Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fluid Perspectives

by Jezzamon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fluid Perspectives is a cute game about running around with birds and fun little puzzles! | Fluid Perspectives is a hardcore platformer set in a fiery world full of danger and mind-bending challenges!

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Move
Space - Switch
R - Reset
M - Mute

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Overall4.29
#12Audio4.13
#22Fun4.04
#24Theme4.16
#61Mood3.83
#68Graphics4.13
#154Humor3.16
#236Innovation3.58
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:30am

Love the gorgeous pixel art, especially the dithering around the circles and the waterfalls! Truly solid gameplay and sound design too! Nice job!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41am

Lovely Platformer! :D

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03am

It's certainly been done before, that's for sure. but the artstyle + the music made everything feel so much better! it looks amazing with this flat color style to it.
overall i really enjoyed it :)

SupSuper says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

Really like the art and music style you got going.

kenrickrilee says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30am

Holy crap this is beautiful!

invi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49am

Gorgeous and very well designed.

NikSG says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41am

great game was cool and fun

ploogle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:00am

Just brilliant. No complaints!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:01am

Great cooperative game.

Aaants says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Awesome :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Very cool, love the visuals and the music. Switching perspective is well done and convincing. The level design is good. Great job !

freerangeggs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:35am

You are truly the top dog

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:40am

Nice concept, despite the ordynary "connected worlds" idea =)

TheWriting1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:26am

Lovely :D I spent most of the time jumping in the waterfall at the beginning XD

Tarian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:33am

Amazing game. 10/10, you need to release this.

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Beautiful.

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:33pm

This was really well done :) Awesome game, nice job with, well, everything!

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:50pm

This is absolutely beautiful! The music and artwork is lovely, the gameplay is very clever and perfectly judged, the understated story of opposites helping one another is gently poignant. Very polished entry, one of my favourites so far.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Awesome game! The idea of playing around with fluids in different perspectives is really cool, and I really like the art style, I spent a few minutes playing with the waterfalls! ^^

eastes says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:22am

Great game! Brilliant idea. I can imagine this getting very tricky in some levels. I wonder where this will plot on your results graph. Are you Aussie?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:00am

I really enjoyed playing it, great game!

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:25am

nice job! from all the switch-worlds-between-two-players games here in LD, this one (currently ;) ) is dmy favourite
especially for the cute faces on the boxes and the fittig music

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:38pm

This is really cool, if sometimes finnicky and teeth-clenchingly difficult! I especially like the waterfalls and the smooth transition between the players' worlds.

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:49pm

I like everything about this, the levels are very well though. The only but is that the music loops can get a bit repetitive, but maybe am taking a too long to solve some of the screens!

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:53pm

LOVE the music. Absolutely perfect use of the theme, right from the description in this page, and very clever level design. Not sure about the limited fields of vision though, they seem to mostly promote backtracking for no good gain. Great work!

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:24am

Nice! love the waterfalls

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:40am

Lovely, intelligent platformer. I love the music for the bright world, but the other one is a bit TOO drastic for me, although I see the point. In its current state it's a bit too unforgiving for me - I was at the last level for a very long time, and being forced to restart immediately when one of your characters has died made exploring the level unnecessarily tedious. Overall an absolutely amazing game, very polished and very well done. I'm impressed!

anssipe says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Great design and nice graphics. Good puzzles though got stuck at last... Only controls may need some fine tuning but overall a really awesome game.

Logan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:45am

Cute and well implemented! There were some pretty nasty puzzles in there for what simple elements were at play.

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:56am

It felt a bit repetitive at the begining (especially lvl 2 and 4, or 3 and 5 which for me are the same challenge) and I was afraid it would be a big repetition of always solving the same thing... but it was not

Good job

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Hi there. Lovely take on coop-different worlds. Really nice puzzles and world physics. Including tutorial very good job. Like the waterfall very much. Camera change focus nice. Good pixelart and chiptunes.

mipi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:45pm

It was really great! I just missed the ability to pull the boxes as now they got easily stuck to corners after pushing them with incorrect (too small) force, so it was a bit trial and error to figure out how the boxes move. Then later the levels got long and there was maybe too much backtracking for my taste. Would have wanted to complete the game but had to give up there.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Amazing job, I like the game a lot :P

GFM says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:36am

Amazing game! I really liked the main mechanic, and how the worlds are different (the color palette, song and dangers).

Graphics are really simple... but also well done and cute! And that waterfall... just... wow!

Congrats

lotusgame says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Brilliant ! One of my favorites ! Congrats :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 2:04am

SUPERB. 6/5 stars. I am in love with your game. Neat graphics, best audio I've seen, really well polished. Awesome job!!

Connors says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:38pm

The graphics design and audio really are brilliant.

The puzzles with two characters may have been done before, but I really like how it works in this game. The simple graphical details like the circular effects and particles and cool waterfalls make it so much more interesting. 5/5 would play new levels.

Ditto says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:55pm

This is pretty gorgeous <3

micahcowan says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:36pm

What a fantastic entry! Loved the challenge of the last few levels.

wdebowicz says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Very good entry. Addictive game. I love the water splash effect.

tbam says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Great design, solid controls. Music was great!

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:24am

That was a lot of fun! I'm impressed by how many levels you were able to put in here, and by the variety of the game's puzzles. You did a very good job of introducing mechanics with simple challenges to prepare the player for the more complex puzzles ahead, especially given the level of experimentation involved in using all of the moving parts (blocks/characters as shields/platforms) provided in every level.

I also can't forget to mention the waterfall effect, which was really cool! It also served as a significant gameplay mechanic, so kudos for making a nifty graphic effect that has a direct impact on level design. The music was also a great way to emphasize the different mood of each character, although the "happy" song was way better than the "angry" one. The level of all-around polish is also very impressive. Overall, nice work! You can definitely beef this up into an even bigger game.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 4:40am

Great innovation, Awesome graphics, music, and gameplay. I love the puzzles, fantastic job!

hoyt hoy says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:12am

loved game!
Nice to play, smart puzzels.
Congrats!

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:07am

Wow, brilliant. Made me realize how much I have to learn about making games.. o.O Awesome work :)

Sheepolution says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Lovely game! It has a lot of levels and some of them kept me thinking for a while. Great job!

ClownAround says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:03am

Very nice. Water effects are excellent.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:55pm

this has to be one of my favorite games of the competition, really really amazingly crafted, great concept, and challenging gameplay. congrats on the really awesome entry!

jimmypaulin says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Extraordinarily good, highly accomplished and FUN, congratulations! The puzzles built in complexity really nicely and all the controls and physics felt very solid and never unfair. The transition between the characters and change of music and tone was a masterstroke, really enjoyed this

Artamus says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Very nice game. I especially loved the audio and the character design.

DrCicero says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:51am

Great!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]