Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lorries In SPAAAAACE!

by AtkinsSJ - Jam Entry

Lorries In SPAAAAACE! is an interplanetary haulage management game. Buy space-lorries and set them on routes, buying and selling goods between planets. Eventually, you can buy whole planets, which pay you tax regularly. Your ultimate goal is to buy all the planets as quickly as possible!

Instructions are given in-game, but basically, left-click on things to interact with them; zoom with the mouse wheel; move the camera with the arrow keys, WASD, or right-clicking and dragging.

If you win, let me know your time in the comments! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#68Humor(Jam)3.56
#210Theme(Jam)3.54
#381Overall(Jam)3.23
#384Fun(Jam)3.03
#483Innovation(Jam)2.86
#569Mood(Jam)2.74
#612Graphics(Jam)2.80

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:50am

Hi there. Interesting trading game, found the multiple panes UI a bit confusing, but functional. Amusing too... Good job!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Making my millions selling socks at Jraunwhoverequ. Impressive entry - little confusing at the start, but really interesting once you get the hang of it. Wasn't able to change the name of my company though (chrome, mac) - not a gamebreaking bug, obviously ;)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Better than expected, quite enjoyable actually. Steep learning curve though.

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:20pm

I really liked this game, because I'm a big fan of economic/business sims. First game I tried to start out selling chunks of kryptonite, but of course I promptly went bankrupt from buying my first supply, LOL. Next game I started small with hotdogs and slices of toast. Was able to earn enough for 2 more space lorrys pretty fast. Anyway, good work, and fun game!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:22pm

I work in sales, so this was my kind of game! Never thought I'd be selling hotdogs at this stage of my life, I blame the economy.

n42k says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Took me 6 minutes to win in my third try (after figuring out that buying many planets in a row is bad and buying too much for your first trip is also bad) :). Was pretty easy after figuring that out. Try adding audio next time!

Aomeas says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Must. Sell. All the things!

owyoow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Nice game. Fun to play. I also was not able to change the name of my company.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:57pm

The idea is nice, but the UI feels cluttered and the lack of audio makes the whole thing feel off. Try adding some kind of ambiance, maybe a few sound effects here and there and I'm sure it'll play much better!

robbiehunt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:32am

Woohoo! Finally got unity working and .... I'm diggin' this game! I finished the game! yay! nice job all around!

hissssssssss says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

I enjoyed the basic concept! Trading games like this are usually pretty cool. I wish that there was an element that increased the difficulty, though, since it was pretty easy to start making piles of money once you buy your first planet. Maybe the lorries could have operating costs, or the market could periodically fluctuate. As it is you can find one profitable route, set a lorry on it, go make yourself a sandwich, and come back to find yourself a wealthy shipping baron.

Still, for 72 hours I really like what you did here. Good job!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Hooray! I crushed the spirit of the galaxy's inhabitants in 9:51. Making over 100% profit on kryptonite didn't hurt. My first few tries I went bust trying to buy up gorillas. That was pretty fun. Good game.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I was slightly expecting prices to change in response to your actions - once a planet's recieved a shipload of kryptonite chunks, they've now got a greater supply, so won't pay so much for the next batch. This might add some difficulty once you've got over the initial hurdle of setting up some profitable trade routes - something for a post-compo version, maybe? But as is, still a very enjoyable trade sim!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Won in 6:20, however, it took me a while to realize what I had to do to win. Meanwhile, I was raking it in by selling vacuum cleaners at huge markup. I still have a few if anyone wants some.

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:21pm

I love tycoon games. My only problem with this was that it was to easy. I love the concept, but a little change would help this a lot: a real economy. for example the prizes would change depending on the demand. so if you supply a planet with specific goods the value of the goods would decrease and you have to adapt. Also the default unity gui transparent skin is ugly. but its okay for LD :)

AtkinsSJ says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Thanks for your comments everyone! :)

The UI is a bit messy, I know. I got a bit frustrated trying to fix thing, but hopefully Unity's new GUI system will be easier.

I didn't want the game to be too hard, but yeah, the way it is now is too easy, being able to set routes going forever and always making money. I just ran out of time (and energy) before I could make it more realistic.

I *would* like to make a post-compo version some time. Just have to finish some other things first. ;)

kristof says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Hey there, nice Graphics and a good idea. In my opinion, an in-game tutorial is absolutely necessary for a game based on reading a lot of calculations. A motivating soundtrack might be helpful too...

Animefrikis says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:43pm

At first, I lost 2 times on my first trade, and the company kept going into the negatives @@

But once you own a planet, It's super easy to win (I never went higher than the sock and toast market). It's a fun game, definitly would love a post compo version :)

someone says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Cool game. The menus are a bit daunting at first, but functional. The interface could be improved a lot.
Could do with more stuff happening as you can just set up a few profitable routes and can just leave it running.
I managed to miss reading the win condition and made millions trading in kryptonite an balloon animals.

dylanwolf says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:15am

Nice basic RTS. I think my only gripe was that lorries will max out their stock even if it bankrupts you, which resulted in a couple of unexpected endings for me.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:34am

On my first try I crushed the spirits of the galaxy's inhabitants in 7:51 minutes. On the second one I managed to do it in 3:32. Fun game! As some have already said, it would be great if you took demand and supply mechanics into account, changing prices as the stock of some product achieved sufficient levels on a planet. Great job!

pansapiens says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 1:55am

I found it a little easy to win, but it has the foundations of a great little trading game. I would have liked some indicator on the planets I already owned, and maybe also little icons to indicate what they want to buy/sell to save so much clicking. I crushed the spirits of the galaxy's inhabitants in 7 min, 36 seconds (after one false start where I overstocked on Gorillas :) ).

AlexFili says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:40am

I was very impressed with this. The concept is good and the business tactics come into force here. The only problem is once you get started it becomes a bit too easy. If there was a supply/demand function going on it would mean a lot for the long term quality of the game. Brilliant attempt at a strategy game, looking forward to more like this

voxel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Best take on the space trading theme that everyone seems to have used this LD. Lots of fun, played it while I flew intersystem in X3

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]