Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Worlds Collide: a tale of many

by uprightpath - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: Following some of the comments I re-evaluated the game's looping mechanism and discovered that I was missing key input on certain ticks. I fixed this and also updated the final level slightly for playability's sake (I moved the boxes such that you can tell more easily when they're raised/VS lowered.)

Game-
Two girls, from different worlds, trapped in a puzzling world between them. Help them attempt to find an exit for the puzzle and from each other's minds. Also rhymes. Lots of them. Bad ones. Hope you enjoy.

Goals-
Check doors (Rectangles with a 'handle'), key-plates (Diamonds with a slot) and people (Amethyst Shade or Purple zig-zag ghost). Each wants something. Doors want specific keys. People want other items. Collecting crystals (Purple diamonds) and gold (Yellow hexagons) can help.

Controls-
Options Menu
Mouse only
Key Assign Menu
Mouse only. Clicking a button will allow you to press a key to assign to that action.

Game Select/Dialog Menus (Can be edited through Options- Key Assign)
Mouse - Can select things.
Navigated with mouse or default Up/Down/ Z (Accept) method. These can be changed in the options.

Game Play (Can be edited through Options- Key Assign).
Left/Right- move currently selected girl in that direction.
Down- Fall through platforms (Thin platforms) while falling.
Jump (Default Z)- Jumps if standing. (Hold down to a variable height jump).
Interact (Default X)- Interacts with a door, key-plate or person.
Swap (Default A)- Swaps between Aisling's and Ashley's worlds.

Notes-
Only the active world has physics applied to it, this means you can swap in the middle of a fall.

Purple objects 'exist' in both Aisling and Ashley's worlds. Taking a purple item with one will remove it from both worlds. Moving purple objects will continue to move regardless of which world you're in, however they follow the rule of physics only applying to the active world.

Always ask people what they need first, some levels cannot be completed if you're not careful about who collects what.


Issues-
Some collision box issues with respect to small platforms, moving objects (Especially when a character is 'crushed' between objects and changes that happen to the world due to purple objects.

No music currently (Music related options don't change).

Bad layout for menus.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#480Humor2.44
#568Theme3.24
#790Innovation2.84
#944Mood2.50
#949Audio1.68
#1047Fun2.40
#1084Overall2.56
#1161Graphics1.96
#1503Coolness44%

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41am

I don't like the game as much as I like that you've used LibGDX + Box2D :) Great work.

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:57am

Move way too fast for my liking, platforming is barely possible. With some graphics and music, this would be great!

IcyLava says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Yeah, I think it's too fast. It took me a while to get to the first door ;_; . Good work though!

pighead10 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Good use of the theme. Controls were a bit clunky, no need to travel that fast or slide that much when you land on a game like this.

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Not bad, controls felt a bit rough but I do like rhyming.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Ok, I loved the rhymes, definitely sets a certain tone for the game. In general that was enjoyable, though it would be cool to someday add more difficulty. I ran into some bugs towards the end (the menus did not work anymore), but they did not impair my experience. Controls get a bit to get used to but they aren't that much of a problem in my opinion. In short: Nice job! :)

Sunflower says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Alright, played it, the rhymes weren't even that bad, though they did feel a bit... pretensious? Also, they're related to Aisley, while Ashley is more down-to-business and doesn't do rhyming, right? Oh, and Ashley is American?
I'm not sure if it as intended, but I felt like Aisley was a girly girl conrasting with more tomboyish Ashley. I just wonder how in the world those two ended up connected. ^^"

I didn't particularly like the graphics; following certain style is one thing, but for some reason I don't like the colours; can't tell what would work better, though. O.o" One thing for sure, though: the gradients in buttons contrast with the plain colours of the game itself.
Also, the controls felt rather unresponsive, even in the Bugfix version; thankfully I somehow managed to complete the Aisley's Lifts Alone level, but it was rather annoying still, especially with waiting for the lift to return.

I guess it's one of more distinct entries and could be developed interestingly; but if you wanted to make this project further, I guess you'd have to rework the controls a lot. >.<

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15pm

The controls could use some work - I personally need more time and precision to be able to get the platforming down. Nice concept, and good ideas for the levels.

uprightpath says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:56pm

@little-burrito Yeah, it doesn't help that there's a glitch in the controls that cancels part of your velocity when you land on/pass through platforms.

Retl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:44pm

I got all the way to the end of the Worlds Connected level, but I accidentally pushed the lower-character into the empty abyss of nothingness to the left of the last proxemity barrier. Tried to restart the level, but I couldn't get out of the options menu. Exit took me back to level select, but selecting a level from there just dropped me right back into the options menu. Also, I noticed that clicking the Restart and Exit buttons also displayed "Clicked!" in the terminal window.

Anywho, it's a neat little game, and I had some fun with it. Good stuff!

Retl says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:45pm

I got all the way to the end of the Worlds Connected level, but I accidentally pushed the lower-character into the empty abyss of nothingness to the left of the last proxemity barrier. Tried to restart the level, but I couldn't get out of the options menu. Exit took me back to level select, but selecting a level from there just dropped me right back into

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Nice game. I liked the rhymes, but the sound effects were a bit piercing.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Lovely writing! The game ran a bit too quickly and in tit for tat the diamonds suddenly disappeared, but otherwise it's a nice solid entry.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:36pm

It was fun, but after a while the game didn't react to the A key for a really long time. The menus also lag. Interesting idea and graphics would be very nice if you added walking animation to the characters.

uprightpath says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:36pm

@Christian Scandariato Yeah, they were added at the very end when I went "Oh, shoot, I forgot to add those!"

@Hempuli If you could tell me 'how' it disappeared I would greatly appreciate it. The diamonds can be picked up by either character.

@eemmbbeerr I'll take a look at it. It might be that the game itself was lagging terribly for some reason. I didn't implement anything to display the frame rate so it could just be that.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:02pm

The rhymes are fun to read, jumping controls are a bit frustrating but OK. Overall, an OK game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]