Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spirit World

by vico87 - Jam Entry

Spirit World
------------

A game by Viktor Heisenberger for Ludum Dare 30. Originally intended for the compo ("hardcore") category, but I missed the deadline (underestimated work needed), so it's in the jam category.

The game is a two player turn-based strategy game. You control soldiers on a grid map and try to eliminate the enemy. A unit can move to adjacent tiles, the number of moves depends on the unit type. A unit has either a regular physical health, a spiritual health, or both. A unit may have several actions it can take during a turn. An action can be a physical or magical one. A unit may only execute one physical and one magical action per turn. A unit
dies if either the physical or spiritual health reaches zero.


Requirements
------------

* CPU: any modern x86 should do (Linux build is 64-bit, the Windows one is 32-bit), tested on a Core2 Duo 2.5GHz laptop.
* GPU: OpenGL 3.3 required (afaik that means Nvidia GeForce 8000 series or newer, or ATI/AMD Radeon HD 2000 series or newer).
* Soundcard

Tested on GPUs:
- Nvidia Quadro NVS 140M (Linux)
- Intel HD 4000 (Windows)
- AMD Radeon HD 7950 (Windows)

The following libraries are needed (only on Linux, as the Windows port includes them):
SDL2
SDL2_image
SDL2_mixer
glew


Source code
-----------

You can download the source code from BitBucket here:
https://bitbucket.org/TheVico87/ludumdare30

A project file for QtCreator 3.x and MS VS2010 is provided in the /build folder.

Project files for other platforms (Mac OS X) coming soon.


Have fun!


UPDATE1 (2014.08.26): Added Windows port (32 bit)
UPDATE2 (2014.08.27): Clarified these notes, tested on Intel HD 4000 nad AMD Radeon HD7950

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#267Theme(Jam)3.42
#379Innovation(Jam)3.04
#468Humor(Jam)2.20
#520Mood(Jam)2.84
#558Audio(Jam)2.43
#611Overall(Jam)2.86
#638Fun(Jam)2.54
#701Graphics(Jam)2.40

Comments

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I liked the two-health system - could add some interesting strategy. It took me a while to figure out the controls but they're straightforward once you do. Good job!

Xanjos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I found the double health system pretty interesting (adds an extra depth of strategy).

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

No mac version?

vico87 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

No Mac version yet, as there are some issues to fix. It'll be probably done by tomorrow.

slowfrog says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:33pm

This is a nice interpretation of the theme.
Playing alone (the two sides at once) might not be the best way to appreciate the game, but it is interesting anyway. The game seems well balanced.
There are a few points that could be improved regarding the user interface:
- show a hint of the position of 'invisible' characters, to make it obvious why some moves are not allowed
- better differenciate characters of each player. Mages and ghosts are the same and the player has to select one to see to whom it belongs.
- maybe add a green/red bar (or two) above each character to show its current status.
But it looks like a solid base for a strategy game.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Played it single player so I didn't really get much of the strategy and fun part, but it seemed like it would have been pretty good with both players.

Tosic says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:23am

Very cool game! Too bad it requires 2 players...

bluesky says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:40pm

This is actually very entertaining, well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]