Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 30

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

LUDOPHAGIC TIMEWAVE SOUND HYPERWHISTLE - racarate - Jam Entry

wasd to watch
e to exhale

View racarate's journal. | View all entries by racarate

Ratings

#505Innovation(Jam)2.81
#518Audio(Jam)2.63
#663Mood(Jam)2.40
#728Graphics(Jam)2.24
#741Overall(Jam)2.50
#742Fun(Jam)2.10
#756Theme(Jam)1.67
#1598Coolness39%

Comments

dkkarate says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34am

Why you no windows

racarate says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53am

i will windows for you dkkarate

fizzd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20pm

it didn't load for me in OSX 10.9 :(

racarate says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:23am

capital buggers! i think this was my problem (if it helps any other of people):

http://forum.openframeworks.cc/t/problem-running-of-app-compiled-via-a-makefile-on-os-10-9/14926

it should be fixed now

spotco says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:03am

It's just like watching the real world cup

Killswitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:34am

MSVCP110.dll missing.

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:57pm

It's quite fun for a little while, but I don't know how in the world is it connected to connected worlds.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I'm not sure what was happening but it was very mysterious and I liked it.

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Catchy music, and an unusual concept. Was fun, but like others said not sure how it relates to the theme.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:42pm

I'm not sure what I was supposed to do. Just hitting e to reset the players doesn't seem like a game. :( Audio was good, but the mechanics aren't clear and I'm not sure how it relates to the theme.

Tanser says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:26am

Right and left was like 10 times faster than up and down. Otherwise, really nice. :)

oranebeast says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:28am

Intresting.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Solid entry

fisholith says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:16am

Interesting concept. :)

Not sure, but if discovering the game mechanics is part of the game, then...


*** [Spoiler alert, kind of?] ***

For those wondering what is going on, it looks to me like you, as the ref, are supposed to blow the whistle (press E) to reset the players whenever the ball enters a goal, or goes out of bounds. If you don't react fast enough, or use the whistle at the wrong time, the entire game will slow down. The game can get successively slower and slower, and to speed it back up you must start making good calls.

*** [End of Spoiler alert] ***


As for the connected worlds theme, I could definitely be wrong here, but I assumed it was that you, the player, are playing one game, and the AIs are playing another game, and the two game worlds interact entirely through your observation and use of the whistle.

swich says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:49am

Works fine here. It's hard to figure out what's the point of the game. When you do, it's fun to play as a referee for a while, but it lacks a goal/purpose. Very fresh concept, though.

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Good job!

igoramendola says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:11am

Didn't work on my Win7 32bit (so I didn't rate it). But tomorrow (before voting ends) I'll try on a computer with Win7 64bit :)

igoramendola says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:46pm

(It worked on a Win7 64bit)

Cool concept! It's a different point of view of a soccer game. Very innovative :D

I think it would be nice if you make a post-compo version simulating the duration of a match (90 minutes) and put a cumulative counter with how long the referee takes to whistle. Then, the objetive is to cumulate less time and you can be punished if you whistle in a wrong moment ^_^

masterhyjinx says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:47am

I wasn't sure what exhale even meant. I thought it was cool that you set up AI to play a game though. I love systems.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]