Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Cultures

by Mapboy - Jam Entry

My 5th entry, Connected Cultures is a game about newly connected cultures that need your help to adjust to each other.

Unfortunately the game is lacking in a "challenge" element, something I would add if I were to further develop this game.

My inspiration was Zelda 3 / The Original Pokemon Games

WASD / Arrow Keys: Move
Space: Interact

=====
Tip: Don't complete objectives right away, talk to people - their messages change throughout the game!
=====

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#171Humor(Jam)3.00
#201Mood(Jam)3.43
#254Theme(Jam)3.44
#296Audio(Jam)3.26
#394Overall(Jam)3.21
#460Innovation(Jam)2.90
#513Graphics(Jam)3.03
#533Fun(Jam)2.78

Comments

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:20am

Ha, great choice in music (Stanley Parable anyone)? A nice little game, good work on the dialogue system.

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22am

The screenshot looks cool, but the download speed for the zip file is really slow.. it's going to take over an hour to download :(

alvarop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:34am

Really great concept. I enjoy games like this. However, there was something missing, like some type of challenge or lose condition.

Overall, a good experience.

Mapboy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:35pm

The files had been compressed incorrectly - the file is now less than a quarter the size.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:31am

Just played it! The graphics sort of remind me of Super Nintendo Mario. Great job on your game :)

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:33am

Snazzy music! I dig it!

The game reminds me of this old Cartoon Network game. Dozens of these little quests that add together very slowly into your ultimate goal.

Make it like 3x longer with more interesting characters, and you've got a fun time killer on your hands.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:49am

this game was both good and bad. The core gameplay was kind of interesting at first, but by the end i realized it was literally just me talking to everyone. if i talked to everyone 3 times i would "win". But I'm still not sure if i won, every person is blue but nothing told me i won, so i just have to assume i did.
Some annoying criticisms:
One of the people said to find another person to the east, but he was to the west.
the collision boxes on the trees are nowhere near right.
The graphics are pretty much completely ripped from minicraft (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-22/?action=preview&uid=398), if not worse anyway, and the music most likely not made by you. These aren't against the rules since you did place this under a 'jam' entry, but its not very 'good-spirited' and you could've at least given credit. also the source code looks veerryy similar to minicraft's. So that is a little disheartening, but it isnt a copy so its not against the rules.

Mapboy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:02am

A notice to the above post - this code is actually all handwritten by me - I didn't post the source so I have no idea how you would have gotten it. The music is by Kevin MacLeod, which is royalty-free and public domain. The graphics I was going for was a similar idea to minicraft, however my original inspiration was the Pokemon series.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:17am

The game was enjoyable, Nice concept too.
Felt like it needed just a bit more.

Mapboy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:26am

Thanks, if I had more time I would probably make the game have a more challenging option.

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:43am

Nice game, relaxing :D
And I liked your interpretation :)

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:05am

Great job! Such a great atmosphere! kept me playing. I wish there was more to do though, it could make for a very nice rpg. :D

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:50am

This was definitely a nice game, I always enjoy overhead view rpgs, and it was relatively glitch free. That being said, it was a bit confusing figuring out where exactly to go sometimes, I think it could've used a bit more direction. Still a nice game, quite a bit better than many games out there, great job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:41am

there were some good part to the game like the concept and I like the retro Zelda look. but the quests were a little boring. great effort.

hissssssssss says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:26pm

I get an error when I try to run the executable .jar:

"Could not find the main class: ca.mapboy.GameLauncher. Program will exit."

I'm running Windows 7 32-bit, and I think my Java installation is up to date. I'm not sure what the problem is. Sorry I can't be more helpful.

Mapboy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:39pm

It's possible that it may not be compatible with 32-bit systems, however I am not very well versed in them. Are you running from the command line, or directly clicking the jar?

jprogman says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:15am

This game is smooth and well-structured. Although the fetch quests got a bit tedious, there were only a handful and I got through them okay. Hope there will be more to it if you decide to build more into it. :)

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:27am

I really liked the music. The game had a cool concept, but I agree that it needs some challenge. Maybe adding options in the dialogue?

CliffracerX says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:52am

Looks to me like the graphics were stolen from Minicraft, you might want to change them.

alhvi says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:35am

Very nice entry. I liked the music and the art too. Good job :D

CoolIron says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:34am

Neat game! That was fun :)

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:09am

A cool concept - I'm not sure that it needs much challenge, but maybe more plot instead? Nonviolence and rude people changing their opinions, just what I needed at the moment :)

(Except that brown guard. One moment he thanks me for helping his grandfather, then I help another brown person with the newspaper, and suddenly he doesn't "talk to people like me" anymore. Tsk!)

The graphics are simple, but work well (and the colors are well chosen), and the music is great!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]