Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sun Saviors

by HeuGamer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Save the sun in this 4 player co-op game. Fear not to those who are alone, there is a loner mode for you loners. :P

** I Fixed the link
*** I added a scoreboard :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#647Audio2.55
#950Fun2.58
#1049Mood2.22
#1084Overall2.56
#1150Graphics2.00
#1163Innovation1.96
#1163Theme1.86
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:27am

please, add score!

Kaelaholme says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32am

Pretty good, I like asteroids

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Nice twist on an old classic.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Really enjoyed, ended up playing a lot longer than I expected haha. If I had to complain about something, I'd say that maybe having to hold down a button to shoot is unneccessary? I held the button the entire game, and had to quit before the end because my finger was hurting too bad.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Pretty cool. Played lone mode and it got overwhelming pretty quickly! Good job!

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27pm

I like the inclusion of a co-op mode. I have to say, the laser sound got a bit grating after a while. But the game felt well balanced in terms of the pace of enemies vs the player's firepower.

John Drury says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Classic and quick arcade fun!

Skyfish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:38pm

Enjoyable game mechanic. Would have been more fun if it had flashy particle effects and was controlled by a mouse. This game could definitely be built upon to become a contender for geometry wars etc. Fun arcade with flashyness. The soundtrack was alright, but the sound effects were painful to listen to. Consider using sound effects that "fit in" with the music so it sounds coherent.

Altourus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:01pm

If you hold fire and don't turn you can't lose

brookman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:30pm

The game is solid and fun for a few minutes. But somehow it never really ends (played until 2000 points before getting bored). Maybe you should increase the difficulty gradually.

spolsh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Nice game. Definitely needs the scores and some asteroids could carry nuke bonus that destroys all the others. I was fun to play!

HeuGamer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Hey guys thanks for the feedback!

@Altourus I did find that out after the 48 hrs was over, so unfortunately I didn't get that fixed.

@ The sounds issues. I don't want to make this sound like an excuse, but this game was created in 2 hours within 2 days, well because I didn't have much time, so this game is basically a very shallow game. Thus the sounds are very annoying :P

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Hi there. I can see this being fun with groups of friends. Unfortunately my computer keyboard scanning only allows certain combinations of keydowns to be detected. I think this is fairly common - they are not fully 'polyphonic'. So... tested loner mode, played with 4-player a bit to discover can't hold QWVB and still expect arrows to do anything. Good job - but control scheme needs a test&customise option.

Tanser says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:35am

Nice game!

Aomeas says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:04pm

I don't really see the link with the theme :/
Nice arcade, though, maybe too easy.
The volume of the lasers' sounds is too high imho to enjoy the music

Razoric says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:07pm

I like that you put co-op in here. I only played alone by I'm gonna try playing with some friends tonight. Great job!

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:50am

Yeah, I don't see the connection to the theme either, but for 2 hours of work it's certainly a pretty good game!

masterhyjinx says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:52am

I need 3 other people! Good entry! I like co-op games. I did sort of end up just holding down Q and W in loner mode :P Sorry, I can't help myself!

romandtom says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:55am

made it to 1000 scores alone i'm invincible!! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]