Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

CandyWorm

by midgard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CandyWorm is a time-attack game, this means you'll need to keep being fast while eating candy to summon a portal to the other world, if not, the current world will enter in an appocalypse state and will erase you from the history.

Eat candy and take portals, what can be MORE fun than this?

Features two worlds, a pink-ambiented one where you start that is slighty easy than the ice one, that's got lava holes for you to fall down! The original idea would have a whole Universe to eat candy from, but yeah, LudumDare is about the time, so here it is.

CONTROLS:
Keyboard: Left and Right arrow keys to strafe with the CandyWorm. S to JUMP and D to DASH, H to toggle Candy positioning on screen.
Joysitck/Gamepad (x360): Left Analog to strafe, A to jump, B to dash, Y to toggle Candy positioning on screen.

If you have FEEDBACK or COMMENTS to give, please post below or contact me at mail.midgard@gmail.com! I really appreciate every play!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#430Humor2.52
#749Fun2.83
#784Innovation2.85
#799Graphics2.72
#817Mood2.69
#843Audio2.13
#887Overall2.87
#1056Theme2.33

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:52am

The mixture of pixel-art and 3D doesn't look so great, but this game differs from others, so that's good :)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:05am

Great Game.

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:06am

I enjoyed this one! Wasnt sure exactly the game rules, but control was floaty and fun. I like the style - Proteus meets Snake?

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:07am

Hehe, I couldn't find the portal! Fun game though.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09am

Good fun, and a unique idea. Well done!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:10am

i couldn't pass the first level :(

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:21am

Quite unique! I sucked horribly at the controls though lol.

muriel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28am

It's a good game you should probably try to adapt it to play it in a tablet or something like that.
I can imagine myself playing it while I'm waiting into the station :)

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:35am

unique idea

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:39am

Fun and speedy game, nice work!

nosfer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Quite hard to steer but maybe that's just me ;). Graphics remind me first 3d games for PS1. Also reminds me Nano Assault Neo for Wii U.

frogalicious says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:34pm

I loved the idea but I couldn't find the portal!

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Hey there, thanks everyone for playing and for providing feedback!

Be sure to remind where you started so you cand find the portal when you eat every candy, at the start, and when you switch worlds, you start where the portals are. So keep that in mind!

Also, there's a persistent portal icon that appears when you face the right direction where the portal is.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:38pm

I'm not sure what to do, but I enjoyed it anyway :D

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

nice one!

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Hard controlling, but it makes game much more better, very well done.

xrm0 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Good

LuisDC says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:04am

I am a terrible player but the game is really cool. Awesome physics and fun.

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Good job in 48h compo. Controls are a bit tough.

PeerPlay says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:37am

Controls were abit hard, but it's a fun complete game.

Tomker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Awesome, nice graphic style. Also fun.

joseadrian says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:25am

well done! I managed to master it! haha

jimmypaulin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:40pm

I really love the art style, the music is cool and controls feel really tight, I like the dramatic progression throughout the game, some sfx would have been brilliant but you've made a cool little game here

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Hi there. The graphics and animations are great, but for me there's something wrong with the left/right turning (keyboard/Web/Chrome/W8.1) - it's too quick and you end up missing things, or going round in circle. Good job overall!

PixelArtM says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Good work! ;)

pythong says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:15am

i think the black death-text was hard to read in the world with the brown ground

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]