Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Train Connect!

by joonamo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arcade Japanese Train Simulator!
You drive two (2) Japanase trains SIMULTANEOUSLY!
Authentic Japanase train announcement sounds!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#68Humor3.50
#85Audio3.67
#249Mood3.37
#291Innovation3.51
#339Overall3.42
#403Graphics3.33
#524Fun3.08
#771Theme2.92

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09pm

The Japan-ess is incredible! Graphics and idea are nice, and the voice-over really helps sell this

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Very weird but simple. Also like website design :D

modbox says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Haha its funny, the map should have been bigger and you should of had a first person view of each train

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15pm

176507 on the Tokyo level. Is that any good :P?
I like the multi-tasking element, but I feel the theme could have been better used. Things are a bit too small on the screen but I liked the graphics overall. The sound is pretty nice too, even though I don't know Japanese. Good luck! Nice entry.

kikito says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Ha! This gets 5 stars on Audio, Humor and Mood.

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30pm

That's a little strange. Amusing though. Not sure exactly what the goal is, so I did pretty terribly and it could use a little more space.

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Yay, a train simulator ! Well played, even if I don't particularly like trains, I had fun :)
The mood is great, and the music is too. Well played !
I join esayitch, it could have been bigger.
But nice, anyway

kdunee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07pm

I really liked it a lot :). Cool atmosphere, fantastic concept with japanese voice-over.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Wow this is fun :) Nice speech samples, cool mechanics. I like it...

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Didn't understand a word sad, but enjoyed the game.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Very strange indeed, but in a good way. :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21pm

kinda tricky but fun, really like your website with the map too

fallingBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

This is very solid entry. Cute graphics, simple and rewarding gameplay.

Stuffie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Crazy game! can be really tough trying to keep track of both trains. gj

fallingBear says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

This is very solid entry. Cute graphics, simple and rewarding gameplay.

Headmade says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:29pm

This is Japans QWOP, I like it :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:53am

Pretty cool. I don't know why, but it made me laugh. Nice job.

Beard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Nice feel to the game, simple controls. I enjoyed this.

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Aww! Super nice and cute! Great job !!

Hairein says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Very funny game, clear idea and nice voicing too.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Hi there. Very tricky considering how simple, if you see what I mean. Good fun but lots of concentrating required to be efficient. Like the announcements. Watched a documentary about Tokyo train system a few months back, brings it back. Good job!

stvr says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:32pm

This is the most authentic Japanese train simulator I've played all day.

oakus says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:21am

This game is just simple and fun. The thinking in two separate trains (worlds) nicely fullfils the theme just in different way than other games which I really appreciate.

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:07pm

A little bit hard at first 3-5 attempts. But it's really funny! And dat bg voice. C:

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]