Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Panspermia

by Martin Vilcans - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Splitting the population of Earth by gender seemed like such a good idea. Women moved to Venus. Men moved to Mars. No more conflicts.

But now, in the year 2100, the population of Venus is aging. No human has been born for years and soon there will be no fertile woman left. Putting old conflicts aside, the women request sperm to fertilize their eggs. The men on Mars oblige, on one condition: They will get the boys that are born on Venus.

Being genderless and neutral in the old conflict between men and women, you are given the job to transport the sperm from Mars to Venus, using a cannon known as The Hose.

After the sperm has produced babies on Venus, your task is to transport the boys to their home on Mars by shooting Baby Pods into space.

The survival of the human race is in your hands.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#60Innovation4.00
#348Theme3.53
#436Audio2.88
#709Overall3.06
#904Fun2.63
#1083Graphics2.19
#1985Coolness20%

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:47am

I must say that this game is a bit harder to understand, but it's an innovative idea indeed :)

Elforama says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50am

I think this is the most unique idea I've ever seen, funny.

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:50am

Hilarious concept. Baby pods didn't always fire when I intended.

hypp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:08am

Good work as always. Glad you found time to add music!

lightsoda says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Without the whole mars/venus backstory, this would be a completely different thing, pretty hilarious.

Ultimately I feel like I don't really care about the population bars, and try focusing on spraying of flinging.

Shooting babies are still a bit..off? Otherwise it's fine.

uberscientist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54am

lol interplanetary bukkake. Good sound effects and back story

Tommislav says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:50pm

I like your take on the theme a lot. Both creepy and hillarious at the same time =D. And the sounds and music adds a lot to the mood.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:22am

Interesting game I must say....

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Hi there. Local space is now messy... Er... Well Human Race died out quickly on my watch, Venus not so hard to hit >50% of time, but Mars for the return trip... dang! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]