Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connect with the Dirt

by Larzan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This time i had no idea what to do with the theme after hours of diddling this is what came out, don't judge me, next time will be better.

Move your block with cursor keys, up to jump.

Use space to switch to 'connect mode' (see below)

When collecting gems you get points.

When you collect small orange blocks you get an extra live with which you can create a 'connected' block which will help you next incarnation to reach places that were otherwise unreachable (just jump and press space while in air, on contact with the level the player will become a block himself).

So, start connecting...

******** MADE WITH ************
Code: HTML, Phaser JS
Art: Fireworks
Sound: Audacity, Voicebox
IDE: PHPStorm (the best ;) )
*******************************

p.s.: Filters don't work on Safari, better use Chrome

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#253Humor2.87
#277Graphics3.56
#691Audio2.45
#755Mood2.76
#773Innovation2.86
#882Fun2.67
#905Overall2.84
#1032Theme2.40

Comments

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:28am

Interesting puzzle mechanic! It was a little unclear how it all worked and by the time I figured it out, I blocked the path to the rest of the map! haha. Overall, pretty cool interpretation of the theme. Nice job!

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:31am

I really like the color palette and the environment graphics. Good job!

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34am

I dig the film-grain (?) filter you're using! It's pretty cool how much extra depth it gives the lil cutesy animations you're doing!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42am

Nice graphics and audio, haha! Really good game!

locknic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:07am

The visuals of the overlay is cool. The mechanic is quite interesting too, but is too permanent.

kidando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:09am

I like the graphics. The sound fx are a bit creepy though :). Congrats on finishing your game

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:54am

This is awesome. Looks are great, but nothing beats the sound :)

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Graphics looks amazing and plays really well in my browser. The aesthetics remind me of a 2D cardboard printed game. Grats on finishing it o/

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09pm

I Like the graphism a lot and there is a nice puzzle mechanic !

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:18pm

I love the style and the scanlines effect. I don't like the walk sound.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Awesome style and the jump sound is just epic :) But the walking sound gets annoying after a while.

Anyways. I like the puzzle mechanic. Had to restart a few times but that was just me not reading :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:05pm

The sounds, so funny XD

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Liked the noise in the game.

maike says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Haha, the sound effects are hilarious and suits the theme perfectly, I suspect you'll win the Humor category :)!
I guess if you use up all your life's before winning then it's pretty much game-over? Any way to restart the game?

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Those sound effects are hilarious! Love the colors and the screen effects.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Great look & interesting mechanic. Controls were a bit screwy, but still playable

Skywilly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I really enjoy the mechanics. Good job ! :)

rnlf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:41am

The placement of the blocks is a bit hard to get right. Also coupling it with the number of extra lives made them badly usable for me :-(

But I really like the idea in itself and the graphics were cool and novel.

oakus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:17am

Cool jump sound, but I blocked the path with myself :D

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Interesting idea, but I wish it were possible to take back already-placed blocks. I ended up placing a few in slightly wrong places.

tiffylou says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51pm

This was fun. Love the sounds. I am impressed you accomplished this much in a weekend.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:58am

Interesting idea to use your past self.
A way to move past blocks could make it more fun maybe.

markusfisch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Cool idea and really nice graphics. I like the jumping sound! Although I found jumping is a bit too hard (may be just on my system?).

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Interesting idea, although kinda've wasted a few incarnations. Like the visual style too! The audio's good, although the walking noise sounds like a ticking clock which initially made me think there was a timer. Pretty cool overall!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:33am

It's a cool concept but I would have loved to have a few extra blocks to place instead of just having exactly enough. It made it more frustrating because I felt when you pressed "space", there was a delay before it took effect. The graphics and audio are charming :-)

alvivar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:34am

I like the idea, and the graphics are pretty cool.

I have trouble jumping near walls, though.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Hi there. I like your key novel mechanic. Perhaps having 'rebirth' places not so far back would be nice. Good job!

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:31pm

I found this an intriguing experience, thank you! Planning where to launch to get the best site for my next life added a strategic element to the platforming. The controls were very clean and the game felt solid. I liked the presentation and sound effects, some music would have been a happy addition

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Nice filters. The gameplay idea is great - I would love to see it expanded upon. Great job.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:39am

A bit confusing though the game was lovely. Great job for 48 hours!

rantt says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 12:36am

I like the graphics, and the sounds were cute. The parallax effect was cool, I wish I managed to get that into my own game :) . The block placement lagged a bit for me, so I had to restart a few times. Fun game, nicely done!

lkr says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Interesting concept and visuals, nicely executed :)

I had an issue where using the connect mode when I had more than one life saved would use them all up, instead of just one. I beat the level after realizing this (and a few failed runs due to bad placement) though :)

Would be nice to see more done with the idea, and some more levels.

sandbaydev says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:41pm

I've played some somewhat similar flash puzzle game where you had to clone yourself & figure out the puzzles. There was bit delay with the controls (I pressed space, but the cubeying thingy happened way later). Maybe html5 related.

I think this game would have been better without those voices... sorry! :D

Grainy art style is interesting! Very interesting actually.

I was wondering that a smaller level approach could make this game more fun: instead of needing to take a long walk, there would be smaller space to interact. This would help player see the full puzzle too.

Overall, I liked this one.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]