.

t4u says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:48am

Too difficult to understand.

BloodJohn says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 7:40am

interesting puzzle.
interface/infographic need to rework.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]