Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Onanigan

by alvivar - Jam Entry

"Do not go, please, they never listen. Why do you think they will do different this time?"

Arrows or WASD to Move,
Space to Jump,
you can jump 2 times in the air.

Tip: If you are having trouble upside down, just walk to the corner until you fall, then jump to the wall you want!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#113Mood(Jam)3.68
#268Overall(Jam)3.39
#295Graphics(Jam)3.58
#303Innovation(Jam)3.17
#322Fun(Jam)3.13
#388Audio(Jam)3.05
#487Humor(Jam)2.13
#671Theme(Jam)2.24

Comments

Muush says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:28am

It says "not found"

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:23am

Your file is not uploaded on your web server. Sad, since I really wanted to play this.

harko12 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:25am

Can't download

alvivar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:04am

Thanks for telling me! The links are fixed now!

vandriver says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:02am

i liked the idea, but the controls were pretty frustrating. it was pretty easy to spam jumps to get around spikes only to at last land and then jump back off again.

it'd be nice also if going around lower corners were smoother - using the metroid wallcrawler mechanic where you're 'stuck' to a block until actually jumping would have made the game much smoother.

the atmosphere was great. got too frustrated to see what's past all those blue spikes, though.

Aglavra says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:21am

I liked graphics very much, and also sounds... there are not much of them, but they add something to the mood. The part with blue spikes is a bit difficult with current mechanics of jumping and climbing.

goosetickler says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:00am

Neat platforming and mood, not really sure what I'm supposed to be doing or what my objective is. Running on the walls and jumping around is pretty fun, thanks for the checkpoints, could have used a few more.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:26am

Yeah, there is good mechanics. But controls are awful and often doesn't work as it should.

danbo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:07am

You're always really good at doing very moody games with fairly simple means. I think it's a very pretty game and the audio helps a lot...

In terms of the controls, yeah things are kinda clunky. I figured it out eventually... I'm not too sure about how the player internally works, but there seems to be some sort of delay after jumping or switching rotation where they're "between states" that makes things feel a bit inconsistent. Not sure. Also, being able to go directly from a wall to the underside of an object without having to fall+rejump would make it all feel a lot more fluid.

Issues with controls aside, you did a good job.

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:46am

Nice art and graphics, but unfortunately the controls were unbearably difficult for me. Sticking to a surface felt very hit or miss, and I got stuck trying to jump on a ceiling-surface despite trying very many times

slumber says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:49am

i enjoyed the jump mechanic once i got the feel for it, pretty addicting. not sure what i was supposed to be doing but i had fun jumping around anyways. great job!

mcapraro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:16am

there is a really lovely atmosphere to this game.

rojo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:17am

Graphics were really nice, as was the atmosphere. The mechanic of attaching to surfaces was definitely cool. I think the controls could use a little polishing - I found myself accidentally jumping off things when I didn't want to.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:22am

Great game, really polished, superb sounds and nice graphics. Hard for me to stick below the objects but generally very neat concept. Great job :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:22am

Very cool little game. It was a bit hard to control but I liked the main mechanic and look of it.

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:23am

Loved the graphics and atmosphere! Trying to run around corners was frustrating though.

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:29am

Trying to go around bends while upside down gets really tricky. And I wish I could just use left and right to go up and down.

Overall it was pretty fun, and with that ominous bigger creature looming it got pretty intense :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:44am

Great game! I love a game with some real challenge, and I can tell that an effort was made to make a good difficulty curve. But I've noticed some rules of thumb for designing levels in hard games:

-Make sure to "teach" (make an obstacle that needs it) the player a maneuver before requiring it in conjunction with other hard maneuvers. When I say "in conjunction", I mean within the same checkpoint.

-Put the hardest part of the area between two checkpoints in the beginning of the area. This seems counter-intuitive, but it actually makes the hard part feel a bit easier, because the player can learn how to beat it, without having to go through the easier stuff every single time.

Those two things could have made the game quite a bit less frustrating, especially the second one (argh, that blue spike area.).

Great game though, I like the atmosphere a lot.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:50am

This is pretty hard! but in a good way, once I met the thing with the red eye I was intrigued about story

I like the stark feel to the game that both the audio and visuals portray. Would prefer to use UP key for jump, and maybe have another key to "stick" on to the surface of things.
Great game

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:51pm

i liked the mechanics, made me think i was a little ninja, but the controls were way to hard, and also i didn't understood what i was supposed to do :/

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Beautiful atmospheric game and I like the wall climbing mechanic, except when you have to go round the outside of blocks where you're "facing" down it's pretty hit and hope.

Resonious says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:18am

Something about the movement and jumping felt a little odd, but I had a fun time.

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:58am

Good Game i like the idea nice art and atmosphere good work .

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:05am

Tip: If you are having trouble upside down, just walk to the corner until you fall, then jump to the wall you want!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:16am

Great game. The character controlling works very well, until you have to move from upside down to sideways. That's a hard corner to master. Other than that, the movement was very smooth. Great great entry :)

havana24 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:44am

Good mechanics even if the character is difficult to control! But overall a good game!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Hi Web version did not play... showed advert, then after that just small sad face ;( Not rated yet.

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:47pm

mrexcessive: I tried and it's working, maybe it was a temporal problem?

twintrite says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Love the game mechanics and the graphics....hate the blue spikes!!! It's pretty addicting but after dying 30x at the top down blue spikes I need a break. Please put more work into the game...I would buy it :)

OxyOxspring says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

The controls were a little hard to master but I really liked the mood this game invoked!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:47pm

I cannot get around the underhang. I'm not coordinated enough. It's too bad, too, because I love the concept and the art and the judicious use of sound and silence.

Mase says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:49pm

The way that the character jumps away from walls, and then, I think, swtiches after a moment to a default position is confusing. Maybe if the character always jumped up it would feel more familiar.

AlexDJones says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Loved the atmosphere and the gravity mechanic was really interesting, but it was very awkward transitioning from the bottom of a platform to the side. Nevertheless it was a fun platformer!

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:44am

Addicted and enjoyable.

kidando says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:07am

I think this was a pretty darn great idea. I hope you get to finish the game coz I look forward to an awesome experience. You have my respect. I guess this is what being spiderman feels like :)

blindfox says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:19am

I think the controls need a bit of work, as they're pretty unwieldy, and the jump mechanic is, as others have mentioned, a little bit too easy to spam - typically resulting in silly deaths. Also, I think the blue spikes are a little bit overloaded with features, since it seems as if they a slight knockback (maybe I'm imagining it), kill you, and also appear to stun you. I'd recommend splitting it up a bit and just introducing more spikes instead of having so much packed into one color spike.

Ignoring all that, it's a pretty nice game. The music and graphics go pretty well together, resulting in a pretty nice atmosphere. The idea is cool and I think the game has potential.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:25pm

I've seen similar idea in a few other games, and I'm not particularly impressed with this application. The main problem, again, is controls, that made me ragequit on the first field of spikes, as if dealing with bottom side wasn't enough. Too bad, since otherwise the game has pretty good mood in general. >.<

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:21am

Enjoyed completing the first level, like others found the under hangs and controls a bit tricky. Nice we game regardless! :-)

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:23am

I didn't feel much connection to the theme, but good otherwise. Fun mechanics and level design.

Knowledge says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Great game, buggy controls and not so original.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Liked the mood of this game and the floating particles were a nice touch but as others have said I did find the transitioning from the bottom of platforms to the side quite difficult at times. Would be nice to see a post jam version of this with the controls a bit more tightened because I did enjoy the look of the game and movement when you are just moving and jumping.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:26am

Really like the ambiance and the sound atmosphere is just great.
I had a great time exploring the world but I have to admit that the part you have to go round the blocks are a bit frustrating.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:31am

Moody atmosphere and great level design. However, I couldn't get past the point where you are walking upside down and there are a couple of corners to pass, I always fell down. Nice game though, well done!

TautNerve says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 5:54am

I really liked the atmosphere and the overall design!
Like others I had some trouble with the controls but not
something that big of a deal. I really enjoyed this, good
job.

sephyka says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:15am

I really like the simple graphics and the mood of your game. The audio is as good as the game Ico. About the difficulty, it is very very hard in some places: I restarted more than 20 times. I had to stop when there are blue peaks because it is almost impossible to jump without falling. The character controls are very difficult with the backgrounds angles. What a pity there isn't a great connexion with the Ludum Dare theme.

dylanigan says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Great game! One of my favourites this LD!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:35pm

The controls were good and responsive, and the mechanics were really fun to master. A really great game on the fun side.

Yword says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:42am

Really cool mechanics! Well done!

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:26pm

I liked stylisation of the game. Nice entry.
But I need arrow where to move.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]