Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Freight

by maxking1234 - Jam Entry

Be a space trucker and deliver your cargo around the solar system. Earn money completing delivery missions. Defend yourself against pirates and asteroids. Upgrade and repair your ship.

TO GET A MISSION : Click the get mission button on the side bar!!

Made completely in 72 hours with Java and LibGDX.
Team:
Max Warner - Programming & Additional Art
Ryan Bailey - Art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#340Theme(Jam)3.25
#381Overall(Jam)3.23
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#483Audio(Jam)2.78
#494Humor(Jam)2.12
#497Innovation(Jam)2.83
#497Graphics(Jam)3.08
#544Mood(Jam)2.80
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

cstudios says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Actually Its a nice idea, but maybe a higher or dynamic camera would help the dogfights, also if i could fly backward.

zakchaos says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Looks like it would be alot of fun!
I drove around for a bit and shot up some ships, couldn't figure out how to get missions, or land on other planets tho, very cool game

mactinite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Hey, look at that. Kinda funny how our games can have the same basic premise but be so different. Anyways, it was really cool. I liked picking the missions, Kinda gave it a sense of adventure. Nic job :)

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Is that a java game? If you provide a jar file, linux (like me) and mac users could play it probably, too.

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00pm

DrCicero: Oops you are right, sorry. Have fixed that

neosam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:00pm

It's a cool concept. Maybe it's takes a bit long until I can do my first upgrade. If the first upgrades would be cheaper, the player would see a progress much faster and is more motivated to go on. But as I sayed, cool game!

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Looked interesting, flew around but got no mission. Still pretty cool.

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06pm

StrideWide: To get a mission you need to click the "get mission" button on the side bar

Tanser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35am

Nice game, the first time big planet flew near me I though it would crash in me! Maybe they should be a bit gray as if they are in the distance?

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:49am

Neat concept dude, the camera makes it kinda hard in fights, maybe have it wider or some sort of radar for assistance, and the missions are a quite nice touch to it

Vytheros says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:48am

Lost by having $-854. Maybe add a way to use only what money you have when buying fuel or upgrading. That said, ?I was playing it for a good 30 minutes

Headmade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Why is my ship so super slooooow?

mtrc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Nice idea! Making the ship a bit speedier/manoeuvrable would be great, but the basic idea is a lot of fun and you did a hell of a lot in just a few days. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]