Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Multiverse: Connected Universes

by Oana - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your ship was dragged through a wormhole and is now trapped in strange connected universes that he can travel between using wormholes. Avoid obstacles and collect stars to return to your universe.

INPUT: use arrow keys or WASD to fly the ship. P to pause

Your feedback is what's most important to me. I would like to use this as an opportunity to improve my level designing abilities. What did you like about the game? What did you hate? Thanks. I will rate and give feedback to anyone commenting!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#115Theme3.86
#534Fun3.07
#788Mood2.73
#788Overall2.97
#806Audio2.20
#894Innovation2.69
#1059Graphics2.23

Comments

Dabuuker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Cool idea. Suits perfectly in the theme. Difficult game. Checkpoints would have been great :)

shimage says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:03pm

This is so matching to the theme. It was a little difficult for me. but nice game!

OFF says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Really hard but that's the kind of game who deserve difficulties.
Restarting from the current univers would be better.
With better graphics (like GeometryWars), and even transition effect in the worm-hole, it could be a real game.
Good game + better graphics = time killer.

It lack also of a little soundtrack... :)

JBM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:32am

Cool:D I liked the controls of it! The theme was taken literally and done well with progression

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:39am

Very difficult but fun gameplay. I like that the velocity carries over when you teleport.

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:47am

Super hard. Checkpoints would be great! Great use of theme.

MalphasWats says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:48am

I liked this - simple but brain smashingly difficult (at least, I thought it was - thanks for ruining my dreams of being a space-captain...) :)

A super bass-pumping techno soundtrack would have been awesome, but sound is hard, music is even harder! :)

Aske says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:41pm

I dunno why, but the game just glitched out on me in the web version. everything glitched out.. :(

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Hi there. Lovely graphics, nice tutorial approach to levels - always a good thing to have that in-game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Nice feeling of the game. I also like the difficulty level. :D Also the take on the theme is nice, in the way you use it for the difficulty of the obstacles.

P.S. Could you check back on our game with the debug version (www.randomabductions.com/space-trader)? It would be awesome if you could help us getting it to work on extra devices.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:55pm

I think it should be the hardest game of 2014 :D could get only 10 stars before ragequit >.<

Ryusui says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Unforgiving physics here. Felt like I was flying on ice, if you'll pardon the mixed metaphor. Love the overall concept, though - all it needs is some extra polish. And maybe a health bar. ;)

Oana says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:19am

@Aske Are you using a Mac? For some reason, the web player seems to be acting strangely on it. I am not sure how to fix it.

If anyone has any ideas, please let me know!

Dissiden7 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:32am

Good implementation of a recognizeable game type, with a nice difficulty ramp that introduces the player to the game and challenging areas.
A checkpoint kind of thing or more lives would've been appreciated just purely to see new universes. Because I didn't have to pick up all the stars to move on, I found myself after a while just going through the areas without picking up the stars just to see what challenges where there. :)

The only criticism that I have is that the ship movement felt like it dragged a bit too much momentum and I particularly didn't like the sound choice.

mipi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:41am

I would make player see better to the other sides of the wormholes to avoid too unfair deaths. I would make the game less unforgiving by allowing for example 3 restarts from the same room with small invincibility time after respawn, to avoid that player need to backtrack too much. I would also try to get the controls feel better, maybe give more control to the player and less physics based movement, so that player could move faster and safer at the same time. Also I wasn't sure was my main goal to get all the stars or was it to get to some other place? Clarifying this would be important.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Fun game, very tough. Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]