Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cable Theory

by hadesfury - Jam Entry

Harvey and Joss are two opposite guys, playing different music in two opposite worlds... Until one day, they somehow wake up in the wrong place! Although their guitars' cables are still plugged in their amplifiers, back in their world...

It's up to you to get them back in their place by reaching the legendary hill. But their cables are too short and to extend them you'll have to defeat the horrible metronomes!

Some of them are made of WOOD, they must be weakened using Harvey's devastating riffs while Joss beats the crap out of them. Some are made of METAL, and won't stand the soothing melodies of Joss...

Of course all that must be achieved in rhythm (when the purple bar touches the action buttons) to be really effective !

For one or two players !

COMMAND :

Left world :
------------
wasd : movement
Left ctrl : action
Combat : 1,2,3 in rhythm

Right world :
-------------
arrows : movement
Right ctrl : action
Combat : 6,7,8 in rhythm

Made with Unity 4.6beta

Credits:
Quentin Chevalier : Code
Tristan Dauly : Writing & sound FX
Bruno Jarles : Music
Anais Lacoste : Translation
Francois Mauge : Illustrations and translation
Vincent Schneider : Graphics

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#4Graphics(Jam)4.72
#77Humor(Jam)3.49
#102Innovation(Jam)3.63
#103Theme(Jam)3.75
#103Audio(Jam)3.72
#113Mood(Jam)3.68
#141Overall(Jam)3.59
#468Fun(Jam)2.88

Comments

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:25am

Loving the Godus style art design here! Great work

Muush says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26am

I didn't get what to do :( When I got to the fighting I didn't know if I was doing it right. However the graphics are amazing. Good job.

jdavidson091 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:54am

Graphics/style/humor/presentation was awesome! I got very stuck though, didn't quite get what to do other than talk to the sheep

DDFranky says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Nice game, I really like the aesthetics of the game. The "fighting" system is ok, a little bit too repetitive! A little short though.

JetL33t says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Amazing art! It just looks gorgeous. I had no clue what to do though :P

bg1987 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Amazing art, and great theme!
Im still not sure if this was supposed to be a 2player game (I knda mashed my keys and got through it)

wdebowicz says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:59pm

This is so great! I will play it with wife after back home :D
It took me some time to understand how to attack but after it, a lot of fun! You will get much more reviews if you make web build.

BlueSama says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:13pm

a tutorial is surely needed
but the graphic is fantastic for jam
nice job

fallingBear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:44pm

One of the best looking game out there. I have no idea what to do in the game though. One thing I noticed is that i can't skip dialogues. I try to figure it out. :)

AtsK says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Love the art and audio design, but as has been stated before it would go a long way with a bit more information on how to play. Also is this meant to be a multiplayer game?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Not a clue how to play this. Tried pressing all 6 buttons at once, then just the Riff A (sounded great!) and Riff B but this did no damage, then just attack which did nothing. First guy got to -36 health, second to 12/30 (why was the second one so much healthier?) Enemy only down to 35/50.

I'm bailing, no rating since I clearly don't understand this. Looks pretty though.

KiAn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Best Graphics

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Damn cool!!! Glad to see so cool music game on LD.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Oh, very cool, the gameplay is very inovative and fun but i have to agree that it is really hard to figure out what to do at first.

For those who are a bit lost, to engage in battle one has to challenge at the same time the same robot in each side, the rest is easy to figure out

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:01am

A bit hard to understand at first, but really loved the aesthetic. Well done. :)

Spang says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:29am

Really Good Game man, COngrats :D! 5/5

Ogniok says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:07am

Everything is awesome, everything is cool when you are part of the team! But there is no good explanation what to do.

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:55am

Shame this is for Windows only, but I still wanted to leave a comment saying that these screenshots look very very nice :) Maybe you could post a walkthrough?

leafarz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:24am

i liked the visuals! everything looked great. also i had fun looking at the enemies idling lol. although i had a hard time getting the combat system here. i liked the addition also of the metronome here!
great job!

Shivur says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:25am

Good graphics and sound!

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:19am

I played this a few days ago but couldn't find it again. The gameplay was interesting, but even until today I'm not sure exactly how it worked. If I recall I wasnt even able to die. I did however fall off the world. The aesthetics are fantastic though!

pusheax says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Loved graphics. Sound is good. I fought one time and could not for the second time for some reason.

rhaasken says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Nice graphics! I won, but I'm not sure if I was doing the combat right. I like the take on the theme. I think you could do some interesting things with a two-player connected worlds game like this.

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:47pm

There's a lot of good elements in here, the artwork and animations alike are fantastic, but the gameplay was very confusing. I couldn't understand the fighting mechanics at all. I managed to beat the first enemy on a whim, the second one didn't die.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Nice Graphics and cool idea, but I was not sure how it works. I got the best results by smashing rhytmically on the number keys. I have no clue how this really should work. Then I walked around and fell through the ground.
Surely a nice idea, but the implementation lacks clarity and game mechanics.

radmars says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:25am

This concept seems really amazing but it's really hard to figure out how the combat actually works. I'd love to see a post-compo version that's more fleshed out!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:59pm

looks superb! wow, what amazing work for such a short amount of time. i did notice that on smaller keyboards and laptops, the controls dont seem to work

Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:22pm

ETC (from Creative Sectors):
I really like the concept and the graphics. It's an interest take on music games and role-playing, so I think it could be more interesting than Guitar Hero. Maybe it needs more enemies like tuning forks or other musical instruments. It's an amazing piece after all.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]