Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Murder Between Worlds

by ChronusZ - Jam Entry

[IMPORTANT - The exe file gets flagged as malicious by my firewall for some reason. It won't harm your computer, but ignoring all of the warnings may be a hassle. I'd recommend downloading the jar]

You're a freelance detective with a special ability: you can freely traverse both planes of existence, the Overworld and the Shade. A young girl was murdered at Blue Lake Academy, and it's up to you to find the culprit.

Controls:
WASD - Move
Space/left mouse - Next page
E/left mouse - Interact/Examine
Escape - Unlock mouse/exit dialogue
Tab - Switch worlds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#192Humor(Jam)2.95
#282Mood(Jam)3.29
#298Audio(Jam)3.25
#330Innovation(Jam)3.13
#421Overall(Jam)3.17
#447Graphics(Jam)3.22
#477Theme(Jam)2.96
#492Fun(Jam)2.84

Comments

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42am

The jar file won't open on my Mac: Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1857)

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:46am

Ooh, I love mysteries! The gameplay seemed pretty solid, but unless I seriously overlooked something (which is possible), I couldn't really find any proof that any of them did it. Nice work though!

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:53am

I'm getting the error @avh4 has, but on Linux. I'm not sure what the dealio is. I have liblwjgl-java installed.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:31am

I didn't get much of a "Connected worlds" theme from this one. I do appreciate the wooden texture on the back of the characters.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:34pm

@TeamQuadratic There isn't any particularly "concrete" proof to be found. You mostly have to use your intuition about who was most likely to have done it :-)

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Nice mood, but in my opinion it would have been better of with a bit more clues.

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I loved the details, I liked the style, but the story... Well, humor felt little forced, and I didn't felt like there's enough clues for anything.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Is there even a "correct" answer here? I tried arresting each of them but I think the result was the same every time :P. I'm pretty confident about my first choice though... Really interesting visual style and a good old whodunnit mystery is really refreshing every now and then. Humor felt somewhat shoehorned like others have mentioned, expected a more serious tone.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:40pm

@Moosefly there is a correct answer, but I'm keeping it a secret. It's up to you guys to figure out what happened, not for me to tell you ;-)

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:00pm

The .jar cannot open in my linux :(

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Interesting seeing a fps game this ludum, I adore the connected world theme in a detective setting.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Interesting with a mystery game in LD, Never found any hints towards a specific person so I arrested somebody at random...

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:09pm

It's totes Lee King.

One of the few games that got me engaged enough to (try to) finish it xD. Highly atmospheric. Music could be a bit of a darker and more melancholy tone, but that's about it I guess. Rest is pretty spot on for a game like this. Good job!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Really cool ideia and execution, I enjoyed deeply the game at my first try, but after finding that whoever you choose, the ending is the same, I feel my efforts were for nothing.

If you don't give us the answer in the game, then the player is always right because even if his explanation doesn't match yours, his choice is not less valid. Finishing the game after making some tough decisions and heavy pondering, feeling the risk of failing just to find out that there was no risk at all to begin with, makes me feel a bit disappointed.

samooJAM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:30am

Very good mood! I like the gfx style and art.
I would prefer to know who actually was the murderer, now it feels pointless who I arrested.

DrCicero says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:22pm

At first it crashed with
java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path

i fixed it by:
1) Downloading the newest lwjgl release http://sourceforge.net/projects/java-game-lib/files/Official%20Releases/LWJGL%202.9.1/ (Is that the version you used?)
2) Extract *lwjgl* and *openal* from lwjgl-x.y.z.zip/native/linux/ (For Macs: native/macosx/*)
3) Put them into your jar file
4) Run it

Could you maybe add the other os' lwjgl natives to your jar, so they could run it, too? lwjgl seems to run on all platforms, so why do you only provide the windows version?

Well, then I could listen to some music and got en empty window and i can already tell you that the window is too big for my screen. However, it still crashed with
IllegalStateException: Function is not supported ... at main.src.Main.getShader(Main.java:206) ...

I guess i cant run it anyway cause my netbook doesnt support shaders. :(


Your game is the first detectives game i see this LD! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]