Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planet Kung-Fu

by TheGamingProject - Jam Entry

The planets swirl over head and you can feel their power flow through you. Unleash your devastating Kung-Fu on those who would oppose you!

Planet Kung-Fu is a beat 'em up action game heavily inspired by your favorite Kung-Fu film (Enter the Dragon). In Planet Kung-Fu the character finds himself imbued by the planets alignment above him. As your move through the map the planets will orbit above you changing your power as you go along. Fighting through hordes of enemies you must prove yourself to the planets with a body count worthy of your power.


Press Z to preform your Kung-Fu moves
Press X to invoke the your planetary power.
This game was made by The Gaming Project, this is our fifth time doing a Ludum Dare Game Jam and it is always fun. We hope that you enjoy our latest creation "Planet Kung-Fu" as much as we do.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#97Humor(Jam)3.35
#103Fun(Jam)3.58
#248Mood(Jam)3.33
#295Graphics(Jam)3.58
#301Overall(Jam)3.34
#358Audio(Jam)3.13
#579Innovation(Jam)2.69
#681Theme(Jam)2.21

Comments

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39am

It's visually appealing, but overall a common type of jam game. It controls fine, looks good, but I don't really see where the theme comes in.

creative630 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:45am

Cool concept and nicely executed. Had a fun time with this one!

LTPATS says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22am

Cool game! I really like the random abilities. It gets pretty hard after a few switches for me, but maybe I just need to get the hang of the controls. Great job!

phaser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:26am

I like where this is going. I love the giant babies (maybe they are sumo wrestlers but i call them giant babies) but sadly the controls & gameplay is a bit boring.I would love to see a more advanced version of this game, with more moves and enemies!!

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42am

I love these kind of games! Beating up 100s of people is so much fun :D Anyways, I really like the game overall. I definitely found the basic attack to be over powered because of its ability to mash, the fact that it has such a large collision range, the damage it does, and the knock back it creates. Also, the special attacks seemed way too weak. They were too slow and did not do much damage.(Also lightning lagged the game a bit). Even so, I do understand that you only had 72 hours to make the game so balancing the game is not a priority at all and therefore it is fine(so long as you make a post-jam version where it is balanced and send me a link ;) ) Like I said, I really liked the game and I wouldn't be surprised at all if you ranked top 100 overall, fun and humor. Good luck and may the judging ever be in your favor!

Kuupu says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:51am

Nice work on the animations
The only thing that bothered me was the movement smoothness
Really got a lot of fun playing this game!

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57am

Can't rate this one from Linuxlandia :(

Let me know if you get a release up for us penguins. I'm plash on the LD IRC channel and @komiga on Twitter.

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:11am

That was quite fun! Movement was a little floaty but trying out each new power was satisfying and kept me playing

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:15am

Nice game, very fluid animations and controls are tight. A lot of fun.

mclewis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28am

Clearly a Shaq-Fu ripoff. But seriously, great game. Very smooth animations and racking up the body count was a lot of fun.

RookMage says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:54am

Game looked and felt great, got kind of boring after the first minute of xxxxxxxxxzxxxxxxxxxxxz spamming. Really loved the color switching.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:17am

It felt very difficult slow to move around. I like that the main character had a lot of HP so you do not lose too quickly though!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:24am

Intense, like the graphics, and although it's simple it's quite fun. I felt like in matrix when tens of enemies were closing on me from every direction. I don't like this floaty movement, but hitting is responsive and satisfying. Great job :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:11am

Really nice animation, and I love the colors.

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:57pm

I loved the different special attacks and the huge amount of enemies! Good work!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:11am

Nice graphics paired with fluid combo animation and simple mashy controls makes for a fun little diversion.

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:37pm

It was all two plain IMO. I felt that there was a lack of theme and innovation :/

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Very pretty game! Would love to see this expanded into a full game!

leafarz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:50pm

great gameplay! i had fun playing the game and enjoyed the movement of the character. visuals were very good!
great job! :D

Xanjos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Pretty fun game. I loved the art style and I found the fact that you get different abilities based on the current planetary alignment to be very interesting.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:45am

zzzzzzzzzzzxxzzzzxxxxzzzzxxxxxzzxxxxxx... And so on ;)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Hi there. Great idea, love the complete destruction and dojo presentation. Good to be able to compete in a fighting game without any skill.... ;) Crashed somewhat after 158 kills with 'Planetary move' causing some sort of major slowdown (it worked a few times before that though). Good job!

plash says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Visually nice (the animations are great), but it doesn't feel like there is any purpose for the player. As far as I can see, the game is on a timer and the player has no health. White shirt enemies don't visually change when they die, so it's initially confusing and effectively screen clutter.

Body count: 308.

Nitpicks:

- Linux package does not retain executable bit.

kyru says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:44am

A lot of fun, enjoyed playing this a lot.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]