Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cable Guy

by Endurion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cable Guy

Connect planets via cable, Bluetooth just doesn't cut it!
Fly over a planet to fetch a cable and drag it over another same colored planet to connect them.
Don't cross cables, you know what happens :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#169Theme3.77
#284Fun3.39
#336Audio3.09
#425Overall3.33
#446Innovation3.30
#514Humor2.39
#707Mood2.81
#1059Graphics2.23

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34am

Great and innovative idea, but the graphics could be a bit improved.

zapaman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:36am

Fun overall game, and great controls. The graphics are lacking a bit though. Still, will continue to play it during a work break, good job.

JTGaming2012 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:46am

Loved it ;)

Lolwned says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:03am

Very fun game !

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07am

Loved it. Fun to play. Need some better graphics (or just you need to make it more toon like, less realistic) but it's really cool!

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:30pm

A lot of fun! Kind of agree about the graphics, but I'm hard pressed to complain about graphics at all on a 48hr project. I'd increase the audio level on the thrust a tad.

holgk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Nice game. As said above better graphics would've been nice.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:39am

Nice puzzles! Graphics are a little not-so-beautiful, but it does not matter, because other aspects are well made.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:48am

I always hated those connect-the-points games, but this is a unique take ;). Fun to see how fast you can do them.

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:55am

Took me about 20 minutes to get to this screen - http://gyazo.com/c8472b54424bd5105df738677d642d76 - loved every minute of it! Nice game, with a bit of visual improvement you have a solid project! Wicked entry

shimage says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:29am

I enjoyed it! Control feeling is so good.

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:26am

The game is interesting and well built. The physics are not unbalanced as it may happen in games like this :D

I like how the music sets up a somewhat "darkish" mood.

x1212 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:23am

nice audio and funny way to use the theme

LexGear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44pm

#LonelyMac :(

Need to buy a pc for LD.

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Great idea! :D Loved the ship movement. Small inertia added difficult, but it's still comfortable to control it.

xandy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:19pm

nice sound&music and a funny little innovative game idea that matches the theme!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:42pm

http://prntscr.com/4gqkrv

The music was purely awesome ! I'd like to know what tool you used.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:44am

Apparently I gave up on the last screen. The sound effects are just perfect! Oh, and my game has a Windows build now, if you're still interested :-)

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:16am

@Marcellus: I used cgMusic and then a .mid to .ogg/.mp3 converter.

@Dietrich Epp: Thanks, I'll take a look then!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:35am

Awesome game! One of the few I've actually wanted to play until the very end.

datahaven says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:20am

Nice idea - liked the music!

DDFranky says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:48am

Nice game! Really simple and fun. Loved the song!

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Great idea, flesh it out a bit more and improve the graphics. :)

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:40pm

the game is good fun! The concpet of connecting dots is not new, but I think, that since you play with a spaceship controlled with the arrow keys instead of the mouse, that if the game game had limited time, it would be really much more fun, because we would have to controll the ship at top speed trying to avoiding obstacles while thnking how to not screw up the connections.

ConciseBit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Running this game I was keep trying to use the mouse and that is my first perception of connecting the lines. Needless to say I was being completely dumb, and the gameplay this game provide is wonderful. The control feels good - not too easy yet not too harsh. Things get really interesting with multiple colors. A combination of strategy and skills :p
Oh and the background music is nice too!

Good job

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Interesting idea to mix a traditional puzzle game with a traditional arcade game to create a completely new type of gameplay! Also kudos to you for allowing me to go backwards with the spaceship, it is something that I have always wanted to do in an Asteroids-styled game :D.

The puzzles could've been harder, but nice entry nonetheless!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:25am

Very cool game. Fun and addictive. :) Could be improved to make something bigger. Good job!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Nice concept, the music is great

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:05pm

While piloting a ship between planets with a long cable and avoiding other colored cables while listening to a dramatic soundtrack, I felt attentive. If you continue to develop this, have you considered allowing mouse to target a direction to thrust toward?

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:02am

I liked the audio ans the graphics (except for the ship), but the ship was way too fast for me.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:45pm

simple and funny game!

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:55am

Simple but well done game. I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/_5a2Oj9U9sk

Endurion says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:27am

@Jupiter_Hadley: Thanks!

Morusque says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:42pm

I like the idea of alternating random and predefined levels. Also the control/inertia of the ship feels just right for me.

pjchardt says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Well made! Music and SFX were great. Puzzles were interesting. My only gripe was that ship navigation was tedious. I almost would have preferred a mouse driven approach where the player defined curves. Either way, I enjoyed it:)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]