Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sanctums

by Galvus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Multiplayer using WebRTC and Jixel for rendering. Play dodgebunny with summoned neighbors. Works best in Chrome.

CONTROLS:
WASD -> move
SPACE -> jump
CLICK -> SUMMON BUNNY STORM
WALL CLIMB -> run into a wall and hit jump.

Checkout the devblog link and postmortem. Only real objective is to shoot people with bunnies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#340Graphics3.50
#555Innovation3.07
#563Humor2.43
#830Overall2.90
#935Fun2.57
#945Audio1.84
#1049Mood2.38
#1265Theme1.46

Comments

dkkarate says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Cool art style. Hard to figure out what he objective was.

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Nice art and I love MP games. Fun!

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Would be nice to have a score of some kind

Galvus says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Added a score to the top right corner.

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

Obviously just a prototype for networking code and hand-drawn assets, but I certainly like your style and it plays smoothly, so no complaints about what's there!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

Nice art style! It was difficult to figure out what to do, and the jump (at least on Firefox) is super short, so I couldn't actually climb any platforms. I think it's a multiplayer thing where other people connect and you shoot at them.

One minor bug, the sound stopped working for the shooting effect after I played with it for a minute.

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12am

Ahh the dangers of multi-player. Will anyone be online to play? Hopefully we see a real multi-player battle soon.

Flopster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28am

Great graphics, and great idea. Would have loved to see it as a full game.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33am

Couldn't really figure out what I was supposed to do, but a very good looking game

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42am

Nice handdrawn graphics. Fluid controls (but jump feels a bit short). As others said, i got absolutely no idea what to do in the game. Would love to see a proper version in future :)

Alucard J says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:12am

Looks good, but unable to move up, jump seemed ineffective and movement was too quick. Exploding bunnies are always fun though.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21am

Cool idea! The game sound seems to vanish after a minute though. Very nice visual!

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:43am

Cute graphics. Really fast and easy to jump right into multiplayer.

Custard Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:56am

Great game. Sad there isn't much objective, but cool anyway. Would have loved to hop into neighbors areas.

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:59am

kinda cool, and funny in some unexpainable fashing..I finally managed to on top of my room with these week legs

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:59am

Nobody playing, but nice job doing something with multiplayer!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Looks cool, like the graphics. No one was around to play with me :(

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Oh, didn't notice it was multiplayer and no-one else was there. I like the unique pencil-drawing style. The rest is difficult to judge...

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Cool concept, but I can't find anyone online to play with.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:40am

Shooting bunnies is great, but a hit about what to do would be great. Love the graphics.

May 2, 2014 @ 10:19am

ahaha, brilliant! The art is just perfect! <3

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Nice game, I like the graphics! Shame there was nobody to play with, so I opened a few tabs, and it looked cool... So I'm maybe going to try later!

BadgerPriest says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:59am

Multiplayer wasn't working even when I had a friend go to the site at the same time. Too bad because it looks like it could be hilarious. Love the art style and exploding bunnies. The wall run instead of a regular jump is a bit strange and pretty off-putting as it doesn't feel easy to mash the spacebar while controlling my direction, and I haven't even had to add in shooting with the mouse at the same time yet.

edibletoaster says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Cool how as you add more players (even if it's just you and your browser) it dynamically makes the other rooms. Pretty cool.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]