Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hypnagogia

by Cake&Code - Jam Entry

"Hypnagogia is the experience of the transitional state from wakefulness to
sleep: the hypnagogic state of consciousness."

Morgan is fighting to live, stricken by disease the battle is slowly being lost.
Can you help Morgan gain the mental fortitude needed to overcome the
overwhelming sickness?

You will have to fight the disease when delving into Morgan's unconscious mind,
and when awake you must choose what to spend your time on. Know that doing
things in the waking world will help you in the dream world.

---DETAILS---
Keyboard / Mouse compatible
3 Endings : Bad, Normal, Good
Specialized Journal/Phone dialogue options based on different emotional levels

---TEAM---
Zeik: Programming
Cake: Art

NOTE: Consider this more of a proof of concept / prototype than a full game.
We sort of ran low on time and couldn't finish everything we wanted to!
Hopefully it'll get the idea across :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#42Theme(Jam)3.97
#71Mood(Jam)3.83
#104Overall(Jam)3.68
#139Graphics(Jam)4.03
#151Innovation(Jam)3.50
#257Fun(Jam)3.25
#329Audio(Jam)3.19
#349Humor(Jam)2.49

Comments

LTPATS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50am

Great take on the theme! After beating the first boss and waking up for the first time, after I went back into the dream state I couldn't do anything. If I pressed the arrow keys it would show the description of each option, but I couldn't see the options on the right anymore, and I couldn't figure out how to select the options.

Aside from that, it's a very solid concept with good execution. I'd love to see this fleshed out more! Great job!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54am

I enjoyed this but the second time I went to sleep the game broke ant the buttons to move/heal etc were missing. However from what I saw this is a very good entry, I enjoyed the take on the theme and thought the method of leveling up was very clever.

vanmount says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:20am

Nice game. I can confirm the bug regarding not being able to move in the second dream state though.

Keep it coming, love your games.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24am

I loved this, but I also had the same bug as LTPATS and BoaHeck_ArtGent.

Kuupu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:59am

I love that game mechanics. I played a bit and chose to "wake up" option. After the game does not work anymore! I want to play it more ~~~~ :)

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18am

Whoops! Zeik here, sorry about that movement issue, it is fixed now :)

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:05am

Loved the clean stylish graphics

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:19am

Cute style! Though it felt a little strange to have this type of game without free movement.

JBM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:31am

I loved the execution of this! The take on the theme was quite moving:)

Artamus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:33am

Nice game, congrats.

oranebeast says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:36am

Fun game with intrestign game play and storyline. DAT FUNK THO

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:37am

Very polished all around. Cute graphics. Interesting controls for this gamestyle.

spotco says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:40am

I enjoyed the art style very much and the user interface was well designed.

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:05am

The most negative thing I can think of is that having to click 'move' and then the door every time is kind of tedious. It would be preferable to just click on each door directly.

And the music.. Maybe it's personal preference, but it seems quite repetitive, mostly due to the drum pattern. Something more low key would be nicer (in my opinion).

It would also be nice if you could see your attack/defense levels, not that it makes a practical difference I guess, but.. well, I can't explain that one.

Finally, I ran into a bug where I'd killed an enemy, but the battle menu was still up. So, I clicked attack again, and the menu disappeared and the regular one didn't come up, so I was stuck there.

Really good looking graphics, the enemy sprites in particular are pretty imaginative and unique, and the waking state room is nicely detailed.

The enemies moving down towards their health bar when healing like they're nudging it is a really nice touch, the kind of minor detail that really enhances a game I think.

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07am

This is a gorgeous game and so incredibly well polished. Good luck in the rankings, though I think you're gonna get a really high score :)

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46am

Cool game, fun, original and with some great art.

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14am

Nice audio, good art, fine idea.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

the concept was fine, but i think there were some bugs. I did the following: dream state: killed all monsters, but ran away from the king blob (no magic). awake: refilled health + magic, dream woke up directly, awake: stregnth + 3, dream woke up directly, strength + 3, dream woke up directly, strength + 3, dream woke up directly, strength + 3, back to game
1) the enemies couldn't damage me anymore
2) the game did not continue after a certain point. i wanted to move to another room, but the buttons disappeared and the player stood still :(

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30pm

@pythong: I think you got an older version from the server for some reason, that bug should have been fixed when the movement issue was fixed. If you'd clear your cache and try again it should be gone :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:53pm

A very novel approach to the theme. I like how Morgan's situation is the non-battle aspect wherein you would replenish and stuff.

I would like to see what the enemy is doing or casting. A message that says "Enemy casts shield" helps clarify what's going on.

Good job on this one!

Stals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Really nice entry, but i think the "Move" button is not really needed, it is just an extra thing you need to do every time. Just fading in the arrows (and allowing to also click on the doors directly) would have solved the issue. Other than that - great job!

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:31pm

The move state exists because the entire game is playable with just a mouse or just a keyboard. It was a compromise to make it feasible with keyboard controls... in hindsight, making the arrows always be present for mouse users would have been a good idea.

You live and you learn! Thanks for all the comments everyone :)

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Great little piece. I'm always impressed by this team's visual quality and consistency. Shame it doesn't have much depth. Fleshing out the life of Morgan would make this game. I think you could even fit in some VN-style gameplay to the wake state.

Nitpicks:

- The control scheme for the dream state is a bit meh. The graphic style for the dream state reminds me of The Binding of Isaac -- maybe its movement/combat style would fit here as well.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08pm

The game is really good. Nicely polished. And graphics are very sweet, I liked 20-sided dice monster especially :D The only thing is that it is very repetitive. If you would add more of a story or different content like that, it would be awesome. Good luck!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:11am

Wow, neat concept... wish no mouse was required tho...

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:44am

@jomomomo no mouse is required! the entire game can be played with the arrow keys and Enter :)

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Very repetitive game, but niece graphics.

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:46am

Excellent idea & execution. Probably with more variation and rooms types this could be an very interesting roguelike.

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:12am

Really nice use of theme and streamlined controls. Great job!

Ditto says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:33pm

The gameplay is a bit on the slowside and I don't really get why the "move" button is needed, but graphics and music are both great, and it brings a very different feeling to healing in between gameplay! Good game overall!

Ogniok says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:14pm

This "prototype" is better than many games I had played before. Even if you haven't managed to finish everything it's very polished game and sad if you finish with bad ending…

Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

I like the concept. The dungeon part was a bit slow to me, maybe some action would be good.
The graphics are superb as all your games.

pansapiens says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

Wonderful graphics, nicely crafted mood and exceptionally well written. Don't ask me why but I'm in love with the look of those health bars !(??) The dreamstate gameplay got a little tedious after a while since I didn't find it especially challenging, and there weren't many 'interesting decisions' to be made during combat, but it was worth it to progress the story.

leafarz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:05pm

lol didn't expect this game to be turn based but a very good game still!
great mechanics and pretty much a solid game. and yeah as everyone said, awesome visuals you have here!
good job!

GFM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Great graphics, as always. =D

I really liked your game, and was able to get the bad and normal ending... I may try again later for the good ending. :)

Probably what I liked the most in this game is the fact that each day you get a different phone call and journal, and that the story is told through those. It's a really nice touch. :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Hi there. Got the "lot of time in hospital bed" ending. Great look and feel. Liked the music. Good clean interface, doors staying open, monsters consistent weaknesses etc. Liked the hospital awake-time interface also. Good job!

Exeneva says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:26pm

An interesting take on the theme overall. I liked the graphics and the audio was fitting. I do think the gameplay got a bit repetitive, specifically the battles, and the difficulty felt incredibly easy. I would love to see this turned into a full game, with events in the dreamworld affecting things in the real world!

Dohan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:01am

Interesting concept for a dungeon crawler. I think I got the good ending :)

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Wow, this is incredibly polished! Once you get going staying better than competitive with your stats is easy enough, and the incidental dialogue is really cute. I don't think I could bear to get a bad ending in this game!

ClownAround says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:40am

Very good game. Dungeon and combat was well constructed. Great concept. Taken all the way, this could be a fantastic game.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:53am

Pretty art.

PixlWalkr says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:44am

A good and complex game for 72hours!, Gameplay is neat. Pretty art also :)

Sunflower says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:48pm

I guess this game would be another of my personal favourites. Interesting idea, well-executed, seems rather complete. I'd like to have some sort of minimap added, maybe, and make it so that if all enemies are defeated the main character automatically enters awake state (in one dungeon I'm pretty sure I explored every room possible and didn't reach the awake state; didn't get a boss, either)? Another thing would be making walking buttons permanently visible, rather than making the player use "Move > direction" combination all the time (it's not like the buttons would interfere, anyway, I suppose)?

And yes, the soundtrack in dungeon is getting weary rather quickly; I don't know why, but it started to annoy me after a few loops. I suggest replacing it with something else, possibly longer so it wouldn't loop as often. >.<

It wasn't particularly difficult, but it doesn't need to be; if someone prefers greater challenge, maybe make more difficulty levels for them, but I personally don't think it's a game that needs to be hard. ^^"

Also, it seems I managed to get a good ending, though it wasn't named explicitly. But it looked good. Yay~!

WetDesertRock says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 9:20pm

I liked it.

The art was wonderful, I really like the styles you bring to the board. Also would like to acknowledge the reference to a virus as an enemy.

Gameplay is what I think I have the most to say about. I was always a bit lost about what I was doing. Perhaps this was the mood you were going for, but I think its the wrong mood to ever go for. Its okay to be lost knowing that its alright to not know everything, but in this game I wasn't sure if I was missing anything important. Perhaps you should've had a goal to find in each dungeon, or explained the dungeon crawling mechanic more. The enemies were too easy for me to beat, so I wasn't sure of their purpose.

The music as many other people mentioned got repetitive. The most simple solution is to create a track around 3 minutes long (if not longer), and have several melodies inside the track. Strong rhythmic repetition can also tire out the ear, so if you have a strong rhythm (like the dungeon), switch it up. One idea on how you can do that is to switch from doing 4/4 to 3/4 or something like that. Even then make sure it isn't getting too repetitive.

01101101 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:54am

Nice game mechanics. Original take. good job

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:00am

Quite similar take on the theme as we did, hence definitely original! But you managed to get more done. Three different endings, very impressive. Amazing job!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Obviously awesome art. It all gels together well.
Nice, noticeable difference between real and dream art direction.

Kudos on using simple design in the dream world to maximize number of assets, while still keeping an aesthetically pleasing experience.

Both jammers held their wait and made something amazing.

Gender nonspecific language, which is cool, and I understand how hard it is. Wish there was a standard naming convention already. I see you choose the smoothest sounding one “Their”

Cool upbeat dungeon music.

Did not get to hear the hospital music again to think on that.

Most of my negative critiques comes from the limitations of a jam game, and is accompanied with the understanding that a polished game jam is not always better than one where you push yourself to add ideas, and prototype mechanics. The judgment belongs to players and creators based on their own edification.

Second day there was no boss and exit room. Refreshed the game, and the first time I entered the dungeon there was no boss or exit room. Not sure if the game auto saved to day 2 or the procedurally generation sometimes does not add the boss. Also kudos, as I think this game is procedurally generated…not sure though.

No challenge.

This could be a swank tablet game.

local minimum says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Nice game! I even made it through winning against the dual sword guy. Rare thing to actually play a LD-entry to the end. The germ-looking enemies were my favorite and if anything, having the entire setting of the sleep-mode be more disease-themed would have been great.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 5:53am

I love the idea of your game and the way you took the theme :D ! The combat system was too poor though and I didn't feel like these combat choices were important.

Music and graphics were very nice, good job :) !

JangoBrick says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:30am

This is a beautiful game. The music is nice, the graphics are great, and the overall concept + execution could not be much better. Nicely done!

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:16am

Very good job! Defeating the disease creatures was kind of easy, but the art and story line were pretty good! And overall I really liked the game!

Lars Faust says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:37am

Extremely interesting game.
I was impressed how well balanced it was.

Sadly, when i entered my third dungeon, i think it bugged out a bit. I could take no damage from normal mobs anymore, only the boss could do tiny amounts of damage to me. And that without me ever choosing the "defense" bonus in the awake-state.

Still, one of the more outstanding entries ive seen.

Posva says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:38pm

This is great. I really enjoyed the game, the message at the end and the graphics, oh my, they looks so good!
However I was missing some minimap and some shortcuts to do actions instead of clicking. Also I found it too short :(
The game is polished thought and to reiterate: good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]