Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connect the worlds, rule the universe

by Markavian - Jam Entry

Connect the worlds, rule the universe is a deck building 4x space adventure game for 2-6 players. Each player acts as a commander for the military arm of their civilisation, aiming to expand their influence and take over the known universe

The interactive version of this isn't finished, so instead I'm publishing the board game version of this as a printable set of Rules, Counters and Cards.

I'm not sure how many people actually want to play this, but if you have any questions hit me up.

Twitter: http://twitter.com/Markavian

I spent an extra half day on the web/PC version, but its still a long way to be finished. Will continue to update it, for those interested. I understand that's not in the spirit of the competition, but I'm still having fun making this game :) thanks for the inspiration LD30.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#353Overall(Jam)3.27
#455Graphics(Jam)3.20
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

Markavian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:06am

Most of the first day was spent figuring rules and mechanics, and making art assets. If you look at the web preview you can see what I was going for in a PC version of the game.

Check out the rulebook, and download the printables. If you have a rainy afternoon maybe print them out and have a play. I'll be working on the PC version in my spare time since I'm quite keen to get the engine up and running.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:07pm

yea, should have read the rule book. bookmarked this, will try it over the weekend with some friends if they are game

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Looks interesting. Ask me if you want that printed professionally, since I'm a boardgames-producer.

Markavian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Hey yodamaster, I'd be interested in that. I might want to touch up the graphics before I went to print, but I'd be interested in pricing, etc. Send me an email games@mkv25.net!

A333 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:14pm

I would really like to play a PC game. Not so much friends around i could play board games with.
Do you plan to finish it or you will concentrate on a board version?

Markavian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:58pm

@A333, definitely going to finish the PC version. Been working on it all this evening.

Still lots to do, as is the case when you spend an entire day writing a rule book...

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37pm

I feel silly now, I thought the interactive version was done. >.< Spent 10 minutes trying to place cards and reading the rules. I might give this ago this weekend when I'm back at my house. Looks good. When the interactive version is done I'll rate that.

snowconesolid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:07am

Didn't know it was a multiplayer game. I gotta get some friends to play it with me. I think its pretty well done and polished. Graphics look clean and crips. Nice work!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:15am

Very good work using cards.
I'm a magic the gathering player myself.
So this was a nice little touch...

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Hi there. Looks interesting. We play quite a lot of board games, not so much the deck-builders. Good job producing this for LD !

Markavian says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Update -- I'm way beyond the 72 hours now, having spent most evenings this week working on it, but the web preview is playable to the point where you can destroy units and capture bases. The only feature missing from the rule book now is portals.

Tanser says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:40am

I like the idea, good job.

Xentira says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:44am

Looks really nice. WiIl have to keep an eye on your page to see how progress moves along :)

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:09pm

This is a really cool idea. I will be trying this out over the weekend. Way to go outside the box! :)

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:34pm

There is nothing wrong with continuing to develop an LD game! Just make sure you preserve the original game for people to know what you made during the competition itself and mark the further developed version as post-compo or something.

In fact, finishing a game you started during LD is wonderful! :)

torvik88 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Wow this game took me by surprise, very nicely done. Also a fan of mtg and the addition of cards was a nice touch.

defacid says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:16am

After playing my own entry via web for a bit I realized why you guys are so confused about the aiming - the laser isn't being drawn in the web version! I am going to look into whether or not I'm allowed to fix that (which I should be since it's a port and I'm not modifying the gameplay from the original.)

I will get to playing and commenting on the games from the most recent commenters in a bit.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]