Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Galaxy United

by MarekkPie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Galaxy United:

Heavily-inspired by Lost Vikings.

Click on any of the planets or connections to choose a level.

You move with WASD.

Each character has a special power:

Foo - can become small (Spacebar)
Bar - can punch things (Spacebar)
Baz - can run fast (Spacebar, and unlocks jumping with W)

Press 1, 2, or 3 to switch between characters.

Complete each level by making it to the exit.

Made with LOVE 0.9.1.

Windows: extract the zip file and double click the executable.

All others: You must have LOVE 0.9.1 (http://www.love2d.org/) installed to play the game. Then, get the LOVE file, and double click it.

# NOTE: Fixed error with levels not changing to only require the currently available characters on the exit to complete.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#595Humor2.26
#798Theme2.88
#825Fun2.73
#867Innovation2.76
#873Mood2.62
#907Audio1.88
#1011Graphics2.33
#1079Overall2.57

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50am

The graphics could be improved, but I find this to be quite an innovative idea :)

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53am

Felt like movement and collisions were bugged. Good idea though.

Alaxe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:39pm

I really dislike being critical but the idea is a copy of Tomas was alone

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Interesting game.
Collision bug (slope)(Restart the game)
Nice animation/sprites graphics !

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49pm

@Alaxe: The idea is actually The Lost Vikings (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lost_Vikings).

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Nice shot. Even if the graphics could be improve, good game ! :)

lukz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Good idea, work some more on graphics part.

Capitals says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Quite a buggy game which meant I could not get the best Idea of how good it was. However I did like the idea!

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:18pm

@Capitals: You mind describing the bugs? I'm allowed to do bug fixes post submission.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Watched the stream, so it is fun to see the final product. I think that it turned out well, the concept is very nice and ties into the theme great.

Logan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:44am

A decent and proven idea, but the implementation needs a lot of work. The movement/control/platforming was fairly buggy, and I couldn't seem to clear a second level after finishing a first (like, the exit wouldn't work).

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:17am

How do you beat a level? Hitting the end switch doesn't seem to do anything.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:42am

@Robot Souls Games (and most other people with bug issues): There was a bug having to deal with the game not changing the required characters to who was currently on screen. I've uploaded a fix.

granut100 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:39am

Nice game :) One thing though is that I encountered a bug where you fall continuously forever.

steve says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Nice idea, the sprites remind me of MST3K for some reason! The game seems to error out when trying to travel to the red/green level.

whilefun says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:15am

Bummer, Love cannot create canvas because of my OpenGL implementation :( I am running win7 64 bit with an intel graphics card

pansapiens says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:23am

I liked the movement animations of the robots - very cute. The design of the central 'all three' level was solid too. The control scheme for Baz seemed a little weird though - probably just making W = Jump, without the unlocking would have worked better for me. I hit a few collision glitches too - managed to get Baz stuck beneath the ground :)

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:44pm

@steve: I'll take a look at that tonight.

@pansapiens: Most of the collision bugs I've found ended up relating to the lifts. Is that were you ran into the problem?

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:01pm

You totally nailed the "Lost Vikings" feel!
There are issues with collisions and platforms and the game crashed on me when I selected the middle-bottom level, though.

Level design is pretty solid and it could certainly benefit from a progression of sorts (where you are required to solve the levels that feature a single character first, then those with 2, and finally the one with the 3 of them).

Despite the issues, it's a really fun game! Kudos!

ZYXer says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Great puzzle game! Really like the difficulty and the different combinations of the three characters.

The controls of Baz are a bit hard to master. And the red/green connection level crashes on my computer:
src/states/levels/level.lua:131 : attempt to index field 'exit' (a nil value)

But otherwise a really good game, would have loved to play more levels.

jprogman says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:34pm

There seem to be only 6 playable worlds. The 7th one, represented by the gradient red to green bar, throws an error.
It's a nice idea, but the controls need to be more friendly. I don't like pressing both W and space to jump. :( Hopefully you can fix the bugs later on if you keep working on it. Nice work overall!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:44pm

I have to echo ZYXer - lower world doesn't work and the controls are a bit off. And my poor Foo got stuck in the brown center area in the last level :(

I like the idea and the robot designs though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]