Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nexxuz

by rustybroomhandle - Jam Entry

Phew! Not quite done, but whatevs!

This is a game that is fashioned after the classic Zaxxon, but plays a bit like a Metroidvania (Zaxxonvania?).

You can hop between worlds and pick up your lost powerups, some which you will need to defeat certain bosses. The aim is to defeat all 6 bosses. (currently no win state, will fix soonish)

The assets in the game were created by members of our Minecraft server within Minecraft itself. Between 20 and 30 kids of all ages jumped in to help with this.

Music was whipped up by our friend Abstraction.

Enjoy!

The intro that did not make it into the game on time:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LvOWWkygQLw

TO DO:

- Add barriers to either side so you can enter portals easier and not fly off-screen.

- Make Jack-in-the-box boss work right

- Implement shield powerup

- Make health persist between levels.

- Add the lovely intro video we have for it!

- Tweaks/balances

- Better enemy placement

- Plant boss' bananas are broken


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#30Graphics(Jam)4.48
#116Overall(Jam)3.66
#135Fun(Jam)3.52
#169Mood(Jam)3.53
#260Audio(Jam)3.33
#282Humor(Jam)2.65
#386Innovation(Jam)3.03
#402Theme(Jam)3.13

Comments

LTPATS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:41am

Great looking game! It took a bit to get used to the isometric view, especially with all the bullets flying around. The loading between levels seemed a bit buggy. Some times I had trouble getting into the portals, and at one point (after the kraken) my character just disappeared after I went into the portal, so I couldn't finish the game (unless that was the end?) Overall the game felt like it was pretty close to being done, the graphics were beautifully rendered and the basic gameplay was well implemented. I'd love to see this expanded on! Great job!

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12am

I really loved the art and idea to rescue the style of Zaxxon games, the art it's pretty consistent, the music is so cool with fun 80's style the only thing I miss is sound effects but I noticed you guys will put after the Jam. Congratulations!

sikosis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:34am

Oooo it's a pretty pixelled zaxxon !

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01am

Really awesome art style

Aevek says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:07am

Had a lot of fun playing this for about 10 minutes. Love the isometric style, I actually ended up using that for my game too this time around. My one suggestion would be to use "Don't destroy on load" in unity, so that things like player health transfer between scenes better. Not a complaint though, having my health come back between worlds helped out a lot. Awesome idea to use minecraft as an art tool, and to crowdsource your art. I may have to borrow that one. Great game.

jmjd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:11am

I agree with the others, I really like the look and style of the game. As the others have said, including the author, there are some issues and it's not quite done. But what do you expect in 48 hrs?! Great Job!

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:14am

I already loved the game after seeing a gif of it on twitter. I really love the artstyle. Thank you for this game.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:09am

Absolutely love the graphics.

I really struggled with the iso not giving me an understanding of height, and I couldn't find these bomb things. I loved the 2D graphics with the 3D engine, and the way the physics work for the bouncing bananas and other technical details that us coders pick up on ;)

Got a not-quite-finished feel, but still got a *wonderful* feel. Top marks!

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:33am

Cool game!

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:39am

Nice graphics. I love this Zaxxon style game. There is some thing to improve. First the player can be out of the screen, it makes the game unplayable. The hitbox for the enemies and protal could be improved too. Very good job. Congratulations.

Fonserbc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:02am

Awesome art! The lighting on the bullets looks really cool!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:13am

Really like the look and feel of this little gem, some of the actual shooting can be a little twitchy especially the bosses but otherwise really nice feelgood game.

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:15am

Really amazing work, I loved how the boss reflected the bullets!

HELLO23 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:33am

This looks just great. Kudos

AlbertoSM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Good idea overall, could've used some sound effects!
Also I think I found a bug in the water stage, I went to the left most area, and my ship disappeared...

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:16pm

I love the art style. The perperctive is making it hard to dodge the enemy bullets though. I like the idea of a non linear shump but it was a little annoying to start at the beginning of the level each time.

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Just great!

jayemjee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:56pm

It's pretty dang good. Some sounds from the ship and enemies would have helped this, as well as some indication that the enemies are taking damage. I *love* this art style, but it had me humming "Everything is AWESOME" for some reason...

MegMeowse says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:25am

Love the voxel style, and creating the game in Minecraft (gameception much?) Was very creative!
Only thing i'd have to critique on is the controls acting a bit weird when trying to move back and right or left at the same time and being able to go off screen...

homeworld says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:05am

Amazing graphics, extremely creative to get people on minecraft to make the levels! I think the ship would benefit from a drop shadow to better grasp its position in space, same for the bullets!

chas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:16am

Bravo! Great job "sourcing" the assets! It looks beautiful and plays quite well!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:27am

I loved those graphics and all of the voxel art that was created by your community. Very clever use of resources. The special effects on everything looked great too, like the portals and water. The bosses I fought were really impressive looking as well. I really wished there was a shadow for the ship to help ground it in the map to make it easier to know exactly where you are located. The music was great, but it made it easier to notice the lack of sound effects.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:43am

Great entry. One thing I'm missing is shadow below the spaceship :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:51am

I had fake shadows under things initially, will put them back. :)

JackDegree says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Great art! Fun to play!

runvs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Great Game. Though the isometric Camera seems not perfectly suited for this arcade type of game (some ideas: Lines and points to a base plane (e.g. like in Homeworld) to make it clear where the shots/enemies are) and though some sound Effects for shooting and exploding enemies would have been nice, this is a great game. The graphics itself are very sweet and the worlds are designed with much love! I really like it!

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:32pm

This game is AMZING! One of my favorites

arhpositive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Nice shoot'em up and I loved the idea of a "community collaboration" for graphics. Sadly, couldn't find bombs anywhere to get past the dino or the flower bosses.

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Amazingly beauuuUUttiiFFuulll...!!

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Very nice! Great variation on the game type. Only thing it really misses is a clear shadow for the ship and the shots so it's easier to see where you really are. I remember some old school isometric shooters had that.

And awesome idea with minecraft as an editor. Ethical child labor I suppose ;)

You "shamelessly plugged" The Maker's Eden in my comments: That's awesome! And thanks for reminding me. I remember enjoying the demo a long time ago. Didn't know the full thing was out, I'll give it a try too :D

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Well done! That was some fun. Zaxxon inspired shooter!

Nice well rounded entry.

(Hey who cares if you could not fly into anything on the ground. Zaxxon was rather difficult)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:54am

I am a sucker for any Zaxxon like game. Great graphics, controls need some work, but overall I liked. Will be playing again.

aeveis says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:40am

Fun! really nice assets, sounded like a big collaboration! One thing is maybe feedback from the shots and bombs, and being able to tell where you are relative to the ground. great job!

pansapiens says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:06am

Having a community of Minecrafters build the levels collaboratively really paid off - looks wonderful with lots of detail. I would have liked the powerups to better fit the theme of the rest of the environment (tough if you still want them to stand out, but there must be a solution). Also, I think it would look better if the voxel size and lighting on the ship matched the rest of the level - as it is, it sort of feels like it's not part of the level but overlaid on top (like Superman on a blue screen chroma key). Still very pretty nonetheless.

arzi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:39am

I really like the art style. I'm not much of a shmup player, but this was well made.

At one point my ship just flew out of the screen and didn't come back. No idea what happened.

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:48am

Great art style, loved that you used minecraft to make assets in. The gameplay was quite fun, I took my time to go through and make sure I had explored each world and gotten all the upgrades. I found that I was simply just holding space the whole time though and only focusing on dodging and aiming (Still very fun!). Good work!

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:23pm

this is a fun game. you adapted the classic style to the theme quite well. background music was nice, and the art content was well done. i liked the powerup system (although I don't think shield ever worked). nice game.

goffmog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Definitely one of the best entries, very pretty, good music and classic gameplay!

lightsoda says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Has a very nice look to it, though I feel the background pops too much, making it hard to make out bullets, power-ups etc.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I liked the music and the voxels but I could also enjoy having some sfx :)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:04am

Great graphics and music! Definitely missed some pew-pew SFX here and there :D!

It was a bit tedious to "keep track" of where each portal led to, so "discovering" unexplored worlds was a bit frustrating. Perhaps portals could be color-coded (one color per world) or those that lead to a yet-to-be-explored world could be different somehow from those already "visited".

Overall it's a fun and easy to play game with an awesome graphics style and good music! Kudos!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Haha! Zaxxoncraft. Minus height control. Please add sound.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Nice entry. Great graphics and gameplay, but not very attached to the theme.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:04am

The intro video that we didn't manage to fit in in time explains what's going on a bit better - your ship hits a time-space anomaly and explodes, scattering its various components across six dimensions. You travel between those dimensions via the portals on the levels to collect your ship's pieces (the power-ups). :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Hi there. That is awesome! Zaxxon- Remember playing that in pub when I was about 16... ahem, 18. Great graphics, great end of level boss - which I couldn't get past, was bad at Zaxxon too. Great job!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:43am

Note that there are 6 levels and 6 end of level bosses. All connected via portals.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Just one word : Fantastic !! I love it :)

lowcade says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Wow! Awesome game! I love the style.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:43am

It's great looking, although it gets a bit repetitive.

mildmojo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Voxel Zaxxon! Nexxuz looks terrific. You put together a bunch of great-looking levels, here. Wow. The city, in particular, has an incredible amount of voxel detail. I appreciated the Zaxxon homage level, too.

Adding the warp columns halfway through each level was a wonderful idea. Before you figure out how they work, you spend some time bouncing between levels that you might not even have the right equipment for, and these shortcuts keep you from wasting time.

I did find it pretty difficult to locate my ship over the terrain. I think Zaxxon used a shadow; a static shadow or even a hover light projected straight down from all flying objects would help with that.

I'm pretty sure I destroyed all the bosses; does the game end? I flew to the end of bossless levels a few times before I quit.

Tifu says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Great idea, never heard of assets being made in minecraft before, that's pretty cool :D
The enemies seem to be able to die if you hit them way off screen, once I was fully charged, I even killed a couple of bosses before they were anywhere near me :P I'd probably make them invincible until the player is closer to them.
I like that the upgrades are visible on the ship, and they really make you feel like progress is being made D

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Loved the voxel-style graphics. The backgrounds are slightly too busy - things tended to blend in. I think stronger shadows might help with this. Good, simple gameplay. I enjoyed it.

skiddings says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Nice art but I disappeared off screen and didn't reappear.
Some more feed back when you've been hit would be great too.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Using Minecraft to create levels... Brilliant! :D

eatsleepindie says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:23am

Lots of fun and the graphics were incredible. Took me back to my days of playing Gradius on the ol' NES.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]