Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Asylum

by samooJAM - Jam Entry

Find your way out or stay in the asylum forever.

WALKTHROUGH:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/k1jl2nj8ocinwiu/walkthrough.txt?dl=0

CREDITS:
Simple human (statue) by Neyen http://www.blendswap.com/blends/view/54875
Pool table by Smitty703 http://www.blendswap.com/blends/view/66442
Horse by visnik http://www.blendswap.com/blends/view/18808
Arrow symbols by Savino http://opengameart.org/content/arrow-symbols
Low poly rubber duck by KrossX http://www.blendswap.com/blends/view/73156
Foot steps by soaper http://freesound.org/people/soaper/sounds/71698/
Eurofurence font by Tobias Benjamin Koehler http://www.dafont.com/eurofurence.font

TECH INFO:
Unity3D
Blender
Archimesh (a blender architecture addon)
Audacity (soundtrack)
Lux (physically based shaders)
NeoTextureEdit (I created all the textures with this)

POST-MORTEM:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/30/the-asylum-the-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#113Mood(Jam)3.68
#244Theme(Jam)3.47
#303Innovation(Jam)3.17
#350Graphics(Jam)3.47
#397Humor(Jam)2.39
#421Audio(Jam)2.96
#469Overall(Jam)3.10
#587Fun(Jam)2.66

Comments

TomTheG says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51pm

I like the environments very much. I just couldn't figure out what to do. I did pick up the duck though.

PixelMind says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Nice mood but I couldn't get out :)

gwa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Cool Graphics!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Just insane. Started to lose my mind... O=)

hogtrick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Nice mood. Graphics was a pretty too much for my laptop though. After a few roms lag was too high.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Huh, this is very similar to the game I made for LD 28. Nice!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Great atmosphere outside the windows!

Maxom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:00pm

I managed to get out! And cool horse-statues of course!

Freudian says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:28pm

great idea, i couldn't figure out the algorithms though. i got as far as seeing one arrow that i followed until a horse shit me up.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Couldn't find the exit too... Found a horse, a reverse horse, but then i returned to the beginning and couldn't come back.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:37am

Great game!
I like it, and i like how trippy and creepy it is too!
Is there an ending?

The game was simple and I liked the little interactions in there, it felt like an experience, and it was a good one, the graphics were also pretty amazing and the environments look great. I especially love the mood this game has.

Mase says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:56am

I wandered around for a while... the varied landscapes outside each window are great.

Eventually I became frustrated enough to draw a map and escaped. I then climbed the plateau (because it was there) and, tiring of that, found the edge of the world.

It might be nice if there were more moveable objects; so that the player could use them to indicate which door is correct.

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:59am

Found the exit. It could improve by having more clues on which door to go next, instead of relying luck. The atmosphere is great, and the horse is very creepy.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Huh. No idea why this is called Asylum. There seem to be no clues to aid in escaping and looking at the solution seems to suggest the appropriate route is entirely random. Some nice work with the doors and mixing up the rooms but I'm not sure where you're going with the shaders and wallpaper. Nonetheless - that's a fair amount of content to make for three days! Nice job. =)

Moosefly says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Just as I was thinking that it might be better if I stay I happen to find the way out! And then I jumped into the void :P. Cool surrealistic non-euclidian walking simulator. Like @Mase mentioned, movable objects might be nice for marking the route. Or maybe the player could drop something akin to the story of Hansel and Gretel. The clue in the bookcase was also nice, maybe more of those?

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Ted Brown says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:31am

Good concept, strong presentation, but not enough clues to be a game as opposed to a mapping exercise.

Follett says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:31am

Very nice game. The transitions were nice.

elefantopia says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:31am

Amazing environment and textures in each room. It's a creepy puzzle, I couldn't get out. I liked exploring the rooms though. What's with the eyeless rubber duck?

samooJAM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:00pm

@elefantopia and the eyeless horse :), just a coincidence.
I wrote a post-mortem http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/08/30/the-asylum-the-post-mortem/

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Got to the end woo! Very thought provoking, you need a good memory to effectively reach the end.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Hi there. Found around 12 rooms I think. Maze of twisty little passages, all the same. It felt to me that you need more puzzles or things to do in the rooms. Getting pulled through the doors is frustrating after a while... have to redo so much walking around to get back to room before the one you were in... Good job on the implementation!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Very cool idea, I like a lot the surreal atmosphere and I found the way out without much trouble. Good job.

rantt says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:07pm

I like the feel of this game, felt kind of claustrophobic after a few rooms...lol. Only problem I ran into was it started to lag out on me after after a bunch of rooms.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I enjoyed this. It was pretty frustrating though. I liked picking up the duck and messing with the pool table, unfortunately I lost both sticks by dropping them through the floor.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]