Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 30

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Racer Death Derby - Datamosh - Jam Entry

In the year 198X, mercenary racers form the future took our girls. Dr. Brown, sends Cole Driver -a rebel mercenary- to save them...

Hop into a modified Delorean, and use W,A,S,D (or arrow keys) and mouse to race... and survive.


===============
NOTES
===============

The game has no sound and no music. Didn't make it on time.
The UI/HUD needs more work.

But we are happy with the result! Please leave us your feedback!

View Datamosh's journal. | View all entries by Datamosh

Ratings

#113Graphics(Jam)4.13
#129Fun(Jam)3.53
#353Overall(Jam)3.27
#554Innovation(Jam)2.73
#738Theme(Jam)1.87
#1985Coolness20%

Comments

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37am

Great game actually! Really fun to play but obviously needs sound effects and music (As you said) Also, the insults are pretty funny!

psychonull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Neat graphics. The backstory and humor are great.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Whoa, that's some crazy drifting :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Hi there. Looks really good, plays/controls nicely. Found it tricky to find anything to kill after first 2 car enemies.

Silii says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Nice, Intro, graphics, good job. :)

Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Love the theme use, really lovely looking and fun game, but I always seemed to get to a point where no cars would appear to be find-able, which is a shame, cause I was loving it!

lowcade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Wow! Nice game! I love the humor and graphics. Congrats!

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Really fun game! Love the intro, the controls of the car and the overall atmosphere of the game. Fantastic job!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Graphics are great and was fun to drive around and listen to the insults.

snooze82 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:22pm

great game, i love the gfx :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]