Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Our Worlds

by davisan - Jam Entry

Guide the Boy and the Girl to the phones.

Controls (you can change them in the main menu):
Move: A/D or Left/Right
Ladder: W/S or Up/Down
Jump: Space
Switch Character: Enter or Tab
Girl Special Ability (when available): Click+Drag Mouse Button

Created by Davi Santos (davisan2 at gmail.com)

Featured in:
http://www.nitrome.com/blog/articles/1149/
http://www.pcgamer.com/2014/09/06/the-best-free-games-of-the-week-42/
http://indiegames.com/2014/09/ld30_another_batch.html
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JejUnupw6aI

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#56Theme(Jam)3.91
#92Fun(Jam)3.60
#100Mood(Jam)3.74
#124Overall(Jam)3.64
#129Graphics(Jam)4.07
#184Audio(Jam)3.47
#255Innovation(Jam)3.25
#255Humor(Jam)2.73

Comments

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Nice job! Feels very polished and lots of great art! Made it all the way to the end but missed one heart piece :)

Floko says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Nice job! Good puzzle elements, I like the drawing mechanics, even tough I`m not a fan of switching from keyboard to mouse in the middle of the game x)

The challenges are pretty neat, and graphics are pleasant to look at. Goob job!

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44pm

10/10
Adorei os sons, a arte, o clima, a forma como a história é contada e o final adorável.
Parabéns! muito foda!

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:18am

I really love this entry. Good graphics, sounds, and puzzle design. The only thing I could rant is that the switch control button is "Enter or Return" which is far from "W,A,S,D". I think "Shift" will be a good choice for this function. Well done though!

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:39am

Thanks guys!
@CatOnMars: you can change the controls in the main menu. But there, it is named "Change" instead of "Switch"..

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Very nice. I got stuck on one of the levels, but it was very polished.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Interesting game, the art and music are very nice. The dynamic music was interesting, though I think some of the sounds clashed with it (most notably the sound for moving platforms, which was kind of annoying). I liked the 'magic' power, it was very interesting, though it was hard to use due to the control scheme. Since A, D, Enter, Space, and Mouse are all used, I don't have enough hands to play normally. So I had to frantically switch around to use the magic power and that delay often caused the bridge to disappear and send me into lava. If jump was W and switch was E or Shift, that might be more convenient!

hogtrick says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Lovely game. Jump is a bit clunky. Loved the Fx and the art!

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I'm not gonna lie, I'm usually not one to sincerely compliment graphics, or really enjoy pixel art a ton, but I'll tell you what; I actually really enjoy the aesthetic of this game, and it's quite well done. The only critique I could serve as an artist would be some smoother player animations, but it's a ludum dare game and that's totally understandable for them to be a little jumpier. I understand what it's like to cut out little things like that for a dare game, I know I have. But yeah, really good job. Also I love the interpretation of the theme. Overall, my personal favorite submission I've played so far.

Snoother says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:36pm

The graphical style looks really nice, particularly the distinct colour palette for both the boy and the girl, and the music also works very well. Gameplay-wise, the premise is very good, and it can most certainly be fun, but I found the control a bit inconvenient. Nevertheless, it is a really good game. Congrats!

Snoother says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:38pm

And I just saw your moment about being able to change the controls... I really should have read the other comments before I've posted. Thanks, it's a lot easy to play when adjusted. And I've upped the rating of course to account for this.

lowcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Great job! O like the fell of the game. Art, sounds and puzzles is very good. A very polished game as always =)

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:24am

Really neat game and mechanic. Works great for a puzzle game. The spell mechanic is really clever and cool! The art and music are top notch, but missing one heart piece and getting the bad ending was really frustrating :P

CatOnMars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:30am

@davidsan: Oh, I see it! Thanks for your information.

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:03am

I really enjoyed to play! The graphics is really nice and the controls are very responsive. Congrats!

aeveis says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:04am

Platforming was not bad! some interesting platform puzzles, the save points helped a lot.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Clever entry, liked the changing between the girl and boys worlds and the way you developed the puzzles around that mechanic.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

I really enjoyed this game. The art and audio are well made. I liked the ending as well.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Enjoyable game. Impressive audio, graphics, and mood. Well done. :)

frogcheese says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Really nice! The sound and graphics were great, and the game itself was not too easy or too difficult. I liked the little sounds the characters made, and how the music subtly changed at different points.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:23pm

I've seen many double platformers in this LD, but this one moght be nicest!

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Hi there. Love the theatrical applause at end of levels. Found the ceiling too low once started to jump over metal-stars from moving platform... kept banging head and getting redirected down ;) Great pixel art. Nice sounds, waterfall sound. Good job!

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:21am

This was really well executed. I didn't finish it, but only because I'm kinda bad at platformers.

Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:00pm

You are in today's episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JejUnupw6aI

davisan says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Wow! Thanks guys!!

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Great graphics, great music, and fantastic gameplay. Good job!

ramoncb says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:57pm

crazy how yours and mine entry are look alike =O

except that your entry are much more polished and have a lot more content too xD

good job! and sorry my bad english ^^'

andrewkennedy says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:08am

It was a nice, enjoyable platformer. Would have been nice if the girl's spell would have stayed on the screen a little longer.

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:42am

Nice! Really enjoyed this one. The mouse spell thing was neat, even though it made me switch from keyboard to mouse and back. Worth it :)

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Love the art!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]