Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

DOX30

by WebFreak001 - Jam Entry

DOX30 - A platformer about switching dimensions.

If you want to hear music turn up the volume in settings.
You can create your own Levels by opening Editor.exe. For special things like changing friction, bounciness, or size you need to edit your .json file at your own. (Will be added in future versions). For size changing in editor load template.json and right click -> duplicate the items.

CONTROLS:
A - Move Left
D - Move Right
Space - Jump
Shift - Switch Dimension
Ctrl + Shift + R - Respawn

EDITOR CONTROLS:
Hold Right-click + Drag for moving the Camera, use Mouse Wheel to zoom (you cant move/right click if zoomed) and go back to initial camera position and zoom using clicking middle mouse button. Hold and drag left-click for moving stuff.

Muisc by Blaehubb / Fischilii - https://soundcloud.com/fischilii/purple

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#315Audio(Jam)3.21
#371Humor(Jam)2.44
#468Graphics(Jam)3.17
#602Mood(Jam)2.65
#607Fun(Jam)2.61
#627Theme(Jam)2.46
#646Overall(Jam)2.79
#660Innovation(Jam)2.42

Comments

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:00am

Nice idea, but the controls are so clumsy that it's virtually unplayable.

billknye says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09am

I liked the graphics, the background and clouds added a more polished feel to the look of things. Always nice to see a good use of Kenney's art work.

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09am

is the game running smoothly? I know that jumping can bug if your fps are instable

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16am

Graphics were pretty darn cool

Buttsteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26am

Seems unfinished. Time constraints suck. :(

It's really cool that you made a map editor though!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:17pm

The controls are very heavy, tedious see how it moves and jumps so slowly

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34pm

it was a bit annoying how hard it was to move in air, but as apposed to that great fun game

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Hard to control, couldn't jump even on the first platform even when standing on the box.

darklightteam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Amused and very entertaining game :) The character is so happy :)

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I like the editor, music and the premise. However the clunky controls do let this down.

jprogman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:21am

The controls are a little stiff, much like NES games. I got used to it, but the jumping is too low to get on the first platform. That is until I switched dimensions to get through and then on it. The more appropriate way to get on a platform is by jumping over and on it instead.

It's a decent game with a decent idea, just it needs some work.

madmaw says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:56am

Tough to move around, but I like that you included a level editor and the graphics are nice.

Google chrome complains that this is a malicious file, but I ignored it.

You left a bug report for my game (thanks so much), I think I've fixed it if you want to have another go.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Unfortunately i can't run the game, i have an exception at start : System.TypeLoadException: GenericArguments[0], 'LudumDare.GameView.IGameView', on 'System.EventHandler`1[IEventArgs]' violates the constraint of type parameter 'IEventArgs'.
at LudumDare.Game.Run()
at LudumDare.Program.Main(String[] args)

swich says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Kinda cool. The character should stop moving horizontally when in air and the player is not trying to move left or right.
Kudos for including editor. Although I couldn't figure out how to use it :)

dancingmad says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Nevermind, i just had to install .Net Framework 4.5. Nice game, even if the controls are very floppy! Too bad there was only 1 level.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]