Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Off-World Creature Rancher

by robbiehunt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-------------------------------
Controls + Instructions
-------------------------------

* Use arrows to move around.

* In the first screen there is no movement, what is shown as your active creature is the one you'll use in the world, you can swap it for its gender from the stables (because you'd rather use the parent, or because you'd rather use the active creature for breeding stock)

* Then click the blue 'Explore World 1' button and use that creature until you die. Then return and breed something else!

-------------------------------
About
-------------------------------

* Breed two monsters together to get a monster that will help you collect crystals off world.

* Some monsters can pass through trees, others over rocks. Some are resistant to ice and can walk on ice. Some are resistant to fire and can walk on fire. Some have more health than others. Some are faster.

* Hey, you might get a mutation, so don't worry if the parents are too similar. Keep breeding until you find what you need!

* Inspirations from Pokemon, Doktor Kale's Creature Constructor, and conversations with my buddy Brad Simms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#369Innovation3.41
#798Audio2.21
#950Overall2.79
#982Mood2.43
#1026Theme2.41
#1032Fun2.44
#1130Graphics2.07
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:56am

I like the breeding mechanics. I did, however, I'm not sure that the "you did it" screen is working as intended.

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:00am

Although I wasn't a huge fan of the graphics or sounds, I really loved the breeding/changing out system! It challenged the way I thought about navigating a typical game map, which was really cool! c:

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46am

They see me breeding, they hatin'...

I was breeding for so long before I realized you could explore the game map. Really cool idea. I haven't really seen breeding in any game before.

robbiehunt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33am

SuperPokeunicorn - ah. I'll look at that!

Very glad to hear everyone likes the breeding! As far as I can tell it's the only entry with breeding as the main mechanic!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:37am

breeding mechanics rule

RookMage says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Fun game. Did notice some bugs with crystals being in kinda unreachable places and the "you did it" screen showed up randomly. The breeding mechanic panned out very well, I liked the character models a lot. Good luck!

Serena says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:10am

Ohhh, awesome a breeding game, I love these! Great concept, I like that it's got some random generation elements, but you also have a puzzle element where you have to go around and make sure you have the right creature to get to each Crystal. I think you could make more levels and it's be a unique game!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:35am

Thanks for your very kind comment! I'm glad you ended up happier than you expected playing my game, even though my game is very simple and silly.

I like your vector graphics. What did you use to make them?

I'm not sure if it was a bug on my system, but it happened twice: In Firefox, performance starts out great, but after I have explored the map a few times, everything slows to a crawl and it is not really playable.

The ideas of breeding and using creatures to navigate different map areas and collect items are good!

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:05am

I really loved the breeding system!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Hi there. Interesting idea. Liked the idea of breeding/mutations. Unfortunately the defence towers were too annoying... I would have preferred a 'toy' type approach, rather than toy mixed with arcade game. Would have liked to seen more of the mixtures. Good job!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:59pm

That's a clever concept. With a bit of time and polish you could be onto something. Nicely done.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:44am

There's a good start here. I can see it being really cool with more traits for the monsters, so you build-up a collection of them, and different worlds to explore.

robbiehunt says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:26pm

woohoo! Thanks for the comments everyone!

Obviously I am still working on my graphics abilities. I'm not as quick as I'd like with Adobe Illustrator, so I think I tended towards the coding during the compo.

I'm hoping to build on this concept, this was just a little prototype to hopefully see what people liked/wanted out of something like this!

There are a few of you with games I haven't not gotten to but I promise I will in the coming days!

kyru says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Neat idea for a puzzle game, I really like what you did here.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]