Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planetary Replan

by handCraftedRadio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is 2 player hotseat only!

---Description-----

Earth and Mars have collided! Both Earthlings and Martians want to reconstruct the remains of the planet into their own. Play this head to head competitive game to see which species succeeds!

---Instructions-----

This game is 2 player only. One player plays as the Earthlings and one player plays as the Martians.

The team with the most population at the end wins.

Gain population by having cities in your color. Each building is worth 1 population.

Take over land by having a stronger military force on the connected land.

You can see the military force by the number of purple boxes on the bottom of the tile.

After every tile is placed the game ends.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#148Fun3.60
#224Innovation3.60
#233Theme3.69
#256Overall3.52
#349Humor2.68
#389Graphics3.36
#429Mood3.14
#560Audio2.71
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26am

Played it with a co-worker! I like the idea and would love to see a single player version with AI. best of luck o/

seantheartist says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:00am

Great start, the game has a really nice feel and a lot of potential!

Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Great game, played it with a friend.
It has some weird quirks, like at one point a building just closed in on itself. It also seemed to rely a bit much on who got the most military power - maybe more cards at a time would help?

But all in all, we had a lot of fun playing the game, it really felt like a tense battle :D

Joror says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Nice little strategy game. Played it with myself, not that many two-player reviewers out there. ;) Would be better if the shapes of the lands were somehow predictable? Now it is pretty random to make connections or not.

3CGames says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Excellent game! Felt a bit like carcassonne. Had a small bug with two connected regions with military not fighting but great overall.

jprogman says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:31pm

I couldn't get another player, but I like the concept. I sort of got the idea for how the game is played, but I need to keep trying it and learn. Pretty nice work you got there.

Shivur says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:02am

Very good game! Wish we can play against a computer.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:48am

Truly nice game, good job :) !

Tommislav says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Had a lot of fun playing this with a co-worker. Well done!

dancingmad says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Excellent concept and realisation !

fisholith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Very cool. :D

Simple and elegant mechanics. I love tabletop games, and this is one of those games that makes great use of tabletop-style mechanics mixed with a computer's ability to instantly calculate the game-wide situation.

It has a Carcassonne-ish feel, though now I honestly wish Carcassonne had the theme you created for this game. The colliding Earth and Mars concept is great, and it makes for a nice color scheme, as well as a thematic reason for the colors. :)

klianc09 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:19pm

This has actually more depth to it than I thought at first. I like the aestethics and the strategy involved.
An AI would have been great, though.

Only problem is, when everything turns into one giant landmass, then it's just about who gets the most military.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:35am

Hi there, I put this game on my recommendation list for this LD: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/09/13/5-1-games-of-greatness/

Managore says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:50am

Fun game! I wish there was some way to see how the tiles would connect.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]