Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Turtle Escape

by Transmit - Jam Entry

A casual entry this time around working with my girlfriend, made in probably about 15 hours of on and off work. Used HaxeFlixel, Photoshop, Ogmo Tilemap editor, and BFXR for sounds.

Controls are WASD or arrow keys, and the idea is to make it to the end of the level, avoiding the dangers, and then play through the level backwards in an alternate world full of ghost turtles! Collect as many coins as you can!

4 levels in total. Sorry for the poor ending!


Sorry Chrome users, web link was broken, hopefully fixed now!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#541Humor(Jam)1.97
#620Audio(Jam)1.93
#700Theme(Jam)2.14
#700Mood(Jam)2.03
#701Graphics(Jam)2.40
#735Fun(Jam)2.14
#755Innovation(Jam)1.84
#764Overall(Jam)2.34

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I lose for no perticular reason. Other than that its great!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I lose for no perticular reason. Other than that its good!

cstudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:24pm

the whole game is 100x100px on the top left in chrome.

Transmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Hey, sorry I'm unsure why :(! Try the web mirror, or the windows version please. It seems to be working fine on my computer (Story of my life)

Transmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Added a direct link to the .swf file, hopefully it will help

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Very small square in the top-left corner of the browser.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Pretty cool little game. I had some trouble with collisions: it felt like the turtle's collider was too big and I got stuck on walls. At first I wondered how this fit the theme but it has a fun twist. Good work!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Did I just play Cartman as a turtle? That's what it looks like to me. Nice game.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Had to make my browser to 400% to click on the play button., but after that it worked.

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35pm

The .swf definitely helps, you can't see the spikey things in the web version even when you zoom in to play, so I couldn't figure out why I kept dying. Nice simple game! (:

Transmit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Sorry, seems to be a problem with running it in chrome, removed that version for now. Will try to get it back up.

FXCesinha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Nice Fog!

nikki93 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Nice! The turtle animation is pretty cute and I found the game to be pretty funny in general. Some times the speed of the bullets is unpredictable though and the turtle could use a speedup, but I guess it's a turtle so it should be slow, haha.

Donutttt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Cool idea. Not sure I've ever played as a turtle before... it was fun!

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:06pm

The turtle was really cute. I liked how he waddled. It was very satisfying to be ghost turtle

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I like turtles! Nice job, was pretty fun.

Amvere says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:00am

I like the way the turtle waggles back and forth! I ended up beating the whole game.

S0rax says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:08am

The sound can kill myself, but the tileset and sprite are not bad. Nice entry !

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59am

collect as many coins as you can? why? what should a turtle do with coins :D ?

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:18am

Great game!

Transmit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:45am

@Pythong, Take his lady friend turtle out on a date.

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:50am

Interesting game, good job. :)

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:57am

Nice turtles!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:01am

I like turtles! ^^ Good job! :D

stvr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Adorable turtle! Pretty challenging.

gnx says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:41pm

First off I really like the visuals and the gameplay feel of the "alternate" world. The regular world gameplay is a bit too slow and also the hitboxes are a bit too unforgiving (you get killed by bullets you'd think wouldn't hit you).

Other than that it is a solid entry and the alternate world gameplay is great :)

ehtd says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Liked a lot more the fast world, fun game!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:44am

Nice game, could've done with some background music though.
~funkeh

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Hi there. Nice looking, movement slightly clunky, but found my way around. Sound a bit less than expected. Good job!

Ramiel says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Nice idea.
But sometimes the controls get stuck. I think it happens when you try to move diagonally, but I'm not sure about that.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Turtles are always welcome. Good effort for 15 hours of work. Well done!

Tex Killer says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:31am

What a cute little game! The gameplay is a little stiff, but I guess that was considered when designing the levels. Just kind of makes no sense that you go to the GHOST world when you DON'T die, but I guess that doesn't really matter. lol

By the way, I see that you tried to run my game last week, but couldn't. I've detected and fixed some memory errors, so you're welcome to come back and try again, if you like. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]