Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Exin

by Mechanical Birdie - Jam Entry

You'll find yourself in a world of 9 rooms.
Each room has a unique shape and color and is connected to four other rooms by 8 doors : 2 doors per room.

Going through one of this door will switch the color of the rooms connected.
Going through the other door will switch the shape of these rooms.

Pressing the "M" key will open the map of the whole world.
It will also open the map of your goal.
You have to set the world as indicated in the goal map.

The game uses a first person controller :
- directional arrows to move
- mouse to rotate the view

Good luck and have fun !


The game is made in few hours by some friends:
Design : Olivier Drouet & Tatiana Vilela
Development : Olivier Drouet
Graphics & Sounds : Tatiana Vilela
Shader development and technical advices : Romain Pechot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#87Theme(Jam)3.79
#94Innovation(Jam)3.66
#343Mood(Jam)3.15
#447Graphics(Jam)3.22
#465Humor(Jam)2.21
#504Overall(Jam)3.03
#562Audio(Jam)2.40
#622Fun(Jam)2.58

Comments

LTPATS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15am

This game looks awesome, but unfortunately I can't seem to play it. After the instructions I just get a static screen and nothing else :(.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32am

We got problems with the web version :( Fortunately the standalone one seems to be working ! :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:39am

The web version is now working (we think... :) ) !

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:00am

Gave that a shot - really interesting idea, but I found it very hard to relate where I was standing to the map. Perhaps it might help to put the map on a hud? The looping static sound really began to get on my nerves after a while... Still, nice work for the jam!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Thanks for your feedbacks :) We wanted to implement different things to help the player navigating in the world but, as a lot of jammers, didn't have the time to develop everything we wanted. We will definetely improve this part of the project.

akymos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Nice idea! The game is very hard.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Why when I go in color it change the room shape and when I go in Shape it change the color?
But it's a nice idea and a cool game :)

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Really enjoy the premise. It is a little bit difficult to understand at first, but, if I'm not mistaken, at its core this is a kind of memory game? If that is so it could definitely benefit from having a timed aspect to it.

ajayajayaj says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Great Game!

LexGear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40pm

5 stars for 'Theme'. But unfortunately the game wasn't playable. The player controller or something wasn't working correctly and the ground was super slippery. Making it impossible to go through doors with any kind of accuracy. Definitely a great idea though!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40pm

I've got the idea, but it's really hard to figure out how colors and shapes change and what door you should choose. For now it's just random for me.

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Nice Idea, I like the Theme but its a bit hard to figur out where you are without constantly holding the map key.
Also the controls feel a bit unresponsive (slippery floor).
With some more work it could become a really nice puzzlegame.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Thanks for all your feedbacks :)

To answer some of the questions :
- When you go through a door you switch the properties of the two rooms. For instance, if you go from a red cubic room to a white spherical room through a color door, you will find yourself in a red spherical room. The previous room will now be a white cubic room.

- We got problems with the physics. We manage to make the bug happens really rarely. If it happens, please refresh the page. Sorry for this inconvenient :-/

- The map is looped. For instance, the middle left room of the map is connected to the middle right one. As the player always spawn back to the last door he went through, you can orientate yourself this way. Of course, a few elements to help figuring that out would be welcome, and we're working on that :)

Thanks again for your feedbacks !
We definetely want to keep on working on this game and your comments are both encouraging and helpful to figure out what we could improve.

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:04pm

very cool theme use

sprawl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:22am

Really neat idea. It took me a while to realize how to play, but it was great after it.... Except that looping sound effect. That was painful.

Great job on the game !

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:24am

Fun but are the doors inverted for color and shape?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:53am

This is a really awesome puzzle. There were a couple of times when I thought I had it all figured out but then I realized I had miscalculated. Great work!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Thank you all for your very encouraging feedbacks !

We are preparing a less "painful" ambient sound for a future release.

Understanding the operation of the doors is actually a bit complex, but they are not reversed. Going through the "color" door lets you "take" the color with you. It does not retain the color of the next room. If you go through a "color" door in a red room, the next room will be red. We probably need to design something that'll make it easier to understand at first sight :)

We take note of all your comments to improve the game.

Thanks again :)

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:31pm

SooOOo cooOOoooll.. !!

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:08pm

It's VERY hard, did you come up with it by yourselves or is it an already postulated problem that you gamified?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Hi everyone ! Thanks again :)

We came up with the idea of a world made of rooms with different properties that could be changed and a challenge related to the points of view : the first person one (the inside view) and the map (the overview). We thought about it as complex and logical as a Rubik's cube. Hope it'll answer the question :)

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Really cool idea, being inside the puzzle. That audio gets irritating after a while though.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Hi there. I found your idea interesting, and moving between rooms works as described. However it wasn't intuitive enough for me to understand what happened as I moved around. Didn't want to make a diagram. Good job on the tech, but I think it needs another more playable layer... or something simpler around it. Good job on the implementation.

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:33am

Pretty neat. The sound at the very beginning caught my attention. More games should do something like that, it lucked me in. It was a little confusing at first. I found myself playing with the map on all the time.

NuSan says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Great idea, I had trouble at first, but finally completed the puzzle. Keep up the good work !

Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:41am

Thanks for these neat and useful feedbacks.
We think about putting the map in a persistent GUI. That would probably be more comfortable than constantly pressing the M key.

Shmackson says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:36am

Very unique puzzler, way to go!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:38am

The idea is really neat, but the gameplay was a bit confusing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]