Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Interplanetary Harvester

by Sestren - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Resources are dwindling, and it's up to the Interplanetary Harvester company to recycle old and dying planets into newer, better ones.

The harvester takes a tremendous amount of energy when harvesting, so be careful not to harvest too many planets low in resources or you'll run out of energy to harvest more.

When placing a planet in preparation for harvesting, you can combine the resources of one planet with another. Water tiles upgrade Magma, Rock, and Earth tiles one step (From Magma to Rock, Rock to Earth, and Earth to Foliage). Magma will always trump any non-Water tile it is combined with. Also, be careful not to flood Foliage tiles with more Water.

When you're ready to create a new planet out of old ones, hover the cursor over a planet-shaped area of tiles and click to harvest. The total value of the harvest will be added to your score, minus the cost of harvesting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#105Innovation3.88
#491Audio2.80
#545Graphics3.12
#628Overall3.14
#668Fun2.91
#721Theme3.02
#934Humor1.45
#936Mood2.52

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:36am

The shaking effect is cool :)

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24am

I really like how you provide user feedback -- i.e. the noisey sound that plays when you delete some blocks and the white-outline-squares that show right before that!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Interesting game, well done I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/W46twhRFdK8

Cad says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:59am

Good game overall, a neat perspective on the theme and puzzle games in general

Docjekyll says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:34am

Super cool puzzle game, dude!

Very confusing at first, but very interesting once I figured it out.

C_Walden says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:25am

Clever little puzzle game. In the first stage I wasn't sure what I was supposed to do at first, but I re-read the game description, and it made more sense. Then I enjoyed the rest of the game.

KevRevDev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59am

I thought the idea was pretty unique, and the visuals were nice. But I found it difficult and frustrating to play. I really would've liked to be able to rotate the worlds, place worlds even when part of them is outside the playing field, and place worlds fully on top of other worlds instead of harvesting. I played for about 15 minutes and couldn't manage to complete the first mission.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:46pm

very nice, inovative, fun, great graphics, great audio, 5 stars

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:59am

Nice :) Took awhile to get used to it but was quite fun once I did. Normally I don't have much patience for puzzle type games but I felt this one struck a nice balance where you didn't have to be exactly right in your placement of everything but still had to keep it in mind. You could even probably include a timed mode! I played till the end and was having fun the whole time. Well done :)

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Hi there. Interesting puzzle mechanic. Got to 3rd level. Nice straightforward UI. Good job!

fauge says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:49am

I really liked the shaking effect and the noise feedback! keep up the good work

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:22pm

I didn't get the puzzle...
The hud and style is good. It's look like a nice game but what Is the objective? And how I win?

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:43am

I won! Crafty. This is a well-designed game; I liked how placing and picking up are the same single button and it's just a function of what's on the board beneath you. I didn't see your instructions in the entry, so I had some fun figuring it out myself. I think the clues in the game are enough. FWIW, I felt the first mission was actually the hardest. Scaling the harvest penalty in the later levels would have seemed fair. It would be nice for the game to just tell me how much I'd get from harvesting before I did it, though.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:07am

Really neat idea! Not so much my thing, but the polish and care taken with this is incredible. Thank you for the game!

xrm0 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:03pm

cool

John Drury says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:28pm

interesting idea!

KuGrou says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:20am

Really cool idea, though it would of been interesting if their were more varied goals.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:20am

Hmm, in the web version, parts of the screen are cut off. Even with the instructions, it was kind of confusing to play. I tried to harvest by hovering over the tiles, but nothing happened?

Tanser says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:10am

Very interesting idea!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:36am

Really awesome puzzle game. The first mission was just right for figuring out how everything works without any real pressure. It's just maybe a bit too hard to get a planet with only green blocks, the first mission took me probably the longest.
But once I understood it, the rest was a breeze and fun to play.

masterhyjinx says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:31am

I wasn't quite sure what I was doing... If I understand what you were going for this could be an interesting puzzle type. Something I don't think I've seen before.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]