Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Orbitrade

by Ragepyro - Jam Entry

A game about simplistic trading between lots of little various coloured aliens.

Made by
@Ragepyro
@genderTruckery
And an amazing artist who doesn't use twitter.

Controls:
Right click and drag to spin galaxy/systems

Click on stars to zoom into them

Click on planets to select them, then use the resource boxes at the side to form trade routes and perform trades of various resources by clicking on another planet in the same system.

Trade routes are only one way, so pay attention to which end is tapered.

The little buttons near the bottom will let you zoom out again, or hide the UI.

And Escape will drop you out of the game with very little warning, so beware.

A WEB BUILD WILL BE COMING TOMORROW SOMETIME HOPEFULLY!
We encountered a bug with an animation system when we tried to build out to webplayer, so we'll be looking into that once we've been asleep for a bit.

Known Bugs:
You may have to reselect planets after trading or establishing trade routes, as the UI hasn't updated to show they're not selected any more.

It's possible there could be some animation glitches with the coloured shroud, though this has only been encountered in the non-existent web-build.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#78Graphics(Jam)4.24
#178Theme(Jam)3.59
#200Innovation(Jam)3.39
#222Mood(Jam)3.38
#298Audio(Jam)3.25
#424Overall(Jam)3.16
#511Fun(Jam)2.81
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

Xentira says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:12am

The game looks really nice but its not easy to connect the planets nor tell what the benefits/loss will be from doing so. Some more information or maybe some different way to connect the planets would help. Its a very interesting concept and the UI looks really good.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Unique game, but found it difficult to see the results of creating trade routes with planets. But this looks promising!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:13am

You could pause the system planet's rotation while it is selected, maybe, or use arrows to select a planet, and it is not clear what those routes affect.
Nice graphics and audio btw ;)

blurryroots says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:25am

Do you guys plan on a linux build? It looks interesting.

Ragepyro says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:29am

@blurryroots I'll go throw one together now :)

Lasty says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:11am

Very cool idea, but you really need some kind of visual cue or instructions for creating the trade routes. Mouse over feedback or buttons would have done the trick.

Otherwise, very nice graphics, music and aesthetic :)

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:22am

Pretty game! I had a hard time understanding how to perform trades. Do I click on a different planet when it's zoomed in? I couldn't form any lines between any planets. What does trading resources do?

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:55am

Well polished game :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Very cool graphics! Some sort of tutorial is needed here tho

Cryunreal says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:18pm

really nice game! like its visual style )

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]